We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed here in May and felt so lucky to have selcted this hotel over several others.

Here;s why:

1. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are clean, spacious, private and romantic.
2. Breakfast birdwatching from the dining pavilion every day. I loved this.
3. Exceptionally friendly, interesting, helpful staff. I've traveled a lit and the staff here seemed genuinely content and happy to be working here, and it showed. They had great advice and were helpful with everything from calling cabs to arranging transportation from San Jose.
4. My boyfriend got to milk one of the cows and they made him on the spot hot chocolate. He loved this.
5. The many private hot pools - no need to pay to go to any of the other hot pool resorts.
6. Beautiful view of the Volcano. Fabulous.

I would recommend this hotel to friends and family and after seeing some of the other hotels around town, was more than pleased we had chosen this one.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,499
    299
    42
    5
    4
See reviews for
682
829
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We stayed at this hotel with 2 adults and 2 kids. The room was huge and clean. It had two full beds (or queens, not sure which) and a single bed. It was perfect for our family. The grounds are stunning, the pool was great, and the hot springs were amazing. Our kids spent hours in the hot springs. There also is a working farm, and our kids got to milk a cow. The staff was great. They booked all of our tours. The breakfast was great. We really loved this hotel. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLS500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this quaint little hotel. The staff is incredibly friendly. We loved relaxing at the hot springs on site. Jose did a great job at the bar....answered all of our local questions and filled us in on what we needed to know. The only thing is the service is slow & disorganized, especially in the morning during breakfast. We went at different times each morning and it really didn't matter. We weren't in any rush so we just enjoyed ourselves but just something to note.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gatorbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Beautiful quiet hotel with a small farm. The staff is really what makes this place special. Eylane at the front desk was so kind and patient. I felt like I was always asking her to assist with cabs, tours, advice and to guide me with my pathetic attempts to speak Spanish. The hotel grounds are beautiful and filled with fruit trees such as banana, lime, grapefruit and mandarin orange. The hot springs are small compared to the huge complexes nearby but they are tranquil and relaxing with varying temperatures. If don't like large crowds, tour buses and loud music then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Cabins #23 and #24 are the very best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

Superb location with a great view of the Volcano. Wonderful hot springs, clean and spacious villas, beautiful gardens and very helpful, friendly staff.
Eliomar organised all our trips and transfers and Jose the bar man was so friendly! The girls on the front desk were also very helpful. Really close to La Fortuna ($8 cab ride) where we had 2 great meals. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saj28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

My husband, 2 small kids and I loved this place and can't say enough positive things about it! The rooms (actually private houses) were large, with 2 large beds (and room for our baby cot), and plenty of floor space as well (we made a little play area for the kids inside). Beautifully maintained and frequently cleaned. The on-site springs were wonderful - we could find a temperature and pool to suit each of our tastes - the first one as you enter was the largest and the best for small children. When we were there we had them all to ourselves, except for the periodic iguana visitor curiously looking in from the side...really beautifully landscaped with lovely flora and fauna around. We were thrilled with staying there and got enough of the hot spring experience that we didn't need to go elsewhere to one of the other paid hot spring options.
The restaurant was wonderful for the included breakfast (could choose from a la cart options rather than a buffet, which is a refreshing choice). We ate dinner there one evening, which was good - several kid-friendly options too, and a sinful chocolate volcano cake for dessert was to die for. Amazing view of Volcan Arenal from the property. The pool looked nice, but WAY too cold, and not as interesting as the spring pool options. There is also a small, nice set of playground equipment that the children enjoyed. In addition, there is a working farm next door, and my daughter enjoyed her first-ever experience milking a cow. It is a bit of a distance from the town, so one would definitely want to have a car there. That there was nothing within walking distance may have been a SLIGHT inconvenience, but the beauty of the place and all its ammenities definitely outweighed the fact that we needed to drive everywhere from there.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Silencio for four wonderful nights. The six hot springs were so welcome. The rooms were large and very clean. Fresh food from the farm and the tree feeding all the birds made the meals. Can't say enough about the staff for making us feel so welcome, everywhere. A special thanks to Jose at the bar, Johnny & Alehandro at the farm, Josua and May Ling in the restaurant and Aileen at the front desk. Don't miss the amphibian night tour they can book for you. We saw everything from green tree frogs to a viper!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,269 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,858 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,403 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,822 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Property: Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing