We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,049)
Filter reviews
2,049 results
Traveler rating
1,673
320
45
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,673
320
45
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree facialhot springssmall farmcosta ricamilk the cowscollect eggsindividual cabinsgrounds are beautifulfresh fruitarenal areahot poolsthe cottagesfront porchevery morningspring poolsregular poolzip lining
Filter
Updating list...
1,542 - 1,547 of 2,049 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2010

We picked El Silencio del Campo based on other TripAdvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. For the price we paid (not cheap, but not super expensive), we were pleased with the facilities, the hot springs, and especially the spa services and free facial. The welcome drink was another nice touch. We both got spa treatments that were fantastic, and a great bargain.

While the hotel's service was exceptional on the surface, we did experience some issues booking tours. First, the hotel couldn't match the tour company's published prices, but after they told us about their commission structure and how they would get very little money booking us at the published price, we agreed to help them out and book anyway at a higher price. Then they still couldn't book us and asked us to book another day after we would already be gone. Finally, we were getting pretty frustrated and told the guy we would put a tip in the giant tip jar and just book it ourselves. He tapped the side of the tip jar and said that it would be fine. We ended up booking the tour ourselves online and had no problems booking the date we wanted.

While I genuinely believe the guy at the desk was trying to be helpful, and the tour company could have played a major role in our less-than-fantastic booking experience, it became very obvious to us (if we couldn't already tell from the giant fish bowl for tips on the counter) that some staff members were very driven by tips and tour commissions -- sometimes at the cost of service.

Other tour bookings were mostly smooth, but after a few more weird moments we really wished we had booked everything ourselves.

To be fair, we noticed some of the front desk staff members actually hid the tip jar behind the counter when they were working, and we had plenty of positive experiences with all of the staff members we encountered. Thanks to everyone at El Silencio del Campo who helped make our honeymoon in Costa Rica special!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheInternationalLine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed at El Silenco for 2 nights in early June. We are in our early 30s. We were assigned room # 12, which has a perfect view of the volcano (although I imagine each bungalow had the same wonderful view). From the minute we arrived to when we left, the staff was warm and hospitable. Before booking the hotel, I emailed with staff from the hotel. They were so fast to respond and provided tons of helpful information so I can could book the hotel and activities. It made everything so much easier and gave me the impression that we would be taken care of during our stay. We weren't disappointed.

The reviews and photos posted here, as well as El Silencio's own website, do not do it justice. The grounds are peaceful and beautiful. The hot springs at the back of the property is a treat.

The spa is right near the hot springs and outdoors. We had massages both days we were there and the massages were divine. My husband's only complaint was that he needed more pressure, but he loved it as well. In comparison, we stayed at a much higher end hotel at Manuel Antonia and the massages there were atrocious. The 2 massage therapists at El Silencio were professional and soothing.

Our room was large, comfortable, and clean. The bathroom was also quite large. The only problem was that the lighting was very poor at night.

The restaurant was also lovely. Breakfast was included in the rate and we could order from a number of hot and cold options. And fresh fruit was always part of the meal as well. It was a pleasure to stay here and we are looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBNY78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Rita of Casa Bella Rita (http://www.casabellarita.com/), Santa Ana (Suburb of San Jose), highly recommended this place and we’re glad she did. It was simply beautiful and the staff was very courteous and inviting. We happened to arrive before check-in and the front desk worked aggressively to get our cabin ready and provide fresh tropical drinks while we waited. On short notice, the staff arranged for shuttle service and entry for the Sky Tram. The more adventurous can arrange for a zip line while there. It was truly a “rain forest” as we got drenched during our tour…but it was worth it! The cabanas are comfortable and modern and each has their very own front porch. The sinewy trails lead you through lush, green and tropical foliage. The hotel provides a hot springs swimming pool, outdoor bar, restaurant and spa treatment just to name a few of the amenities. We took advantage of a Swedish massage and it was wonderfully relaxing! Regrettably, we didn’t get to see the lava flow from Arenal Volcano; thankfully, the environment and amenities provided made up for it! We would definitely recommend staying here! (http://www.hotelsilenciodelcampo.com/)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YO_LOOK_AT_ME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

This is a really beautiful place to stay with private cabins, surrounded with lush plants, a swimming pool AND its own small hot springs. The small hot springs on site has a nice view of the volcano, and to be honest, for me, was a preferable experience to Tabacon because you have a sense of seclusion and quiet. There is also a swimming pool to cool off in. An outdoor spa area (housed in a tent, but really nicely done ambiance with candles and music and very private)

The rooms have a rustic feel (think log cabin) but modern amenities, high ceilings with fans and airconditioning, electronic safe, wifi, and tv.

Breakfast every morning is included and is delicious!! pancakes and tipico, the local bfast, were my favorites, but there were half a dozen other choices to rotate during your stay.

The staff are really friendly, speak English very well, and helpful in booking many activities (with applied discounts, including rafting trips, canyoning, ziplining as well local spas or their in-house spa), would recommend booking ahead of time if you can (ie, from the States). There's a small parking lot in the back that is secure as well.

HIghly recommended, and very reasonably priced!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wheatthins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

This was our first trip to Costa Rica, and we decided to stay at two hotels near La Fortuna. El Silencio del Campo was our "budget" hotel (we stayed at the more expensive Nayara as our "splurge" hotel). But although it cost less, our stay at El Silencio was very pleasant, and we would certainly stay there again. The best things about the hotel for us were the front desk staff (Elio especially was very helpful in answering all our questions and reserving activities for us) and the beautiful, relaxing hot springs. The room was fine; we had no complaints, although it lacked the luxury of Nayara. The grounds were beautiful, the restaurant provided a nice breakfast, and the location was perfect (close enough to town for a quick run to the store, but far enough out that you weren't right in the middle of the hustle and bustle). If you're looking for a beautiful, resort-like experience at a lower price, El Silencio del Campo is a great choice.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dougb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews