We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“A few days in Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
174 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A few days in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

This hotel is beautiful and amazing. It was the 2nd stop on my CR tour and I had just come from Manuel San Antonio. The two locations could not be more different. Every room is a self continued one bed room cottage - with air conditioning. There are tables set up outside the room so you can just sit and take in the view of the volcano and the lovely foliage on the grounds. The grounds have a small outdoor spa and "hot spring" which while not as large as Baldie or Eco Thermales is still very relaxing for aching tour weary feet.

The restaurant which is on the premises is also sooo accommodating that just about any twist or turn you want from the menu can be accommodated. The food can be local or they can do it American style if your not into having tortillas and beans for breakfast. The staff is very pleasant and helpful and this was somewhere I would have loved to spend more time just to chill !!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandora_is_Eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,689 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,361
    281
    38
    5
    4
See reviews for
613
757
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
U.S.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

El Silencio was my favorite hotel during our entire 2 weeks in Costa Rica. We are mid-range budget travelers who decided to splurge a little near the hot springs, but didn't want the over-the-top appearance of some of the other higher-end places. The staff took SUCH good care of us, helping us with anything and everything we needed. They were consistently smiling, genuine and friendly. Have a question for a doctor?They called the doctor. Need to change our tour time? Quickly arranged for the change. Recommendations for activities...spot on for what we were looking for. Our massages were uber-relaxing. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable. And the grounds and hot springs were beautiful. Awesome view of Arenal, as well. Stay here!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

My husband and I visited Arenal and stayed at Silencio del Campo. It was a great recommendation from our travel guide, Mynor Segura at Tico Comfort. If you're looking for a beautiful, peaceful location with the Arenal volcano as your main view, this is the place for you. Oh, another plus is that you won't have to leave the location to go to hot springs because they have their own private ones on their grounds. Why go pay at Bali or Tabacon? Beautiful, clean, reasonably priced, great breakfast included with cabina, hot springs, volcano view, birds, flowers, spa, wonderful staff to serve your every need. . . what more do you want? This is a peaceful paradise.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank freespirittraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornelius, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

This was my second trip to Hotel El Silencio. This time I took my elderly parents. We all enjoyed the gorgeous landscaping around the cute cabanas. We were very lucky and got to see the volcano erupt many times! We really enjoyed the breakfasts and had several other meals at the on site restaurant. The service was outstanding again. This year they had a lap top available in the lobby area to check your email. They welcomed us with a fruity cool drink on our arrival. We also took advantage of the spa services. My mom and I both enjoyed a facial and I also got a massage. It was heavenly. The hotel is very convenient to LaFortuna and Arenal Volcano. They also have their own warm mineral pool heated by the volcano and a regular swimming pool. One word of advice- don't use the pay phone/credit card phone in the lobby area. It was very expensive. Buy a phone card and use a regular pay phone.

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Becky98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

Hotel El Silencio del Campo was a lot of fun, and a great choice. Per policy, our full payment was pulled from our credit card a few days prior to our arrival. When we had to cancel our first attempted Costa Rican trip 3 days prior to our arrival here, the hotel accommodated our rescheduling our trip to the beginning of June with no penalty.

As we checked in during a torrential downpour, our pleasant desk assistance included being lent umbrellas for the slog to our villa #20. The free-standing villa was great – roomy and nicely appointed.

Though at first we felt a bit away from the action, we came to feel we had among the best units. Our view of the volcano was through some of the “closer” units, though all of the units had the same issue – unless they were near the road I suppose. But we had a nice view of a field out our main window, complete ducks, etc. And our unit was among the closest to the hot springs, which were grand. As a bonus it was well away from the next door 4 story hotel and its loud A/C unit – a bit of blight on the serenity of the place.

Spring-wise our first of 2 days was the better – not sure if it was due to the rain on arrival, but the springs were pleasantly warm. We couldn’t understand the cautions about staying in the springs too long until we return our second day, when it really was toasty – OK for a quick swim, but not for floating around.

The grounds were nicely landscaped, with flowers and beautiful plants all around. We took both our dinners there in the restaurant. Not swanky, but good food at a reasonable price with good service. Our included breakfasts too were great too.

We’d recommend El Silencio to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckdalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

My husband and I stayed at El Silencio and had a blast! Views of the volcano couldn't be better, the grounds are beautiful, hot springs on premises well worth it and we didn't have to spend a fortune going to any of the other ones, rooms very clean, and staff were so friendly and accomodating- couldn't have been treated any better. The food at the restaurant was exceptional! Get the typical Costa Rican breakfast it is fabulous, also had a great lunch there w/ a fabulous coconut flan! Probably one of the better meals we had in CR. It is so cool to have your own little cabin and you can see alot of wildlife on the grounds. The location is great and only $6 taxi into town. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbuggin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahlequah
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

My husband and teenagers stayed here for a few days during our spring break trip. The hotel is beautiful. I loved the individual casitas-very secluded and quiet. We made use of the hot springs every night. The springs were never crowded and were always clean. Ask the bar to turn on the waterfall. The hotel bar was nice and made excellent drinks. The free facial hooked us and my husband and I had a wonderful couples massage. The office staff is wonderful and were very patient as I was practicing my spanish. Their english is perfect but I wanted to try. If you have a car ask for the tourist map of the town to save on having to buy a package tour-all of the sites are well marked and easy to drive to. I have recommended this hotel to many friends already.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.3 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,912 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,333 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,867 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,168 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#5 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Property: Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing