We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Serene springs, spa and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Serene springs, spa and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Individual chalet-style accommodation in beautifully-landscaped gardens. Free access to the thermal pools of various temperatures (don't bother paying to go elsewhere to soak in hot water - it's all included here).

The spa facilities (massage etc) are open from 1pm, so don't try to plan an early-morning pummelling. The restaurant served good food, and the breakfasts were ample and freshly-prepared. Having said that, if you are staying for more than a couple of nights you will probably want to explore elsewhere for dinner.

Staff were friendly and attentive, and helped organise trips / tours.

This hotel is (mercifully) about 5 minutes' drive (cab fare 5,000 colones / $8) outside the main La Fortuna strip with its multitude of mainly tacky bars, restaurants and shops. It has peace and solitude to help you recuperate from all of the wild activities in the area (see our other reviews!)

Room Tip: There are around 25 - 30 chalets, all of the same design. Lower numbered chalets are closer to recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,370
    283
    38
    5
    4
See reviews for
619
760
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

A Garden of Eden, this small hotel is really a collection of cottages, with hot spring pools and beautiful gardens attracting tropical birds. Friendly helpful staff. A low-key place in the countryside, yet only a 5-min cab ride from the town, and close to all major attractions. (No car needed, all the tours and attractions will pick you up at the hotel.) Good view of Arenal. On-site restaurant and bar are not really advertised from the street, so they were never crowded and the service was great.
If you have questions before booking or arriving, don't hesitate to email them and you will get prompt responses.
Special shout outs to Elin, Eliomar, Geraldin, for all their wonderful help and friendship. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank h3305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I am not going to call it a hotel because it felt more like a retreat. I told the staff I would rave about it, they were all very helpful. We checked in (early, thank you!) and went directly to the hot springs. I was actually in tears I liked it so much. Each room was like a little cottage. Not overdone but totally comfortable. If this hotel wasn't 2500 miles from my home I would be there all the time.I wish this hotel all the success as their quiet work behind the scenes is noticed. This isn't a resort where the wait on you, hand and foot (which I appreciated) We had dinner there as well, which was good. There's a fancy pants resort a 2 minute walk away if you wanted a change of scenery but this place was tops for me. The Volcano is literally right across the street. We had no car but only 24 hours so we hung out at our "retreat" and were sad to leave. One night was not enough.

Room Tip: We were room 9 which was center. We loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissGPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

If you are looking for a beautiful hotel with great amenities in the Arenal area and don't want to pay $300 to $400 per night, this is the place. The rooms are very nice, just as pictured, the grounds are beautiful and the service and friendliness of the people are outstanding. I corresponded with Eliomar several times before our trip with questions and always got quick responses. We did two excursions from the property and he took care of all reservations for us with no problems. The hot springs felt wonderful and there are enough different pools that none of them were crowded. I would highly recommend the sky + trek through Sky Adventures. That was our first time to zip line and talk about a rush! The bartender in the pool area, Jose, was very nice and helpful. One night we heard this chirping sound and he located it for us. It was a tiny "blue jean frog" which he told us is also poisonous. He took my cell phone and got a good picture of it for me. The breakfast was included with the room which was always very good. So I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to the Arenal area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

The "rooms" are private cabins separate from the others - so no noise from your neighbors, just the occasional guests/staff walking by. The cabin was large and clean with lots of storage for clothes. We enjoyed a drink on our private front porch at night. The staff was very friendly, especially the server at breakfast. The breakfast is included and you get to choose from a selection of breakfast entrees that are served to you. Very delicious. On a clear day, you can see the volcano essentially across the street. We enjoyed a day at Tabacon hot springs, just a couple of minutes up the street. Very enjoyable stay!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Allison738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Eliomar answered my many many questions immediately- was friendly professional knowledgable & amazing. We had a wonderful stay of 2 nights 3 days- only wish it was longer!!!loved the private bungalows the hot springs the beautiful grounds wonderful breakfast- basicay we loved everything. Not one complaint!
(& we travel a lot!) thanks Eliomar❤️

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I agree with most reviewers that this is an excellent place to stay in the La Fortuna area. Even though the weather was quite wet during our stay (it was the rainy season after all), we enjoyed ourselves immensely. It is probably not the place for those mainly interested in nightlife.

Let me start with the excellent landscaping. We are interested in birds, and there were many on premises. The hot springs at various temperatures were a big hit, especially with our teenage daughters. The staff was very helpful with arrangements for activities perfect for our kids, including stand up paddleboarding and canyoneering (rappelling and river tracing).

The rooms were nice, with a very nice small outdoor area, and adequate in size for a family of four. They were not luxurious, but quite comfortable.

The only area where I disagree with the majority is about food. The free breakfast is quite adequate, but nothing special. Dinners are better, but again not memorable.

The location was ideal for us -- between La Fortuna and many of the exploring activities. We could get either direction with a short drive.

Despite the rain, on our last night and morning the volcano came out, and the view was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ejeffrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.3 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,941 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,390 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,882 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#5 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 465 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Property: Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing