We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kokoro Arenal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kokoro Arenal
Carbondale, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stay 3 nights here and were one of two couples staying at the entire resort because it was the low season. Great service and the rooms were very nice and spacious. The owners really took care of us and gave us great reccomendations for places to eat and activities. My only complaint is that the beds are not of the best quality. It is about $10 every time you want to go to town so I would not recommend this place if you aren't driving. Loved it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMC82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    176
    58
    21
    12
See reviews for
176
281
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn,
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I loved staying at Hotel Kokoro Arenal, La selva. It was in a perfect location when visiting Arenal! It was very affordable. My room was super comfortable, clean and cool. Bathrooms were great as well. Pool was the perfect temp for a night swim. Hot springs were also an added plus. Most of all I have to give it up to the staff! Owner's son & staff super helpful, accommodating and great chefs!!! Overall this is the best place to stay and get away from all the super "fancy shmancy" hot spring resorts that charge an arm and a leg to stay in. Go Hotel Kokoro and you will be 100% satisfied ;o)

Room Tip: All rooms seems great to me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieB1117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Kokoro Arenal in July for about a week with my cousins. It was our first time in Costa Rica and we loved it! It is such a cute resort with the most wonderful staff! Everyone was so polite, friendly, and considerate and they even knew us all by name! The rooms were very spacious and ours was like an adorable log cabin- we really liked it. The view from our room was phenomenal; lying in bed, I could see the volcano! It was absolutely gorgeous! As a matter of fact, the entire property is gorgeous and very well kept. Breakfasts were delicious and there was a large selection from which to choose. We also had dinner at the resort one evening and it was fantastic! There was free wi-fi in the lobby, which is just a minute away from the farthest room. We loved spending time in the pool and hot springs which were fantastic! I was skeptical about the hot springs, but they did wonders for my skin! Definitely go in if you have the chance! The hotel staff was very helpful in booking our tours activities and transporting us to and from the tours and town. Our driver was also the most patient and wonderful person! It was an amazing trip in a beautiful country and this resort is located in a fantastic spot. I’ll definitely be making a stop there again if I ever visit Costa Rica again (which will hopefully be soon!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank srp21988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Not only is this gem very affordable and in an excellent location (nearby many adventures and sites of Costa Rica but also away from town so more secluded) but the grounds are top notch (the view, flowers, trees, and buildings create a paradise-like setting), the hospitality one of a kind and the hot springs are private and healing. There were many times we came back to our AMAZING cabin to find the bed decorated with fresh flower petals and the complimentary breakfast is a special treat. The staff shared lots of valuable information about location attractions/adventures and places to eat, always checked in with us to ensure we were pleased and to top it all of . . . as a honeymooning couple they treated us to a private, top notch dining experience with wine included :). We could not have asked for a better experience and HIGHLY recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penelope P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellford, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

What else can we say except that we can't say enough!

We arrived just after sunset and didn't have a chance to see all of the grounds. Tim checked us in and was great to deal with, he waked us down to our cabin and got us settled in. We took a quick dip in the pool and settled in our gorgeous cabin. There are several cabins spread around the grounds and all have breathtaking views. Our cabin was beautiful, spacious, had a king size bed and mini fridge. The bathroom had a great mix of wood and tile and a huge shower area! The water pressure is not the strongest but that was easy to work with. Don't flush toilet paper down the toilet as they do have a very sensitive septic system. The toilet paper is scented and garbage is picked up every morning.

Waking up to the sounds of birds, walking out on our deck and seeing Arenal Volcano was heart stopping. This was what was wanted to see and we were not disappointed.

We were here in the slow season so we practically had the grounds to ourselves. We had a soak in the natural hot spring, ate a typical Costa Rican breakfast of beans&rice, fried plantain, fresh watermelon, papaya and pineapple and scrambled egg. (They do offer an American breakfast of pancakes and eggs.) The coffee was fantastic and the staff was friendly and made a great effort to speak English.

It was just a short drive to town and we picked up a few bottles of water and snacks to get us though to our next meals. The stores in town are great and there are a couple of grocery stores where they do speak a bit of English.

If you want to know where to go and what to see in the area, go to town and stop at Just Good Food and talk to Mike and his staff. He's an American who has great stories to tell!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianGeekgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

What a jewel! This place was amazing, friendly owners and staff and who can complain about opening your curtains in the morning and seeing an active volcano! Seriously, this place was great, very clean and was perfect for our needs. It's just a few miles away from the center of town and all the spas and it was very affordable with an excellent included breakfast and the owners had their pet parrot there, who had a broken wing, so he just kind of hopped around. If you're in Arenal and don't want to deal with the high prices of the other places, I'd suggest Kokoro.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djmaharaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

If you want the true Costa Rican experience this is the place for you! They have about 15 huts with thatch roofs and it is located very close to all of the excursions. The view from the pool is amazing and most rooms have a clear view as well. The breakfast is amazing and you have your choice of American or Costa Rican. All service members were helpful in making suggestions on excursions and food. It was really a romantic getway. My only complaint was the bed seemed old and worn (sunk in the middle).

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the volcano
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.5 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,158 reviews
4.5 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#24 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
0.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#4 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,181 reviews
4.4 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kokoro Arenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kokoro Arenal

Property: Hotel Kokoro Arenal
Address: 500m oeste de la Quebrada la Palma | 7km Northwest, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#16 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#25 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kokoro Arenal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush tropical rainforest of the northern hills of Costa Rica, Hotel Kokoro Arenal is the perfect hideaway retreat blessed with untouched flora and fauna and a panoramic setting overlooking the majestic volcano of Arenal. At Kokoro Arenal, each of our carefully designed eco-villas offers a stay in a cozy family oriented style, with charm, and a service approach prepared in a joyful, attentive, and sustainable way. The lodging grounds also invite you to dip into the hill-top swimming pool, tropical hut with hammock, and explore our tucked away rainforest trails. With our Kokoro ‘heartfelt’ ways, we aim to revitalize your senses and share with you a vibrant experience in the Costa Rican tropics. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Kokoro Arenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kokoro Arenal Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Resort Kokoro Arenal
Hotel Kokoro Arenal Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing