We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't leave out Leaves and Lizards!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 20, 2008

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mcdonald29_us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

630 - 636 of 653 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2008

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LittleChatterboxNat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2008

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spres242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2008

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank abirken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

The last few km of 4x4 road are rough, but worth it to take you literally off the beaten (tourist) track. When we did pass through La Fortuna on our way to some tours, we were so glad we were staying at L&L. The privacy of and the views from the casitas are awesome. I would highly recommend the tour of local dairy farm. Our children, ages 6 & 8, had a fantastic day! The host family was very relaxed and accommodating (shielding sensitive 6 yo witness cleaning of tilapia we caught in their pond and then ate for lunch). The zip line, at ~15-20 feet in the air, was just enough to give the kids the thrill of a zip line. The horses, named Canelo (its color) and Perezoso (Spanish for sloth, and entirely appropriate) had a great demeanor for novice horsepeople. And of course, we saw the dairy barn, milked a cow and made fresh cheese, which we ate with tortillas that we also made (after instruction). If it seems pricey, just consider how much you would pay for horse riding at home... that plus all the other activities and knowing that you are supporting local families instead of the corporations that attract the majority of tourist dollars, make it money well spent. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank batthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2007

I was lucky enough to spend two wonderful weeks at Leaves and Lizards. Every morning I awoke to birds singing, hummingbirds flitting about, toucans soaring past, and a wonderful direct view or the Arenal Volcano. Debbie and Steve were great hosts and made me feel like part of their family. Horsebackriding is onsite and the other tour options were about 40 minutes away. The rafting and the rappeling were my two favorites. I can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank breezygirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2007

What a wonderful friendly and accommodating couple! They are from Florida. They really try to meet all your needs to make your stay comfortable and memorable (they are relatively new and perfecting more all the time). We had fun conversations, a great breakfast each morning is included, beautiful views from the cabins, views of the valcano on a clear day, pillow top mattress bed (which was a complete blessing to have in central america), and plenty of activities to do. You can be as active in nature or as relaxed in your hammock enjoying nature's beauty, tucans, humming birds, monkeys, horses, etc. etc. Go visit, you will enjoy yourself!

Stayed: November 2007
Thank PeachesLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
2.6 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,336 reviews
2.7 mi away
Nayara Springs
Nayara Springs
#1 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
850 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
#4 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,322 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,429 reviews
2.4 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat

Address: Meters South Of Super Kiki 500, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21012, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Green Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#5 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#8 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $150 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This secluded resort is located on 26 acres with spectacular viewing of the Arenal Volcano near La Fortuna. Enjoy the panoramic vista of Arenal and Cerro Chato from a hammock on your porch or from your comfortable, orthopedic, queen sized beds with Egyptian cotton sheets. Meals prepared using locally grown ingredients at the Lava Lizard on-site dining facility. Guests are invited to help with daily 'chores' on this working farm. Milk a cow, collect eggs for breakfast or groom a horse. Enjoy private horseback riding, professional guide service, on site spa and 2 km of on site nature trails. The vision at Leaves and Lizards is to create the perfect blend of adventure, discovery and tranquility for each guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Leaves And Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat Hotel La Fortuna De San Carlos
Leaves And Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing