We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Rooms But Can Be Noisy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Regina Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
virginia
Level Contributor
769 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Very Nice Rooms But Can Be Noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is one of the cleanest hotels that I have stayed in in a long time. The room was large, huge bathrooms, and equipped with a refrigerator, safety deposit box, hot shower, nicely folded towels, and comfortable beds. Our front desk agent, Guidget, was extremely nice, professional, and helpful. She even made us coffee each morning.

HOWEVER, the hotel is located directly on the main street of town, and if you get a room in the front (where all but two are located), it is noisy at night until folks stop driving and go to sleep. Then, the BUSES, TRUCKS, and motorcycles, begin at 5:30 am each morning! You'd better have ear plugs or be a very sound sleeper.

The price and location are great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luke47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    50
    12
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
64
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tegucigalpa, Francisco Morazan, Honduras
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Of the whole trip to Costa Rica, this was the best hotel that we stayed and with the lowest price. This is a small great neat with all the necesary commodities. The owner is a great and very nice person very helpful. She gave us some great tips on how to going around La Fortuna and el Volcan Arenal. Also she gave us advice on where to eat good and with the cheapest prices. She was a great host.
The rooms are medium, clean, great bead, clean bathroom with all the necesary things, air condition, TV a helpful table. All these details make our stay on La Fortuna a great stay.
The couple from Honduras.

Room Tip: It has rooms with balcony that has the Volcan View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juankbuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We really lucked out staying at Hotel Regina. Best of all is the staff. Rocio, the hotel manager, helped us coordinate nearly all our travel details and made us feel at home the entire stay. The room was large, clean and equipped with a refrigerator, safety deposit box, hot shower, nicely folded towels, and comfortable beds. All this and conveniently located in town. All the tours Rocio arranged came to pick us up at the hotel, too. Terrific stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Luellebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I picked the hotel due to the price, and it had all the accommodations I needed. The service was friendly and helpful. It is on the main road for easy access to many restaurants, and my tours picked me up easily. The one downside from the 5th dot is that the main road can be quite loud, o you can hear all the cars/trucks/people at any time of the night and early morning. I did get a massage at the spa adjacent to the hotel, and it was amazing as well. I would definitely recommend this hotel, just pack some ear plugs if you're a light sleeper.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cycletour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We did not stay at the hotel, but used its tour services offered by the hotel manager Rocio. We were very, very happy with her. She was so friendly and welcoming, and offered tours which were not offered elsewhere and went out of her way to get better rates for us when we dealt with partner agencies.

She actively supported us in doing a tour on our own with a rental car to Rio Celeste, which many other companies will not do unless you rent their specific car. She even drew us a map!

We also shopped around for the Volcano+Baldi Hot Springs tour and Rocio's tour was clearly the best. All other tours went straight to the volcano, followed by Baldi, whereas we got an extra 2-3 hours in the early afternoon at Baldi just to relax and get to explore the place before the volcano and then back again to Baldi for the sumptuous buffet dinner - well worth the price.

We also must give credit to Rocio's tour guide Franklin: This was quite possibly the best guide we have ever met in our lives: knowledgeable, always smiling and friendly, always eager to learn with an infectious and enthusiastic approach to guiding, taking the time to explain the unique flora and fauna around the volcano.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BA_Minerva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I can not say enough about this hotel & staff!!! Our 1st hotel of the trip and we were spoiled by Rocio & Guidget in reception. They were always available to answer questions and give us great recommendations for adventures. We told Rocio the types of activities we would like to do and she could tell us what we would get for the money (even showing us pics) of each tour with options of several tour operators! She even steered us to an activity we could do on our own (Rio Celeste which I highly recommend....jawdropping!) with a rental car. Rooms were impeccably clean, safe located in room, small refrigerator (computer, microwave & toaster available in reception), gorgeous view of Arenal Volcano and very short walk to just about anything you would like to eat/shop. We stayed in room #8, large room & great view, slight street noise during the day but it's in the heart of everything so it was expected. They were very helpful with everything, just ask! I would recommend this place if you are on a budget or not as everything was beyond expectations!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #8, looked like #7 was just as nice but with a balcony. We used iPad app for whit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolf022, General Manager at Regina Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and letting us us know how we are doing. The feed back is greatly appreciated and motivating. It is great to know our efforts and service made for a great trip to Costa Rica. We look forward to hosting you again. Regina Hotel staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Nice hotel right along the main road. Furnishings are good, esp in this price range, and location is fine for accessing all local sites. What sets this place apart is their outstanding service -- they always provided honest opinions about what tours and activities were worthwhile and worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndependentTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenal A, Manager at Regina Hotel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thank you much for taking the time to write such a nice review, we really appreciate all you comments. Regina Hotel Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#36 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Fortuna
Hotel La Fortuna
#32 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#39 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#35 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Fortuna
Hotel Villa Fortuna
#37 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#17 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Hotel

Property: Regina Hotel
Address: 150 Meters West of the Catholic Church, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417-26, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Regina Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regina Hotel is centrally located, close to many restaurants, shops, adventures tours, banks, pharmacies, and other services. Each room has: cable TV, air conditioning, mini-bar, safe deposit box, private bathroom with hot water. Some of the rooms offer great views of the Arenal Volcano. We offer travelers safe, private, clean and comfortable environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Regina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing