We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,058)
Filter reviews
2,058 results
Traveler rating
1,683
319
45
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,683
319
45
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free facial hot springs small farm costa rica milk the cows collect eggs individual cabins grounds are beautiful fresh fruit arenal area hot pools the cottages front porch every morning spring pools zip lining regular pool
Filter
Updating list...
1,535 - 1,540 of 2,058 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2010

El Silencio was my favorite hotel during our entire 2 weeks in Costa Rica. We are mid-range budget travelers who decided to splurge a little near the hot springs, but didn't want the over-the-top appearance of some of the other higher-end places. The staff took SUCH good care of us, helping us with anything and everything we needed. They were consistently smiling, genuine and friendly. Have a question for a doctor?They called the doctor. Need to change our tour time? Quickly arranged for the change. Recommendations for activities...spot on for what we were looking for. Our massages were uber-relaxing. The room was quiet, clean and comfortable. And the grounds and hot springs were beautiful. Awesome view of Arenal, as well. Stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

My husband and I visited Arenal and stayed at Silencio del Campo. It was a great recommendation from our travel guide, Mynor Segura at Tico Comfort. If you're looking for a beautiful, peaceful location with the Arenal volcano as your main view, this is the place for you. Oh, another plus is that you won't have to leave the location to go to hot springs because they have their own private ones on their grounds. Why go pay at Bali or Tabacon? Beautiful, clean, reasonably priced, great breakfast included with cabina, hot springs, volcano view, birds, flowers, spa, wonderful staff to serve your every need. . . what more do you want? This is a peaceful paradise.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank freespirittraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

This was my second trip to Hotel El Silencio. This time I took my elderly parents. We all enjoyed the gorgeous landscaping around the cute cabanas. We were very lucky and got to see the volcano erupt many times! We really enjoyed the breakfasts and had several other meals at the on site restaurant. The service was outstanding again. This year they had a lap top available in the lobby area to check your email. They welcomed us with a fruity cool drink on our arrival. We also took advantage of the spa services. My mom and I both enjoyed a facial and I also got a massage. It was heavenly. The hotel is very convenient to LaFortuna and Arenal Volcano. They also have their own warm mineral pool heated by the volcano and a regular swimming pool. One word of advice- don't use the pay phone/credit card phone in the lobby area. It was very expensive. Buy a phone card and use a regular pay phone.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank Becky98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2010

Hotel El Silencio del Campo was a lot of fun, and a great choice. Per policy, our full payment was pulled from our credit card a few days prior to our arrival. When we had to cancel our first attempted Costa Rican trip 3 days prior to our arrival here, the hotel accommodated our rescheduling our trip to the beginning of June with no penalty.

As we checked in during a torrential downpour, our pleasant desk assistance included being lent umbrellas for the slog to our villa #20. The free-standing villa was great – roomy and nicely appointed.

Though at first we felt a bit away from the action, we came to feel we had among the best units. Our view of the volcano was through some of the “closer” units, though all of the units had the same issue – unless they were near the road I suppose. But we had a nice view of a field out our main window, complete ducks, etc. And our unit was among the closest to the hot springs, which were grand. As a bonus it was well away from the next door 4 story hotel and its loud A/C unit – a bit of blight on the serenity of the place.

Spring-wise our first of 2 days was the better – not sure if it was due to the rain on arrival, but the springs were pleasantly warm. We couldn’t understand the cautions about staying in the springs too long until we return our second day, when it really was toasty – OK for a quick swim, but not for floating around.

The grounds were nicely landscaped, with flowers and beautiful plants all around. We took both our dinners there in the restaurant. Not swanky, but good food at a reasonable price with good service. Our included breakfasts too were great too.

We’d recommend El Silencio to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckdalz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

My husband and I stayed at El Silencio and had a blast! Views of the volcano couldn't be better, the grounds are beautiful, hot springs on premises well worth it and we didn't have to spend a fortune going to any of the other ones, rooms very clean, and staff were so friendly and accomodating- couldn't have been treated any better. The food at the restaurant was exceptional! Get the typical Costa Rican breakfast it is fabulous, also had a great lunch there w/ a fabulous coconut flan! Probably one of the better meals we had in CR. It is so cool to have your own little cabin and you can see alot of wildlife on the grounds. The location is great and only $6 taxi into town. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbuggin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews