We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Each time gets even better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Arizona
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Each time gets even better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

I believe this is the fourth vacation to Leaves and Lizards! Every time I go I'm more and more excited to go back. They have a new menu, the food is even better then last time! A beautiful new cabin called the Hobbit house! The view from each cabin is spectacular. From the hobbit house you can see the horses grazing at night. Steve and Debbie do everything they can to make you feel like your on a vacation with so much adventure and still so much time to reflect. Truly you must make this a destination.

Room Tip: My choices are the Hobbit House, the Monkey Cabin, or the Hummingbird. Realize every cabin has a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    543
    49
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
300
170
29
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Leaves and Lizards is set in beautiful surroundings facing out towards the Arenal volcano. The cabins are beautifully built and maintained - ours with choice of indoor or outdoor shower! Debbie and Steve are amazing hosts who have built great links with their local neighbours. I had the joy of riding the horses on an Eponaquest week and it was truly amazing passing through rainforest, grass fields, crossing rivers and swimming in the pond and at the waterfall! I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were on our honeymoon in Costa Rica and after spending a week in other areas doing the lying around the pool thing and hotel excursions, I had booked a week at Leaves and Lizards as a surprise for my new bride as she loves horses and never gets to ride them back home in Oregon. I really didn't know what to expect and had never ridden horses myself at all. We were attending an Eponaquest workshop (google it) which was basically hands on horse riding in a group setting. I won't go into the actual workshop itself as there's too much to explain and I wouldn't do it justice, but I will say that everyone came out of this better off in many aspects. The accommodations are wonderful, we were lucky enough to stay in the "Hobbit House", food great, and views amazing, but above all it was the real Costa Rica with real people. Debbie and her husband Steve are so warm and caring. Vacation of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Hobbit House :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DarenB68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I attended and assisted in teaching an Eponaquest 5 day Workshop experience in September here, which occurs twice a year. We rode Leaves and Lizards horses for 3 days through the rain forest, swimming in the waterfall pools, traveling through rough rocky terrain into beautiful lush open fields of tall grasses, riding along with the resident farms steers and horses.
A fabulous experience for anyone interested in seeing the real Costa Rica without all the 'tourism' attached to it. Spending time at a real dairy farm, and herding horses with the Costa Rican cowboys.
Leaves and Lizards was a very welcoming, extremely accomodating place. Debbie and Steve, the owners, were warm and friendly every minute of the day. Every meal was excellent and carefully prepared by their wonderful kitchen staff. Each cabin was distinctly designed with it's own personality to match its name. (We stayed in the Toucan.) And the view every morning out our huge picture window of the Arenal Volcano was amazing.
I could not recommend this place enough to anyone who wants to see the real Costa Rica, and would love to see it by horseback. The horses are fabulous and take good care of you, although I recommend some horse experience for a 3 or 4 day trek.
I do plan to return again, as it was a place of warmth, welcoming, true enjoyment and transformation for me.

Room Tip: The Hobbit is the most creative of all the cottages, but they are all very unique and delightful. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Leaves and Lizards has it all! Great food, unbelieveable view and lovely warm people. Their horses for riding are well attended. All cabins have an incredible view of the volcano. This is the real Costa Rica for those people who want to see the true country! Only noise is birds or rain on the roof. Very unique!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking to "unplug" get away from the grind and be with nature this is the place. I stayed with 2 hiking friends in monkey cabin and we woke the first morning at 530 am sun gazing over Arenal it is amazing!! The flowers, birds and trees on the property are amazing. I am
A picky eater and the breakfasts were home cooked and 4 pp and great!! Dinners were pretty good as well you have 3, options to choose from each day.

Remember couple things you are in a jungle there are ants, Mosquitos, bugs etc! It's a natural place with no pesticides thank God but if its not for you then don't go and complain!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joycetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I hesitate to write a review, only because I feel that my words can't even come close to adequately describing this place. The first four days of our 9-day Costa Rica trip were spent at Leaves and Lizards, and my only regret is that we didn't stay longer.

After a very long day of travel, we arrived just before dark and were greeted by Debbie and Sam, one of the resident dogs. Debbie personally showed us to our cabin (Toucan), and made us feel right at home. We ate breakfast and dinner all 4 days at the on-site restaurant, but it felt more like sitting down to a meal with family. The meals at L&L turned out to be one of my very favorite parts of the whole trip. Debbie and Steve, as well as the two ladies that own one of the L&L houses, were very knowledgeable about the area and the culture and kept us entertained with stories and bits of information during our meals. Every staff member that we had the pleasure of meeting was extremely friendly and professional as well.

As far as activities, we did the horseback ride to the waterfall with Enrique and Yosimar, which was a wonderful way to start our vacation. We also did zip-lining and white-water rafting on the Serapiqui river, which were reserved for us by Debbie and were also both very wonderful experiences.

All in all, I don't believe there is any way you could stay here and not enjoy yourself. I would recommend it to anyone planning on visiting Costa Rica, and I hope to return someday soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellipsequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.6 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,008 reviews
2.6 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#6 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,475 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 66 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#4 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat

Property: Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat
Address: Meters South Of Super Kiki 500, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21012, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This secluded resort is located on 26 acres with spectacular viewing of the Arenal Volcano near La Fortuna. Enjoy the panoramic vista of Arenal and Cerro Chato from a hammock on your porch or from your comfortable, orthopedic, queen sized beds with Egyptian cotton sheets. Meals prepared using locally grown ingredients at the Lava Lizard on-site dining facility. Guests are invited to help with daily 'chores' on this working farm. Milk a cow, collect eggs for breakfast or groom a horse. Enjoy private horseback riding, professional guide service, on site spa and 2 km of on site nature trails. The vision at Leaves and Lizards is to create the perfect blend of adventure, discovery and tranquility for each guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leaves And Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Leaves And Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing