We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing romantic getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kokoro Arenal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I loved this hotel so much! The grounds are so beautiful and the staff are so helpful and friendly! They were always willing to arrange taxi's to take us to places like the Arenal Volcano and into town etc. One example: We arranged to be picked up from the San Jose airport, after our flight was delayed by 3 or more hours we were still greeted by welcoming faces that had been waiting for us all that time! I would definitely go back in a heart beat!

Room Tip: I loved the rooms that overlooked the Volcano! Amazing views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LulaB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 738 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

We were driving from the Caribbean coast to the pacific and La Fortuna de San Carlos was a lil over midway. The young lady at the desk , took us around the grounds and was very helpful as was all the staff. We had a great view of the mt and enjoyed a cloudless afternoon from our room porch. The air worked great and no problem with having hot water. The thermal pools were closed except for the top one which was nice but not as warm as I thought it would be. But with that being said ..it was like lying in a rock hot muddy pool, while being in the Tiki Tiki room at Disneyland...you get the picture.just add the sounds from the jungle a couple of beers and you are there..We had asked when we made the res and were told being off season the pools would not all be opened. The place was close enough to town and a easy drive on a really good paved road. The breakfast was good as was our total experience while there.

Room Tip: we stayed close to the check in area which was easy walk from our car to the room. If you are at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We loved Hotel Kokoro. Each room is its own little cabin which was cosy and lovely. We had a good view of the mountain when the clouds cleared and we saw more birds in the garden there than we did on our rainforest tour. The room was clean and pleasant. I got chilled and the hotel provided me with an extra blanket which was perfect.

The breakfast buffet was nice, the pool was great. The hot springs were a little murky, but that is natural. They weren't all full but then we came in the off-season. The staff were really helpful. I would highly recommend this place. They have a computer in the main area if you didn't bring one with you. We ordered takeout delivered one night that it was really rainy which was an awesome option, they have lots of menus there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laclionaute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I can't say enough positive things about Kokoro, our stay was amazing from the very first phone call til we pulled off the property. The only bad thing about our stay was that we could only stay for 1 night! The grounds are just heavenly, the pool is amazing, the room was just great, and the staff was beyond friendly and infinitely helpful with all our questions. One of the best hotel experiences I have ever had!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Pro's
++ very friendly and helpful staff.
++ Good views of the volcano from the property
++ large rooms

Con's
-- Far away from everything . Definitely need a car, otherwise you are at the mercy of taxis and tour operators.
-- As others have noted, the kitchen is closed for lunch and dinner during low season, so if you want to eat, you need to get a ride to town, or order food and have it delivered.
-- Room had a musty smell. The mattress was soft and felt like a bathtub. The lock on the door did not give me a great sense of security.

Tripadvisor observation. Many of the recent excellent reviews are submitted by people with a single tripadvisor review. Bizarre.

Overall, given that the room was about $90/ night, I think it's decent value for money. However, I would try another hotel if I were to visit this area again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yekshemesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

This place is just beautiful. Beautiful grounds and beautiful cabins. The staff here are welcoming friendly and go above and beyond expectations of good service. The pool and the hot springs are a great asset to this hotel and we also enjoyed the food in the restaurant. The owners of the hotel are great hosts noticing that we were enjoying the pool suggested that we should go to la fortunate waterfall... They even drove us there themselves. After our stay at in arenal we were going on to tortugero the hotel was concerned for our safety in getting public transport and the owners offered to drive us to the port to catch the boat (4 hour drive away) for a very reasonable price. Overall we were very impressed with the location our cabin and the service and would recommend anyone visiting arenal to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meelee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Visited this cute hideaway during low season for two nights. It is personal and we were welcomed by great service and sweet attention. The room was rustic and simple, but the view of vulcano Arenal from the door step was magnific. Unfortunately the hotel restaurant was closed for lunch and dinner, which we had not been informed of. However, staff was helpful in organizing for delivery service of food. Breakfast had all we could ask for and staff went out of their way in helping us with excursions and other transport arrangements. Nice garden with pool, hot springs and great view.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank CeciliaGruvberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
5.2 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
852 reviews
5.7 mi away
Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge
Princesa de la Luna Eco Lodge
#16 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
367 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#31 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,302 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kokoro Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kokoro Arenal

Address: 500m oeste de la Quebrada la Palma | 7km Northwest, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#24 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $97 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kokoro Arenal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest of the northern hills of Costa Rica, Hotel Kokoro Arenal is the perfect hideaway retreat blessed with untouched flora and fauna and a panoramic setting overlooking the majestic volcano of Arenal. At Kokoro Arenal, each of our carefully designed eco-villas offers a stay in a cozy family oriented style, with charm, and a service approach prepared in a joyful, attentive, and sustainable way. The lodging grounds also invite you to dip into the hill-top swimming pool, tropical hut with hammock, and explore our tucked away rainforest trails. With our Kokoro ‘heartfelt’ ways, we aim to revitalize your senses and share with you a vibrant experience in the Costa Rican tropics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Kokoro Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokoro Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Resort Kokoro Arenal
Hotel Kokoro Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing