We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay, fabulous spa experience, wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2014

This morning is our last at Hotel Silencio. It has been terrific. The property is beautiful and the people are great. A special shout out to Eliomar who was so helpful and arranged all of our activities. And to Geraldine who gave me a fabulous rice, honey and cinnamon scrub and volcanic mud facial. The cabins are spacious and clean. The towel art is cute too. The food was good. The mango daiquiri was perfect after a long hike. The hot spring pools were lovely. The AC in the cabins was perfect. Really, it was just lovely. Oh, a word about the spa. We booked 5 pm treatments. It gets dark at 6. Spa to a chorus of cicadas and bubbling fountains is so awesome. Last word, wi fi worked great, even outside

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank ladycheetah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,903)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

695 - 701 of 1,903 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

We were very pleased with our selection in hotel. It offers a great location with all of the amenities at an excellent price. What is best is that it is a smaller hotel and you can avoid dealing the crowds of the larger places. The individual cabins are charming, comfortable, and very clean. Each unit shad it's own patio which is wonderful for enjoying sunsets and after hour socializing or reading with a glass of wine. The hot springs on site are outstanding. With several separate springs you often have one all to yourself. The grounds are beautifully landscaped as well. The hotel has bar service at the springs and for the restaurant. The daily breakfast was very good and the staff was incredibly friendly. We highly recommend this site over the larger touristy places.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MagnoliaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We spent 3 nights at El Silencio Del Campo and didn't want to leave. The grounds were beautiful! Our bungalow was spacious and the staff was very helpful. They have several hot spring pools which added to the whole experience.

The free breakfast was good - you had about 4 choices of a hot cooked meal. The lunch and dinner menus were average.

The spa was AMAZING! It was the best spa experience I have ever had. Yes, it was expensive but I would do it again in a minute. The atmosphere was what made the experience so special. We received a free mud facial because we stayed 3 or more nights. Don't skip it!!

Also, the hotel has a small farm and will teach you how to milk cows in the morning at 7:30. We did it twice!

The town was easy to get to by taxi. There is so much to do in this area, you will never be bored.

The weather was very comfortable for us - not too hot or humid. We had a little rain but it did not interfere with our activities.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 which was fairly close to the main entrance. It worked well fro us because my mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjeansVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and had amazing time. Staff was extremely friendly, rooms were well kept. Jose made great drinks and always with a smile. Breakfast is made to order, not a buffet as in most larger hotels. You can't go wrong staying here!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank Sip18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

It's a beautiful place to relax to enjoy with your family or partner, The thermal baths were really nice, and you can have a good view of the volcano although some days is very moisty.

People were really nice and the rooms were comfortable.

The only problem is that the spa was very expensive.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Carlos Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We spent 2 nights at El Silencio Del Campo and would recommend it to anyone visiting the area! the bungalows are beautiful, spacious, and clean, the staff is super nice, and they have the best bar tender: Jose!!! the hot springs and complimentary facial were just the icing on the cake.
Loved it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jehane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

La Fortuna was our first stop in Costa Rica, and turning off the road into El Silencio del Campo instantly immersed us in Tico hospitality and beauty. The hotel is made of collection of lovely individual cabins set in a beautiful garden. We had a perfect view of the Arenal Volcano from the front patio of our cabin. One of the best features of the hotel is that is has it's own, private geo-thermal hot springs. They are set up a series of pools and each one feels like it's own secret, private hideaway. The staff is super friendly, and it's an easy $6-$8 (5 minutes) cab ride from town.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaffergrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,343 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,395 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,585 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#14 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,530 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $187 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing