We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unbelievable!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kokoro Arenal
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“unbelievable!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Cute cabins very large rooms and bathrooms. Lobby is open air and serves as bar, too. beautiful view of Arenal volcano. Staff is excellent. we loved Natalie. Natural hot mineral pool was so relaxing. Giant regular pool as well. Good breakfasts. Hotel's taxi driver was very good on time and picked us up in La fortuna when we asked. This place had many hummingbirds and a sloth. It was spectacular! You can't go wrong here.

Room Tip: All are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginalaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    205
    66
    26
    16
See reviews for
196
308
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
89 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This a nice hotel, a bit far from town, so forget about walking there. The view of the volcan is superb. The room was OK, but there were several open spaces that would let in not only mosquitoes, but also lizzards and some spiders, so if you dont mind that, it is perfectly OK. Wi fi signal is very weak also. The thermal water and swiming pools were very OK also. The breakfast very simple and basic, but tasty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PirataGambrinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

A big thank you to all the team of this hotel. We stayed there for 2 nights with our baby and a couple of friends. The staff has been very helpful with the baby and so friendly to all of us. Thanks again for this great service.
We also loved the place, its garden, the hot/cold natural pools and the view from the breakfast/dining room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack7519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We loved this place and I would definitely recommend it! The friendly and helpful staff were amazing. I truly can't say enough complimentary things about them. The breakfast was very good. The room was simple but roomy and the views were spectacular. It was easy to get to and short drive to the major attractions in the area. I enjoyed the hot springs and pool. In response to someone's earlier comment about not flushing toilet paper- this is pretty standard throughout the region so to me it was a nonissue.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie3324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for 5 nights and we would gladly stay again. We read lots of positive reviews online before going to Costa Rica, and all of them were true. This is a perfect place to stay if you are traveling on a budget but want the whole experience of being in a tropical paradise and feeling like you are at home away from home. Everyone we came in contact with was very friendly, hospitable, and made us feel more than welcome. Fernando, Felico, Michael, and Natalie were all very accomodating and gave me the best customer service experience I have ever had. I cannot say enough nice things about them. The flora on the premises is absolutely stunning (my friend found a lime tree and there are tons of orchids). The view of the volcano on the day it didn't rain was the best of anywhere around.....even better than when we went on our volcano hike. If you want suggestions on things to do, the front desk can help you and even book it for you. Also, if you want to go into town, they have their own taxi driver at a discounted rate and he is super nice and friendly. The rooms themselves are pretty standard, but we didnt spend much time in the room. All I needed was a nice, clean place to sleep and to shower. The breakfast was wonderful too, we made sure to eat a big one everyday before our activities. Thanks for the wonderful time Hotel Kokoro!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for my birthday. Fernando made it the stay of a lifetime. He offered us glasses of wine, helped with luggage, and gave a tour of the property. He arranged a late last minute massage that evening while ordering us a pizza so we had dinner when it was over because we were tired from our busy day. I've never met someone so genuine & helpful. The room was solid, with a comfy bed & breakfast was hot/yummy. Thanks again Fernando & staff for the excellent stay and making us feel right at home! -Crystal

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clw03f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at Kokoro. It was like being in a tropical garden, with a fantastic view of the volcano. It is also a great base for activities in the area. It is only 10 minutes away from La Fortuna, where we went every night for dinner. In general the staff is friendly and helpful. Fernando is exceptionally good!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RemoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#21 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,788 reviews
1.0 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
0.3 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kokoro Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kokoro Arenal

Property: Hotel Kokoro Arenal
Address: 500m oeste de la Quebrada la Palma | 7km Northwest, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#24 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kokoro Arenal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest of the northern hills of Costa Rica, Hotel Kokoro Arenal is the perfect hideaway retreat blessed with untouched flora and fauna and a panoramic setting overlooking the majestic volcano of Arenal. At Kokoro Arenal, each of our carefully designed eco-villas offers a stay in a cozy family oriented style, with charm, and a service approach prepared in a joyful, attentive, and sustainable way. The lodging grounds also invite you to dip into the hill-top swimming pool, tropical hut with hammock, and explore our tucked away rainforest trails. With our Kokoro ‘heartfelt’ ways, we aim to revitalize your senses and share with you a vibrant experience in the Costa Rican tropics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kokoro Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokoro Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Resort Kokoro Arenal
Hotel Kokoro Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing