We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$200
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$230
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$169
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$107
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$113
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$124
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$86
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$563
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,036)
Filter reviews
2,036 results
Traveler rating
1,661
319
45
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,661
319
45
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree facialhot springssmall farmcosta ricamilk the cowscollect eggsindividual cabinsgrounds are beautifularenal areafresh fruithot poolsthe cottagesprivate hot springfront porchevery morningspring poolsregular pool
Filter
Updating list...
1,613 - 1,618 of 2,036 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2009

A friend and I stayed in a Villa at Silencio del Campo from Nov. 12-15. From the moment we arrived, the staff service was friendly and attentive. All our tours were booked by the hotel in advance, and any booking issues were addressed immediately upon arrival.

They offer a complimentary facial in the spa, which was a nice and unexpected treat on my birthday! Breakfast is included and is quite filling and tasty. Fresh fruit every morning is a great treat. Plus there's a coffee-maker and fridge in the villa, if you find yourself needing them.

The grounds were gorgeous. Fruit is placed in "trees" near the hotel restaurant during breakfast, which was an excellent bonus for this birder. There are brilliantly colored birds all around, from tanagers to orioles to hummingbirds. I spent plenty of extra time simply walking the grounds to find new wildlife. The hot springs were a nice diversion on the evening that Eco-Termales was full, but definitely try it when the waterfall is on.

The service was great. The rooms were immaculate. This was our "splurge" during a relatively inexpensive 11-day tour of Costa Rica, and the 3 nights spent at Silencio del Campo were some of the best. We even had a great view of the volcano during our one clear day in the Arenal area. Absolutely no complaints!

For the easily amused: The towel shenanigans performed by the housekeeping staff are hilarious. Our personal favorite was the elephant. :-)

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tralfamadorian42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2009

Had a wonderful stay. Eliomar was great. Hot spring on site is great (if the waterfall isn't on ask the bartender)- really no reason to go to other hot-springs. Bungalow was spacious and clean, beautiful landscaping, great views of the volcano.

Only negative- we left a camera in our room when we checked out (100% certain of that). We called as soon as we arrived at our next location (same day) and they never "found it". Not even the SD card from it...

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
3  Thank ourback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hsilenciodelcampo, Owner at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2009

Thanks so much for contacting us with feedback on your recent stay at Hotel El Silencio del Campo. We, sincerely, value each comment of each visitor.

Dear visitor, we are all so sorry for the loss your camera, despite the economic value, the saddest thing would be the loss of all the photos taken of the recent trip in Costa Rica .

We fully understand your discomfort at this point, though you liked our hotel. Nevertheless, we wish to express our thoughts with all the respect you deserve according to our experience.

Afterwards you called us from your next hotel, we immediately went into the room to look for the camera, and we actually asked a few questions to the staff who could have accessed to the room, despite we trust them; however, we, unfortunately, had no success at all.

Very often other travelers have claimed lost of all kinds. Lots of them have been found and returned . Even valuable items like watches, Ipods, clothes, passports and among other things that had a special feeling or meaning for them. At other times items weren't found, and, after some time, we've received apologies from our guests 'cause they found their belongings later or "lost" into another bag or, what commonly happens, in other places like buses or tours vans .

Once happened that one of our guests thought he had lost his watch in the hotel, and he threatened to defame our hotel. We asked him to tell us what he did while his stay, and after calling a few places, we found his watch at the springs of Ecotermales and nor in our hotel as he had thought.

We encourage you to do the same, to think of the places you visited and, if you cannot remember, please get some time to call or we can also call if you email us your itinerary and will be so glad to call for you.

It's so hard for us to believe that the camera was left at the hotel as the villa is a single room, and it should have been easy for this guest to see the camera while packing his suitcases. And I think that maybe the camera was left or lost somewhere else, even on the way, it might have been lost in a restaurant or gas station, which are places so visited daily

Anyway, we certainly appreciate your sincerity and honesty, and we will be more strict with our staff during and after work. We always try to choose good people and treat them very well socially and economically speaking. They were also highly emphasized the values of people such as honesty, responsibility, respect to others, and among other things.

Without having anything else to say but in great pain for what happened, we want to apologize again, hoping in God that that precious lost object.hadn't been left in our hotel.

Luis Zúñiga Vega and Diego Murillo Hidalgo Kattya
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

I had planned on staying there for only one night and extended for two more. The cabins were great and the grounds were beautiful. We didn't feel the need to go to the over populated hot springs, but rather enjoyed the hotels hot spring pool. One of the best things we did was to have a massage there. It was at night in a candle lit tent listening to the rain. The hot spring pool was never busy. There isn't a phone or a clock in the room so make sure you have a travel alarm or cell phone to get up by. The food there was very reasonable. I think my garlic talipia was maybe $8 and out of this world. The girl at the front desk was great at helping us out with things to do and never solicited any tours without our asking. We did the horseback riding to the waterfall. It was only $40 pp for 4 hours. The horses were so well trained I ended up leading group with the guide in the back and my horse knew exactly where to go. With all the rain and rockey road, the riding was little trecherous, but our guide, David, was great! The makeshift village with crafts was pretty hokey and the butterfly tent I could have skipped. I do have a bad knee but stili managed to climb down the 580 stairs up and down to the waterfall and pool. If you take breaks, it isn't that bad. We never did find the zip line canopy tour we paid for and they refunded our money. The only time we saw the top of active volcano was around 6-6:30 AM. Watch the front steps of cabins, I almost fell about 4 x. The tile is really slippery when wet. Oh and drinks were cheap there too!

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
Thank MNtravelgal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

We are first-time Costa Rica travelers, and El Silencio Del Campo was our first destination. We took InterBus from the airport and got dropped off at the hotel after dark. What an amazing stay it turned out to be! The moment we arrived, we were treated to a 'welcome' drink - a very nice touch. Met Tiki (we both love dogs), a tiny resident chihuahua!!! :) The property is impeccably taken care of. The cottages are spacious and clean, the landscape is beautiful, volcano views are unobstructed, and having access to a hot spring pool on the premises is pure luxury. We traveled during low season (mid October), and often had the entire pool to ourselves (there is also Baldi hot springs resort and spa a few hundred feet down the road from the hotel - we went out there one night, and really enjoyed it, but it was a much less private experience). Luis Diego, Vanessa, Humberto and all others were incredibly accommodating and helpful, and eagerly answered all our questions (they are all fluent in English). There is so much to do around La Fortuna and Arenal, that unfortunately our 3-night stay was not enough. We are already talking about our next visit, and El Silencio, without a doubt, will be our hotel of choice. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldlyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

We’ve stayed here twice and wouldn’t hesitate to stay again.

The rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. Their breakfast is included in the rate and is delicious.

Their pool and hot springs are very nice. Our friends enjoyed hanging out in the hot springs.

The front desk was very nice and helpful. While at the hot springs, our friends were chatting with the owner and found him delightful.

The owners are related to Eco Termales hot springs nearby. A stay at Hotel El Silencio del Campo will get you a discount at Eco Termales. Eco Termales will even call over to Hotel El Silencio del Campo to pick you up!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dave_gone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews