We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
$216
View Deal
Expedia.com
$216
View Deal
Booking.com
$216
$194
View Deal
SAVE $22
eDreams$194
Trip.com$202
CheapTickets$216
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,230)
Filter reviews
2,230 results
Traveler rating
1,836
338
45
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,836
338
45
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free facial hot springs small farm collect eggs recommend el costa rica individual cabins spring pool beautiful grounds arenal area fresh fruit front porch hot pools every morning colorful birds zip lining two queen beds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 2,230 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2019

This hotel was an amazing way for us to end our Costa Rican vacation! Traveling with small children, we decided it would be best to stay at a hotel with hot springs on site. This way we could go whenever for small amounts of time with the kids if needed. It worked out perfectly for us!

When we arrived, we were greeted with fruity welcome drinks, a map and some suggestions on what to do. I loved the high ceilings of the villa, and we had a view of Arenal from our front porch, which was lovely (when it wasn't under the clouds!) The room was spacious and I loved all the bath products they provided.

Food was good. We ate all meals here. Breakfast included a menu to order from, plus a buffet with fruit, yogurt, granola, and fruit juice. It also came with coffee, tea or hot chocolate (which the kids loved). We enjoyed eating lunch at the bar area by the hot springs, and also dinner. All food was good! Also loved the drinks - especially the oreo frappuccino and pina colada! They had a big kids menu to order from as well.

We used the spa to get our free facials - which was lovely! My husband and I also had a couples massage. I thought it was just ok. The setting was beautiful, and we loved getting into our own private hot spring to bathe after.

The hot springs here are amazing! There are about 6 different pools, with different temperatures. We called them the upper pool (big), middle, and lower (lower was the least hot), plus a jacuzzi, a tiny hidden shallow pool, and a cold plunge pool. There also is a traditional swimming pool which is a little ways away from the hot springs pools. The landscaping is gorgeous and natural.

In addition, they have other things for kids, including a small playground and a working farm. The farm has various animals (cows, donkey, horses, sheep, chickens, guinea hens) and also a large garden. The kids got to milk the cow and collect eggs, and we got a nice tour of the garden area.

We saw many birds while we were here, along with lizards and toads. The kids loved that part!

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Arenal!!

Room tip: Higher number rooms are farther away from the street but most rooms are anyway.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rubyiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe Z, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Dear Ruby

Thank you very much for that lovely review! We really appreciate reading such nice comments, where our guest really enjoyed our hotel and all the services we offer! We are so glad that the whole family found something for them to enjoy, we try our best to offer something for all ages! We hope you visit us again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2019 via mobile

I recently stayed at this magnificent property
I enjoyed every minute of it... especially nice touches like breakfast where they make their own homemade yogurt
The staff reflects the warmness and friendliness of Costa Rican people, the rooms are nice a cozy
Hot springs surrounded by beautiful gardens
I would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants some quite and relaxed time I Arenal area

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank 924ronnym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe Z, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Dear Ronny

Thank you so much for a wonderful review! We appreciate that you enjoyed your stay and that you took the time to comment on it! We would love to have you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2019

Excellent property in La Fortuna. Each room is a separate cabin. About 24 cabins on the property. The room size is huge - this is not your typical shoebox sized hotel room. Each cabin has a small patio with a table + 4 chairs. Good views of the volcano (when it's not obscured by the clouds!). The pathways between the cabins and hot springs are nicely landscaped - you feel very close to nature. This is a highly rated property and after staying for 3 nights here (in late June-early July 2019 timeframe), we can attest that the high ratings are well deserved!! Staff is polite and helpful. The hotsprings are very good. Since this is a small property (only ~24 rooms), the hotsprings never felt crowded. Loved the breakfast as well. You order from a small menu (thankfully, it is not a pre-made breakfast buffet). The hotel does not have much nightlife, so we never had dinner in the restaurant - suggestion would be to visit La Fortuna downtown (10 mins away) for dinner. We enjoyed our stay in El Silencio del Campo, and highly recommend this property if you are visiting La Fortuna.

Room tip: If you stay for 3+ nights, you get a free facial treatment in the spa (25 minute treatment worth USD $60)
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nsphansa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe Z, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Dear guest

Thank you so much for a great review! We are thrilled to know you like it! We are always happy to read what our guests felt of their stay! We hope you visit La Fortuna again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2019

An amazing hotel! So peaceful with INCREDIBLE hot spring fed pools. The restaurant food and staff were awesome - they remembered our names and what we liked! We arrived late after the restaurant was closed and they made a plate for us because they knew we had not eaten all day - so thoughtful and kind. The spa was an incredible experience that you do not want to miss. The front desk staff was so helpful and friendly and their English was perfect. They definitely go beyond the call of duty! The grounds are absolutely beautiful and the rooms rustic and peaceful.The food and drinks at the pool are also great and the bartender is first rate. I highly recoomend this hotel!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaH23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis Felipe Z, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2019

Dear Dona


Thank you very much for your sweet review! We are so happy to hear you had such a nice experience staying with us and that you got to enjoy most of what we have to offer! Thank you for complimenting the staff, we will make sure they know their work is being appreciated!

We hope you visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2019

We recently visited Hotel El Silencio del Campo for a second time - this time bringing our two children (ages 6 and 8). The hotel, amenities and grounds were still in excellent condition even after almost 10 years since our original visit. The hot springs were amazing and I highly recommend a massage after dusk - the sounds of the springs and rain forest together with the candles created the most relaxing ambiance I have ever experienced. Our kids absolutely loved the small farm on the property - they were able to ride a horse, milk a cow and gather eggs from the chickens. We were able to also tour the garden. It was enlightening for our kids to see how the plants and animals from the farm went directly to our table for breakfast and dinner. There are many places to choose from in the LaFortuna area, but we have no regrets about choosing to stay at Hotel El Silencio del Campo again!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shanhigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiego Z, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2019

Dear guest

Thank you so much for your kind words! It means a lot to us to know you chose to stay with us for the second time, and that after all these years you still like it!
Its great news to hear that you enjoyed the farm, its one of our new features and we planned it with children in mind!
Come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews