We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Hotels.com
$216
View Deal
Expedia.com
$216
View Deal
Booking.com
$216
$194
View Deal
SAVE $22
eDreams$194
Trip.com$202
CheapTickets$216
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,230)
Filter reviews
2,230 results
Traveler rating
1,836
338
45
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,836
338
45
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free facial hot springs small farm collect eggs recommend el costa rica individual cabins spring pool beautiful grounds arenal area fresh fruit front porch hot pools every morning colorful birds zip lining two queen beds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 2,230 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2019

We stayed here for two nights and absolutely loved it. The bungalow was huge, well-appointed, and spotlessly clean. The grounds are lush and green, with hummingbirds and other birds and even iguanas and an armadillo roaming around. Breakfast was simple, but very good, made with ingredients from their farm. The hot springs were nice, maybe not as hot as we would have liked, but there was the bar... We ate dinner at the restaurant, and it was quite good. Attentive service. We'd definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiego Z, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2019

Dear Scott

Thank you for giving that nice opinion about our hotel, we are always happy to know that our guests enjoyed the experience of staying with us and what we have to offer! We look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2019

Hotel El Silencio del Campo is not only a beautiful place to stay in a beautiful country, but it is full of amazing people. I forgot my wedding rings in our room when we were checking out and they found where I was staying (in another hotel 4 hours away). They called me and sent the rings to me the next day all before I had the chance to even call them. The staff are friendly and full of great information on what to do in the area and they all seem to love working there. Hotel El silencio is also one of the few places in the area that doesn't lay people off during the off season, so please go and enjoy the beauty of Costa Rica and support this wonderful establishment full of wonderful people. You won't regret it!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mgiffi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiego Z, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Dear guest

Thank you so much for your kind words, it is so nice to hear this comments about our hotel and staff, we work hard everyday to give our guest an amazing experience staying with us and its great to be appreciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2019

Silencio is a great independent hotel that is also excellent for families. The standalone "rooms" (like a little cabin/house) are ideal and provide privacy and space. The grounds are lush and fun to walk around on. The pools are numerous and great for a dip any time of the day. The food is also quite good and reasonably priced, which is very convenient for those with little kids. Importantly, the whole staff is excellent, friendly and service oriented. From the ladies at the front desk who helped us organize numerous activities to the wait staff (Carlos and Eddie are awesome) who were so patient with our large group (two families, six kids). Highly recommend Silencio!

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jkseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiego Z, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Dear guest

Thank you for that nice comment, we really appreciate that our guests take the time to review our hotel and services. It makes us very happy to know that our staff is being helpful and friendly. We hope you visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019

We had an awesome stay at this hotel with a view of Arenal. Our bungalow seemed secluded and was surrounded by lush tropical foliage and flowers. It was wonderful to have the hot spring pools of various temperatures on the property. Easy to enjoy at the beginning or end of the day - no need to go off site! There is also a farm with cows, donkeys, horses (including a new born foal during our stay) and chickens which is fun to visit. If you time your visit well, you can help milk a cow!

The staff here is very friendly and helpful. They had great suggestions for activities, and made all arrangements including transportation. They made our stay here easy and fun. The restaurant is also quite good. We enjoyed the breakfast that is included in the stay, and also had dinner a few times.

We visited as a couple. It is great for this type of getaway, but this place also has a nice family vibe. We enjoyed this diversity of groups, and there were also guests from many different countries.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelb0y2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiego Z, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Dear guest

Thank you for your lovely review, we truly appreciate it, for us its great to know that you enjoyed your time with us and the hotel grounds. Its great that you got to meet the newborn horse, our farm is something we are very proud of. It makes us very happy aswell that our staff was helpful and friendly! Come back to visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2019 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights in April 19. The photos and marketing online look very 80’s and really don’t do it justice.

Great rooms which are private little bungalows, providing all you need inc air-con and clean.

The hot-pools are fantastic and beautiful! - with bar.

Complimentary facial went down very will with my wife.

Staff were very friendly and attentive with great recommendations. Helped recommend some great restaurants and arrange us a horse riding trip to the waterfalls.

Nice landscaped gardens with birds very well looked after.

Good breakfast, fairly simple choices but quality is fine - not a busy tourist buffet, off menu with 5/6 choices.

Relatively small private and personal hotel, unlike some of the big resorts in this area.

Were quite a lot of families staying - didn’t cause any noise to us as a couple.

Highly recommended, I’d stay again.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Otherbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiego Z, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2019

Dear guest. Thank you so much for that nice review, we are always glad to know that a costumbre enjoyed their stay with us and specially to hear that they would come back! We will be expecting you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews