We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Perfect place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

El Silencio del Campo was so much more than my husband and I could have expected. We had such a great relaxing time here and wished we had stayed for more than 2 nights! Here are a couple of things that truly made this the perfect place to stay:

1. The property is beautiful!! Every morning we would take a walk around the property just to see all of the exotic plants and birds. There are plenty of areas to go explore around the spa and the hot springs. The staff has done a great job on all of the landscaping and keep everything perfectly maintained.

2. The bungalows are great. I do not think the photos online really do them justice, they were better than I expected. Very spacious,very high ceilings, a nice walk-in shower in the bathroom and once again the staff kept the rooms very nice and clean.

3. What really blew us away was the staff. They were all absolutely wonderful and worked so hard to make sure every guest feels welcome and is always comfortable! This hotel is small enough that they can remember everyone's name and have a chance to get to know you and help you to have the best experience possible. Elio was very helpful and always smiling at the front desk ready to help you plan excursions, transportation, spa etc. Jose at the bar was extremely friendly and hardworking. He was working at the bar our first night, served us breakfast the next morning and was back at the bar that same night, always with a smile and always happy to see us. You can tell every staff member truly cares for their guest and wants to make sure every one is happy!

I would absolutely recommend this hotel over other more expensive options in the area. I was unsure what to expect when I booked the trip, but I am so glad we chose what we did. They really go above and beyond to make your trip special!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for taking some of your time to provide us with your input based on your recent experience at our hotel. We are so glad to hear our staff met your expectations and went beyond. Our goal is to make sure our client is well taken care of and that's the goal we work for every day to ensure our client's satistaction. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,334
    275
    38
    5
    4
See reviews for
593
745
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed for three nights and I feel blessed to have experienced this place. Everyone(!) was warm and welcoming, and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. They were informative, helpful, and made sure we were happy at every turn. The cottage was exceptional and extremely clean, and the grounds were picture perfect. Waking in an ultra comfortable bed to the sounds of nature was a bit of heaven. I had the opportunity to have a volcanic mud facial and it was one of the best facials ever! I can't wait to recommend this hotel to everyone I know who is planning a trip to Costa Rica!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks very much for your opinion in regards to your stay at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that our staff took care well of your needs. If you ever return, do not forget that our hotel will be glad to serve you again. Thanks again for having chosen our property as your destination to come stay and relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed six days in the rainy season. It rained only about an hour or two a day and was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds are beautiful, individual cabins, numerous springs, great restaurant, and farm to visit. This is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Felix G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank your very much for making your comments based on your experience at our hotel. We are glad to learn that you had a memorable experience. We are looking forward to seeing you again in a near future. Thank you a million for your preference!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amstelveen
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for three nights and enjoyed it very much. When we arrived they were drilling for a new well and we were afraid of the noise. In the end we had our cabin on the other side if the hotel and did not hear a thing.

Staff was friendly specially at the bar. Rooms were spacious and clean. People have been writing about the view spoiled by the hotel next door... It did not bother us at all, most of the hotel is covered by now by high vegetation.

Most special was the bottle of champagne in a cooler decorated with the most amazing flowers on our last night to celebrate our honeymoon! Very very thoughtful!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WouterAmstelveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We just read your opinion and are very glad to know that the noise and the hotel next door didn't bother you at all. Just to clarify, the well that was being drilled when you arrive is NOT ours and belongs to another hotel next to ours.
Thank you very much for the nice comments about the service delivered and the little detail we put in your room for the last night. We also wanted to commemorate that special occasion with you.
Thank you for having chosen our property as one of your destinations and for being part of El Silencio del Campo family for a few days. Look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service in reception with Claret and in the Bar with Jose, both pointed out very well the location, attractions and anything we asked! Definitely the place to stay near Volcan El Arenal! Hotel room was incredible clean and the beds were also highly comfortable, food was impressive, I personally recommend the soups and pastas.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DasOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We all want to thank you for sharing with all of us your beautiful comments based on your recent stay. Thank you very much for choosing us and letting us serve you. Our staff is happy to know that you were happy with everything througout all your stay. If in a near future something brings you back, we are hoping you give us another opportunity to have you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My two sisters and I (ages 36-22) stayed for 3 nights at El Silencio del Campo at the end of a 10 day trip through Nicaragua and Costa Rica in August 2013. We loved the town of La Fortuna were not disappointed in any way by El Silencio. The room (bungalow #12) had direct views from its front door of Volcan Arenal. That in itself was spectacular. The rooms are private, free-standing bungalows each with a private patio area. Our room was very large and clean; we loved how they left animal shaped towels on the bed every day. Added to the views were the amazing grounds - it is like a private oasis, very quiet (where we were towards the back of the property) and surrounded by beautifully manicured tropical plants that lure many types of birds (hummingbirds!). We went in the hot springs every day at least once (if not more than once) and found them to be very well maintained and relaxing. The hotel is very close to one of the public hot springs in town and compared to the line-up of cars and the crowds that would have been associated with that, we often found ourselves completely alone in the various pools. Breakfast was delicious and dinner was quite good as well on the night that we tried it. They serve eggs sourced from the farm directly on the property. The hotel was offering a free volcanic mud facial to guests when we visited. I thought the treatment and the grounds of the spa were great as well. Last positive comment was the service - we were leaving very early on our last morning planning to be on the road before breakfast would be served. When the front desk learned of this they prepared a to go breakfast for us of fresh fruits and breads for us to take on the road. Such a great last touch to a wonderful stay. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher numbered bungalows are towards the back of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sta617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your beautiful and candid review. We all enjoyed reading your review, very detailed which points out every area of the hotel and what we have to offer.
We are thirlled to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that our team was able to meet your expectations. Your opinion is very important for us and we appreciate very much your contribution. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was our favorite hotel of our whole 12 day trip in Costa Rica. The bungalows were large and beautiful. We had a very comfortable king size bed and large walk- in shower. Beautiful wood inside with a wonderful porch to enjoy your morning coffee.

Breakfast was wonderful with great tropical fruit plate and farm fresh eggs from the farm located right on the hotel grounds. Dinner was a little overpriced and not quite as good as some of the local restaurants but the managers of the restaurant were out of town so maybe this made a difference. The staff was very accommodating though and did all that they could to please.

Hot springs were so wonderful with varying degrees of Hot pools and a cold plunge. Nice bar area with a friendly bartender. We enjoyed some great tropical drinks while enjoying our soak.

My sister and I enjoyed our free volcanic mud facial (one per room). Not only was it a facial but included a nice shoulder, arm and hand massage. The young lady was so nice and made sure we had a relaxing time even if she has hands made of steel! My sister and I booked 2 time slots as she was the only one working as it was low season but she brought us both in together and then just worked a little on each one of us so we could be together. Don't miss this.

The whole grounds are so beautiful and well maintained. We has planned a "free" night with no advance reservations as we were going to start our drive to Manuel Antonio but we loved it here so much we could not bear to leave and so stayed another night.

A big thank you to the front desk staff!!!! All were friendly and helpful and do everything they could to make your stay wonderful. Thanks to Eylin and Clareth for helping with booking tours and a big big thanks to Eliomar who was so great and taught my husband how to got gas for the car!!

Incidentally, ignore that big eyesore of a hotel next door and remember that they are paying twice as much as you are but you are enjoying your stay at El Silencio 10 times as much!!!

PS: Don't be afraid of the low rainy season. Very low crowds and we had the hot springs almost to ourselves. Every day started out sunny, the clouds would build in the afternoon but not once in 12 days did we get rain for any of our activities. Some nights we had wonderful refreshing storms but it makes everything so green!! Would give up some rainy times for the low crowds and great low season prices!!

Room Tip: The higher number cabins in the back of the property are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keystonerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so happy to hear that you had a lovely stay. Thanks very much for having considered us your favorite destination. We are glad to know that we were able to meet your hotel expectations throughout your stay. We want to thank you for sharing your comments with all of us and letting us serve you. if you ever make it to this beautiful country again, we are all hoping you give us another opportunity to be your place to come relax.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,278 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,966 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 2,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,839 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#4 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Property: Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing