We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,050)
Filter reviews
2,050 results
Traveler rating
1,674
320
45
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,674
320
45
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree facialhot springssmall farmcosta ricamilk the cowscollect eggsindividual cabinsgrounds are beautifulfresh fruitarenal areahot poolsthe cottagesfront porchevery morningspring poolsregular poolzip lining
Filter
Updating list...
1,685 - 1,690 of 2,050 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2009

By far, one of the best accomodations we've had in Costa Rica! Trip Advisor was right again...wouldn't have stayed anywhere else in the Arenal area. Although my travel agent recommended other hotels in the area, I took it upon myself and went with the #1 hotel choice according to the rating on tripadvisor.

The property is very close to 'downtown La Fortuna'-- only a 2-minute car drive. It is meticulously well kept - I mean landscaping/gardening is flawless and beautifully manicured. There are beautiful plants and palms along the walkways. Each 'bungalow' is also SPACIOUS and meticulously maintained, amazing detail to furniture. Bathroom was completely renovated or new -- HUGE shower area- can fit 4 people in there! Floor was newly tiled and clean. TV, very small safe, coffeemaker, hairdryer, fridge all inside bungalow. No telephone or clock though. Wireless in or around lobby area, not in rooms too far back. Bed was king-sized, comfortable with very clean sheets. Nice patio in front of bungalow where you can sit and drink coffee and admire the Arenal volcano in front of you. Very quiet property-- felt like we were the only ones there although we weren't. Bonus with this property is the huge hot springs pool in the back of the property with a poolside bar. There is a man-made waterfall in the pool where the hot water flows in. Both times we used it, we were the only ones in the pool. There is also a regular chlorinated pool along with a kiddy pool on the property which is meticulously maintained and well landscaped. There is ample parking at the property.

The restaurant served the best Costa Rican food we had during our entire trip. The chef does an amazing job-- no joke! A bit expensive, but totally worth it. We were not pleased with the food we had downtown so we had dinner every night at the hotel restaurant.

The only drawback if there is one would be the ridiculous monstrocity of a hotel adjacent to this property. The view of the volcano is amazing but remember, it's not the lava flow view. From what we saw and heard though, even if you stayed on the other side of the volcano, your chances of seeing 'lava flow' is slim.

If you're up for some adventure, we recommend white water rafting and canyoneering with Desafio-- it was a lot of fun and they feed you well! If you want to see the volcano, DO NOT pay a tour guide-- it's not worth the $$. You can either drive yourself (10-minute drive) or take a taxi to the volcano's parking lot and walk the easy trail by yourselves. It took less than 1/2 hr to do the easy walk/hike -- it only takes you so far in anyway. If we had known this, we could have saved ourselves some $$. WARNING - part of the road to the parking lot was full of huge pot holes!

I HIGHLY recommend this hotel especially to those who want some peace and quiet and not the hustle and bustle of tourists. My husband and I were on our honeymoon and we couldn't have been more pleased with our hotel choice. Thank you to everyone at Silencio for everything! The only thing I'd recommend adding to the bungalows are a clock and phone.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maven5645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2009

It doesn't get much more perfect than this. Amazing climate, tremendous view at the base of Arenal Volcano, secluded private thermal springs, plus a pool and jacuzzi, luxury individual cabins, amazing staff, cleanliness beyond compare, great food, wonderful location (lots to do in the area with great tours), all at a very reasonable price. A wonderful alternative to the commercialized, noisy, expensive resorts. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zombieSouthDakota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2009

Stayed 3 nights at Hotel Silencio del Campo in La Fortuna. Individual cabins located on beautifully landscaped grounds. Hearty breakfast included. We stayed in Cabin 17. Large 1 BR, clean with a/c. Nice bathroom, mini-fridge, TV. Very comfortable bed. Hot spring pool on property was awesome & beautiful and not too hot or too cold. Restaurant on property was excellent. Staff very nice and friendly (Eliomar especially!). A/C operates on remote control that won't work if you're too far away from unit. Great view of Arenal volcano if it's a clear day. Too bad they put big overbearing hotel next door, but it does not take away from the wonderful experience we had staying at Silencio del Campo.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QueenOfTheRoad7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

My boyfriend and I just returned from Costa Rica and spent 4 nights at this hotel. It was fabulous. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful. Breakfast each morning is very nice. They even put fruit out for the birds right next to where you eat and you see tons of pretty birds. The rooms are very spacious and super clean. The hot springs they have on the grounds is great to relax in at night and meet other people. Also the bartender makes the best drinks! Unfortunately, the whole time we were there it poured except for a couple hours each day. We never got to see the volcano, except for the bottom 1/2 a couple hours one day. Tone of activities you can choose from in the area. We are already planning our second trip back for sometime in August. We have been told the weather is better on this side of the country during Aug-Nov. even though the other side is in the rainy season. Also, the staff are super nice and go out of there way for you.
We will definately be returing to this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuckyTravelGirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2009

We just returned from 10 days in Costa Rica. Hotel Silencio was our first stop, and it was a superb start to a wonderful vacation. The hotel is a few minutes from the main strip in La Fortuna, across from Baldi Hot Springs, and about 15-20 minutes from the road that takes you to the volcano, Sky Trek, Arenal Hanging Bridges. The free breakfast (the same every day) is satisfying and tasty. Options were sufficient for adults and children. The staff were helpful, the rooms clean and a decent size. The hot springs and pool area were lovely. One minor complaint...room lighting is dim, a drawback for evening readers. But overall...there were 10 of us staying there in 3 rooms, and all of us were more than delighted with this gem of a hotel. As for the beast of a structure looming overhead, you do indeed learn to look the other way and focus on the property, the volcano, and the many colorful birds dotting the property.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaewriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews