We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here four nights in February, and we loved it. As others have stated, the grounds are beautiful, the hot springs are intimate, and the staff members are wonderfully friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the privacy of having our own casita, and I especially liked the arrangement of the large bathroom sink/counter area located outside the shower area--makes it easier for two people to get ready in the morning. The food in the restaurant is good, but we discovered that a larger menu is available in the bar area by the hot springs; and anything from this menu can be ordered and eaten by the bar. We found some really good choices on that menu, and it was enjoyable eating by the springs--not to mention drinking those incredible pina coladas that Jose makes!

Room Tip: The lower the cabin number, the closer to the noise of the street and restaurant. The higher the nu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MSUcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,438
    293
    40
    5
    4
See reviews for
647
801
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at 3 different hotels during our stay at different price points. While not as luxurious as the other 2, I felt the value was superior. The staff was genuinely kind and helpful. We enjoyed talking with Jose at the pool and the other staff at breakfast. Our children loved the hot springs which were not crowded (and we saved money by not paying to go to the other springs). This place felt more like a large BandB. Our other hotels were very nice, but this one felt more like we were truly in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: I would stay near the back. We greeted the horses next door every evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed at El Silencio last month for 3 nights of our honeymoon and absolutely loved it.

Everything including the hot springs, food in the restaurant and staff service was premium quality. One member of staff, Eileen, was so helpful, we were sad to say goodbye! We had mentioned one day that we wanted to do a bike ride around the area and asked if it was something the hotel could arrange. She said they didn't have such trips on offer, but she would make some calls and find out if any local (and trusted) companies could help. Later that day, she came to us with details of Bike Arenal, through whom we eventually booked. The ride turned out to be one of the highlights of our trip (see our review on their page too), so we couldn't be more grateful!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coral S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

This place is so much prettier than their brochures! We stayed here 3 nights and it was amazing! The cabins or houses are so beautiful! the hot spring pools are different temperatures, the help is so kind and next to the grounds there is a small farm where they let you ignore if you want or milk the cow, wash the eggs- which they use in their restaurants for your amazing breakfast. The grounds are pretty, the food amazing and you are not far from other restaurants. Each morning they put fruit in the tree near the restaurant, so you have a free bird show while you eat!

Room Tip: ask for a room that faces mount Arenal. You can sit on your porch and have coffee watching the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

I can't believe anyone would complain about this place. It was so perfect. The grounds are absolutely beautiful, the hot springs are so intimate and relaxing. The staff were very helpful and polite. They helped us arrange all of our various outings. We all felt so lucky once we arrived and it began to dawn on us how nice the place was.

It is just outside of La Fortuna, which is ideal. The town itself is fun for dining but not very scenic. Best to stay just out of town and enjoy some natural splendor. The staff can call a cab for you whenever you need one, and that process is very fast and quite affordable.

The volcano is towering above the roadside in front of the hotel.

Do yourself a favor and stay here!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Our family rented 4 cottages for four days last month. WONDERFUL!! This is a magical place in itself, and the perfect location for everything the area has to offer. The cottages are comfortable and quiet, and very private. The grounds are beautiful, and the views amazing. The hot springs are much better than the website describes, with a variety of springs of different sizes and temperatures. Every single member of the staff here goes above and beyond what I have experienced at a Four Seasons. There is a farm on the property that provides the fresh ingredients to the restaurant, and you can tour if you want. We loved holding baby animals and gathering eggs there. A surprising, and excellent, feature of this hotel is its restaurant. We had planned to have some dinners at the hotel and some at La Fortuna, but after our first dinner at the hotel we never left. The Chef could be working at the best restaurants in NYC (but, who would want to leave Costa Rica?). Also, breakfast is included with the room, is full menu, cooked to order, with fresh tropical fruit platters, and very attentive service. Hotel Silencio del Campo is worth twice the price and is the best kept secret in the world.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CARebekah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

We just spent a week here at this lovely resort, and did not want to leave. It is an ideal place if you are coming to Costa Rica to relax and enjoy the wildlife and/or the hot springs. There are 24 lovely cottages, each with a covered outdoor patio, complete with table and chairs. If it's raining, no problem, sit outside on the patio and read a book. If it's cloudy/cool, no problem, soak in the wonderful hot springs. If it's sunny, take photos of the great variety of birds and flowers right on the property. The staff spoke English well and were friendly and helpful. A filling breakfast is included, consisting of a plate of fresh fruit, orange juice, and your choice of 4 different meals. Lunch and dinner meals were very good, also. The enchiladas were delicious! There's a farm next door that provides the eggs and cheese (and meat?) for the restaurant. The chalets are clean and spacious, with a well-lit vanity area and a not-so-well-lit toilet/shower area. There was a bar fridge fully at our disposal. The hot springs were lovely, and are open until 11:00 at night. They provided us with bath robes so we spent the majority of our time in our bathing suits and robes, visiting the hot springs or spa. There were 4 hot springs with lush vegetation around them, one jacuzzi, and a cold spring. There was also a regular unheated swimming pool. There's a bar near the hot springs that serves alcoholic drinks as well as fresh juices. The staff can help you arrange transportation/tours if you like. It cost around $8 U.S. to take the taxi into the town of La Fortuna. The temperature was warm and humid here, unlike the Pacific coast which was much hotter, drier, and sunnier (but looked more like desert than rainforest). This was a great spot to tour the Arenal area from. We took 3 tours: the Arenal Oasis Wildlife Refuge night tour, the Hanging Bridges early morning birdwatching tour, and the Cano Negro boat tour. It was a 3-hr drive from San Jose airport by private shuttle. Cons:The volcano is often partly or fully enshrouded in cloud, so you may not get to see the top. Wifi signal was weak at times. The wooden lounge chairs weren't terribly comfortable. Other than these minor drawbacks, it was a wonderful, relaxing vacation spot!

Room Tip: Travel tip for the ladies: don't wear an underwire bra to the airport, unless you want to buzz l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Montrealersabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,684 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,138 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Property: Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing