We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel and Outstanding Service”
Review of Regina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Regina Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Nice hotel right along the main road. Furnishings are good, esp in this price range, and location is fine for accessing all local sites. What sets this place apart is their outstanding service -- they always provided honest opinions about what tours and activities were worthwhile and worth the price.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IndependentTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenal A, Manager at Regina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Thank you much for taking the time to write such a nice review, we really appreciate all you comments. Regina Hotel Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 152 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2013

Good value hotel with beautiful view of the Arenal volcano. Air condionned room with good beds. Charming helpful lady at the reception. Good staff in general. They clean the room very carefully everyday. Only thing missing is an included breakfast.

Room Tip: try to get the room in front of the volcano even though there is no wifi inside the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulesDeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The large room overlooked the volcano which was nice. The hotel lies directly along a very busy road so be prepared for a lot of noise by cars and trucks. We had to pay up front which I did not like but just had to. It was a pity there was no sitting area except for the couch in the reception. When we decided to shorten our stay it was a bit of a hassle to be refunded. First it was bacause of the credit card company and the it suddenly was because of the limited amount of cash available. We came to a solution but this is really the last time I pay for the whole stay up front.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miegie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenal A, Manager at Regina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review.

Unlike some countries where you can swipe the card to make a refund, In Costa Rica is not possible; a letter must be submitted to the bank justifying/requesting the refund. This is about a 30 day process. If we return the $$ in cash, the hotel will lose 17.5% (hotel taxes/card commissions). That is why when possible, we prefer to return the $$ in services. We appreciate that we were able to provide you the transfer to Monteverde and rest in cash. We always try to find the best solution for our guests. I agree with you, in some circumstances it may be better to pay day by day if you are not sure of how many days you want to stay.

Being located on the main street enhances hotel security and access to La Fortuna's attractions is more convenient for people who have no car. But at times, traffic noise can be a distraction in some of the rooms, especially in day time. We appreciate if the costumers let us know to put them in a quiet room to make them comfortable and happy.

I wish I could do more for the lobby, but with the reception desk, couch, 2 sofa chairs, table and free guest computer, our space is pretty much maxed out. Thank you so much Regina Hotel manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This hotel is a great little find on the edge of La Fortuna town. The location is perfect for walking around town, or doing tours. The room was very clean, and although the bar fridge was not working, they brought me a new one right away. Guedgit, the gal on the front desk for the 3 days I was there, could not have been more helpful. I was taking local buses and she even wrote notes in Spanish for me to give to the bus driver so he would let me off at the right spot. She really made my stay great. She seems to love helping people and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to La Fortuna.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cohoqueen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

What a great hotel! Clean, affordable, spacious, comes with a safe, a fridge, patio, and great air con! The staff is so friendly and the hotel is in a great location, right on the main road of La Fortuna. You can literally walk down the road to a restaurant, shopping or for a coffee. This great hotel cost the same price as the nightmare of a hotel that I stayed at in Playa Grande. You can even book tours, get your laundry done and use their computer if you don't have one. The manager(I am assuming) is so nice and helpful. The only down side is that it is noisy from the traffic, but it is on the main road. Great job!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AngelCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Room very clean, location is perfect, amazing price for the comfort! and the manager - Maria - she is very helpfull, she arange for you everythink - even if looks impossible:))) so thank you very much for your help!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Hotel manager Rocio is extremely helpful and knowledgeable. She went extra miles to help us to arrange tours and plan the vacations. She even drove us in her own vehicle to catch time. Hotel is clean, location is excellent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneLi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.3 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#17 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
642 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Arenal Rossi
Hotel Arenal Rossi
#40 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
116 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Vista del Cerro
Hotel Vista del Cerro
#36 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Fortuna
Hotel La Fortuna
#32 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
521 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Jardines Arenal
Hotel Jardines Arenal
#37 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#22 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina Hotel

Address: 150 Meters West of the Catholic Church, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417-26, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#7 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $43 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Regina Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regina Hotel is centrally located, close to many restaurants, shops, adventures tours, banks, pharmacies, and other services. Each room has: cable TV, air conditioning, mini-bar, safe deposit box, private bathroom with hot water. Some of the rooms offer great views of the Arenal Volcano. We offer travelers safe, private, clean and comfortable environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Regina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing