We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“An Unexpected Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regina Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Regina Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Unexpected Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

From the moment we walked in the door, the manager Rocio treated us like guests in her own home. The room we had was clean, spacious and bright. The hotel is small and friendly and very conveniently located within walking distance of everything in town. The standout here is definitely the customer service though. Rocio was very knowledgeable about the available excursions and had participated in most of them first hand. She took time with us to plan our week and helped us to discover the many available activities in the area. If you are looking for a pleasant stay in a moderate price range, this is it. We look forward to visiting again in the future!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenley333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    48
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
52
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nicaragua
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Our family really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The friendly staff were very helpful, patient, and efficient in organizing our daily adventures for the best prices and locations. We liked the location in town which allowed us to view the volcano, visit local restaurants and do some shopping. We definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here next time!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
151 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I reserved this hotel directly on the hotel’s website and reconfirmed the room a few days before departure.
Upon arrival, I was welcomed by Rocio at the front desk, explained the basics and showed to my room. The room was fairly big, clean and very bright. It was furnished with two queen beds, table with stools and a long counter with some kitchen apparel and kitchen sink (which I did not use) and a closet. The bathroom was a bit dark but well kept and everything was working fine. The shower was the typical electric one and there were a few wires sticking out and making me feel a bit nervous (this was before travelling a few more days and realizing it was a regular thing in CR). The room had also airco, a tv (which I didn’t use) and a safe. The room had also a large window with a fantastic view of the volcano.
The hotel is located on the main road, which is a plus for the proximity to bars, restaurants and shops, but, at the same time, a huge drawback due to the very loud traffic noise. I did read about this before leaving and was somewhat prepared (I had earplugs) but have to admit that the noise was continuous during the whole night and louder than expected. The staff was always quite pleasant and ready to answer questions and the room was serviced daily. Breakfast was not included.
I was satisfied with this choice as it offers an excellent price quality ratio but the traffic noise should be really taken into consideration.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Raging_Hamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

the daily receptionist talks like crazy when you ask her for information and help. generally, she is a very nice person though, I think, she help me make phone calls and arrange for pricing and schedules. she wasn't too pushy. the night attendant was a little dumb. I ask him for the WIFI code and he said he doesn't know. he told me to check with the day attendant.

the hotel is decent compare to the low cost. this is an expensive town, so if you are on a budget this is a good hotel for you. it is more or less clean and accessible to many shops and restaurants in the front. I would not recommend this town at all as it is full of snotty people trying to find adventure and destroying the beautiful rainforest in their quest for adventure.

the events are over rated and over priced. you can do better in Nicaragua as the natural environment is more pristine and the cost is much lower. However, if you must come here and you are on a budget I would recommend this hotel. bon voyage.

Joe T

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cali, Colombia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Our stay at Hotel Regina was an absolute pleasure.

The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful throughout our entire stay. Any question we had was answered when we left and we'd always be greeted with a smile when we got back from our adventures. We were even told the good places to eat local food on the cheap, perfect for our budget backpacking adventures.

The room and the private bathroom were clean. The room was made up every day when we got back home. The inclusion of a safe in the room was much appreciated as well. Our room didn't have a view of La Fortuna like some of the other rooms did, but we also paid less because of it.

The staff went out of their way to book us our jeep-boat-jeep to Monteverde at a good price and even got us on a shuttle that was "booked full".

Room Tip: Ask about the local sodas if you want good food on the cheap ($4/meal!).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank featherless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

We found this hotel to be a real gem. It is located near to Arenal Volcano. We actually had a wonderful view from our bedroom window on a day when it was very clear. The staff in this hotel are very kind and well informed. They made staying in the hotel a wonderful experience. The Manageress is a very kind and informative person when it comes to suggesting trips. She made arrangements for trips for us, and went out of her way to suggest bird watching sites for my husband. We will go back and stay at this lovely little hotel, and see the people who helped so much to make our trip so enjoyable

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank issy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Level Contributor
735 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is one of the cleanest hotels that I have stayed in in a long time. The room was large, huge bathrooms, and equipped with a refrigerator, safety deposit box, hot shower, nicely folded towels, and comfortable beds. Our front desk agent, Guidget, was extremely nice, professional, and helpful. She even made us coffee each morning.

HOWEVER, the hotel is located directly on the main street of town, and if you get a room in the front (where all but two are located), it is noisy at night until folks stop driving and go to sleep. Then, the BUSES, TRUCKS, and motorcycles, begin at 5:30 am each morning! You'd better have ear plugs or be a very sound sleeper.

The price and location are great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Fortuna
Hotel La Fortuna
#32 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#25 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#34 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#40 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#37 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#21 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Hotel

Property: Regina Hotel
Address: 150 Meters West of the Catholic Church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-26, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#23 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Regina Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regina Hotel is centrally located, close to many restaurants, shops, adventures tours, banks, pharmacies, and other services. Each room has: cable TV, air conditioning, mini-bar, safe deposit box, private bathroom with hot water. Some of the rooms offer great views of the Arenal Volcano. We offer travelers safe, private, clean and comfortable environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Regina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing