We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am sitting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
Beaufort, SC
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“I am sitting”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I am sitting on the porch right now, so peaceful and content. Bugalos perfect,. If I had a complaint no place to unpack and put "stuff" but not an issue. Very convenient to anything you want to do in the area. Beautiful property. Hot springs pool wonderful, tonight raining, we spent several hours soaking. Food in restruant good. Bar by pool convenient. The staff makes the place special. I will come back. To difificut to go back on IPad...3 hot springs pools, a pool and a jacuzzi, you should not be disappointed. I believe best view of volcano, if the weather is right.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for taking some of your time to share your feedback with everyone. If you ever come back to Costa Rica again, we will be glad to have you and serve you. Our staff is committed to provide the clients the best service possible as our main priority is our client's satisfaction. Thank you very much for having chosen hotel El Silencio del Campo as one of your destinations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,502
    299
    42
    5
    4
See reviews for
684
830
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I was so glad I booked our stay at El Silencio. My group included 2 couples. The checkin was quick and we were provided all the information about the resort. We were able to park our car rental not too far from our cabin which was very convienient. The rooms are spacious and clean (flat screen TV, AC,& safe). There are also candles all over the King bedded rooms which created a romantic atmosphere. The property grounds are amazing!!! I never experienced such a large variety of floral and other plants during my 7 day stay in Costa Rica. We loved ending our day in the hot springs which is private for hotel guests only. Relaxation at it's finest. One evening we stopped in at the Baldi Hot Springs hotels and there were bus loads of people tromping around their hotel's lobby and hot springs. We were happy we were at El Silencio. I have been in the travel industry for over 25 years and I can say our stay here was absolutely perfect. I would definitely recommend this property especially for honeymoons looking for a reasonably priced hotel. We did not have dinner here but went up the road around a mile to Benedictus' Restaurant which is a must during a visit to the Arenal area.

Room Tip: request a room between pool and hot springs area for a central location
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytrais2you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for providing us with your comments based on your experience at our hotel. Next trip you make it to Costa Rica, we hope you can give us another opportunity to serve you again. Thank you very much for being part of El Silencio del Campo family. We are pleased to hear that your stay was memorable. Thank you for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with wife:

Pros

-Fantastic roomy bungalow
-Great views of volcano (when its clear)
-Arenal has a lot going on
-Very private thermal spas for guests only

Cons:
-Night food options weren't great

Would definitely recommend for couples

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank j e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for having chosen us as one of your destinations to come stay and relax.
We are glad to know that your enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments very much. However, we are sad to know that you didn't enjoy your dinner. We already let know the kitchen about this issue. We actually released another menú with more food options for our future guests.
We would loved to know more about your case as service in our main priority. We will be glad to hear from you soon. Please feel free to email us at info@hotelsilenciodelcampo.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We loved this place. It has been build up in harmony with nature. The owners are ticos. We went with the plan to only use the hotel for sleeping and go to Tabacon for the pools and when we visited the hot pools we did not move anywhere. The whole place is lovely and the plants had been placed with so much taste. There is ilang-ilang trees everywhere so the smell accompany your steps all the time.
The rooms are individuals wood houses and are very welcoming and the mattress is one of the best we had sleep on.
The food is tasty and there are stars fruits for free, there are trees also everywhere, just reach out and grab.
If your practice yoga the pools area are one of the best spots I have ever practiced. In the early morning there is no one and your mantras are the birds and the running water.
One of the best part for my kids was the hotel farm. My girls milked a cow and drink fresh milk right away. It was an awesome experience for them. At noon the kids can also go and collect the eggs with the farmer.
So, don't be fooled by expensive prices, expecting you will get the best if you put the money. That is why TripAdvisor exist, for us to help each others to spend great vacations and also to help local people that are committed to service and offer the best their country can offer, with love and respect for nature. This hotel is a jewel and we will come back for sure.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomadjeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so happy to know that you enjoyed very much your stay and everything that our hotel has to offer. Our staff is committed to provide the best experience as posible so you can have a pleasant and memorable stay.
We are glad to learn that our staff was able to meet your expectations in all sense. If you ever return to Costa Rica, we are hoping you give us another opportunity to serve you. Thank you very much for choosing as one of your destinations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Just as everyone says this place is great. Fantastic view of Arenol volcano from the grounds. The spa is wonderful. Best bed we stayed in out of 4 hotels. Its the staff I want to brag about.Although this wasn't my priority while in Costa Rica, our Red Sox were in the final games of the world series and we had 3 couples, 2 of which were fans and wanted to see the game. The staff found a tv and brought it to the bar so we could watch the game. We asked about it when we checked in fairly late at night, then left for a 9 hour excursion the next morning. They had to scour the internet to try and find what channel and what game it was that we wanted to see, AND THEY DID! It was all set up by the time we got back and we comfortably ate dinner and hung out at the bar for the game. Every single staff member we encountered here went out of their way on a daily basis to accommodate us and we are so thankful to them for making our trip so memorable.

Room Tip: chose which is more important, close to hot springs and bar or lobby and restaurant. Otherwise all a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJtravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are glad to learn that our sfaff went out of their way to make your stay pleasant and memorable. Thank you very much for providing us with your input based on your stay at our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future. It was a pleasure to have you as´part of El Silencio del Campo Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, FLorida
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We have been to this lovely resort 4 times in the last 10 years and it only keeps getting better! You are greeted as a welcome guest with a cool drink, and Johnny who works there still remembered me from two years ago. Umberto was so nice to us during our stay as was Diego and Herman in the restaurant. The grounds are just as beautifully landscaped as before but now instead of just the one big hot spring there are now 4 new private and secluded hot springs with various degrees of hot water that were so enjoyable with a nice cool drink from the bar. The drinks were even better than before! The restaurant chef had just changed while we got there and his cream cheese and basil spread for the brown bread was a delight! Our room was nice and cool with A/C, wifi in the rooms and robes for use were great. I also loved my free facial at the new and improved spa which is gorgeous. You can hear the water tinkeling into the stream from the open air spa facility which made it even more relaxing. The staff there are both pleasant and proffessional. We love the fact that there is fruit put out in the morning and lots of honeycreepers, tanangers and colorful birds arrive to eat their breakfast as you eat yours. Thursday we were able to get a nice clear picture of the Volcano with the gorgeous bouganvilla in the forefront.This is my favorite place to stay in all of Costa Rica and we will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKelleyFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for having chosen us our property again and for commenting your experience with all of us based on your recent stay at our hotel. We work hard every day so our clients have a pleasant stay with us. We all felt honored to have you both back for a fourth time. Thank you very much for your preference. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future perhaps in a year or two.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Our stay at Hotel El Silencio was fantastic. The rooms (they're actually separate little villas) are beautiful, the staff are friendly, and the hot springs on the property are the perfect way to end every day. The hot springs and most of the rooms are set back from the road, so they're quiet and relaxing. We saw parrots, toucans, and several other beautiful birds right on the hotel property. When one of the staff members asked what could be improved, I honestly couldn't think of one thing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for making your comments based on your recent stay at our hotel. We want to thank you for choosing our property as your destination in Arenal during your visit to Costa Rica. If you ever return to Costa Rica, we are hoping you can give us another opportunity to serve you again. We are looking forward to seeing you again sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,269 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,858 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,403 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,822 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Property: Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing