We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$200
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$474
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$245
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$107
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$124
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$113
$79
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$553
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,037)
Filter reviews
2,037 results
Traveler rating
1,662
319
45
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,662
319
45
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree facialhot springssmall farmcosta ricamilk the cowscollect eggsindividual cabinsgrounds are beautifularenal areafresh fruithot poolsthe cottagesprivate hot springfront porchevery morningspring poolsregular pool
Filter
Updating list...
927 - 932 of 2,037 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for three nights and enjoyed it very much. When we arrived they were drilling for a new well and we were afraid of the noise. In the end we had our cabin on the other side if the hotel and did not hear a thing.

Staff was friendly specially at the bar. Rooms were spacious and clean. People have been writing about the view spoiled by the hotel next door... It did not bother us at all, most of the hotel is covered by now by high vegetation.

Most special was the bottle of champagne in a cooler decorated with the most amazing flowers on our last night to celebrate our honeymoon! Very very thoughtful!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank WouterAmstelveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We just read your opinion and are very glad to know that the noise and the hotel next door didn't bother you at all. Just to clarify, the well that was being drilled when you arrive is NOT ours and belongs to another hotel next to ours.
Thank you very much for the nice comments about the service delivered and the little detail we put in your room for the last night. We also wanted to commemorate that special occasion with you.
Thank you for having chosen our property as one of your destinations and for being part of El Silencio del Campo family for a few days. Look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service in reception with Claret and in the Bar with Jose, both pointed out very well the location, attractions and anything we asked! Definitely the place to stay near Volcan El Arenal! Hotel room was incredible clean and the beds were also highly comfortable, food was impressive, I personally recommend the soups and pastas.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DasOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We all want to thank you for sharing with all of us your beautiful comments based on your recent stay. Thank you very much for choosing us and letting us serve you. Our staff is happy to know that you were happy with everything througout all your stay. If in a near future something brings you back, we are hoping you give us another opportunity to have you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My two sisters and I (ages 36-22) stayed for 3 nights at El Silencio del Campo at the end of a 10 day trip through Nicaragua and Costa Rica in August 2013. We loved the town of La Fortuna were not disappointed in any way by El Silencio. The room (bungalow #12) had direct views from its front door of Volcan Arenal. That in itself was spectacular. The rooms are private, free-standing bungalows each with a private patio area. Our room was very large and clean; we loved how they left animal shaped towels on the bed every day. Added to the views were the amazing grounds - it is like a private oasis, very quiet (where we were towards the back of the property) and surrounded by beautifully manicured tropical plants that lure many types of birds (hummingbirds!). We went in the hot springs every day at least once (if not more than once) and found them to be very well maintained and relaxing. The hotel is very close to one of the public hot springs in town and compared to the line-up of cars and the crowds that would have been associated with that, we often found ourselves completely alone in the various pools. Breakfast was delicious and dinner was quite good as well on the night that we tried it. They serve eggs sourced from the farm directly on the property. The hotel was offering a free volcanic mud facial to guests when we visited. I thought the treatment and the grounds of the spa were great as well. Last positive comment was the service - we were leaving very early on our last morning planning to be on the road before breakfast would be served. When the front desk learned of this they prepared a to go breakfast for us of fresh fruits and breads for us to take on the road. Such a great last touch to a wonderful stay. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher numbered bungalows are towards the back of the property
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sta617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your beautiful and candid review. We all enjoyed reading your review, very detailed which points out every area of the hotel and what we have to offer.
We are thirlled to learn that you enjoyed your stay and that our team was able to meet your expectations. Your opinion is very important for us and we appreciate very much your contribution. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was our favorite hotel of our whole 12 day trip in Costa Rica. The bungalows were large and beautiful. We had a very comfortable king size bed and large walk- in shower. Beautiful wood inside with a wonderful porch to enjoy your morning coffee.

Breakfast was wonderful with great tropical fruit plate and farm fresh eggs from the farm located right on the hotel grounds. Dinner was a little overpriced and not quite as good as some of the local restaurants but the managers of the restaurant were out of town so maybe this made a difference. The staff was very accommodating though and did all that they could to please.

Hot springs were so wonderful with varying degrees of Hot pools and a cold plunge. Nice bar area with a friendly bartender. We enjoyed some great tropical drinks while enjoying our soak.

My sister and I enjoyed our free volcanic mud facial (one per room). Not only was it a facial but included a nice shoulder, arm and hand massage. The young lady was so nice and made sure we had a relaxing time even if she has hands made of steel! My sister and I booked 2 time slots as she was the only one working as it was low season but she brought us both in together and then just worked a little on each one of us so we could be together. Don't miss this.

The whole grounds are so beautiful and well maintained. We has planned a "free" night with no advance reservations as we were going to start our drive to Manuel Antonio but we loved it here so much we could not bear to leave and so stayed another night.

A big thank you to the front desk staff!!!! All were friendly and helpful and do everything they could to make your stay wonderful. Thanks to Eylin and Clareth for helping with booking tours and a big big thanks to Eliomar who was so great and taught my husband how to got gas for the car!!

Incidentally, ignore that big eyesore of a hotel next door and remember that they are paying twice as much as you are but you are enjoying your stay at El Silencio 10 times as much!!!

PS: Don't be afraid of the low rainy season. Very low crowds and we had the hot springs almost to ourselves. Every day started out sunny, the clouds would build in the afternoon but not once in 12 days did we get rain for any of our activities. Some nights we had wonderful refreshing storms but it makes everything so green!! Would give up some rainy times for the low crowds and great low season prices!!

Room Tip: The higher number cabins in the back of the property are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keystonerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We are so happy to hear that you had a lovely stay. Thanks very much for having considered us your favorite destination. We are glad to know that we were able to meet your hotel expectations throughout your stay. We want to thank you for sharing your comments with all of us and letting us serve you. if you ever make it to this beautiful country again, we are all hoping you give us another opportunity to be your place to come relax.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We hired a car at the Avis Aeropuerto (which isn't really at the airport..ha) in San Jose and drove the very windy roads to La Fortuna. Thank God for GPS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! There are no shoulders on the roads, few markers to state what the road is, and so it is pretty intense, especially when navigating around trucks on corners.
It is a very pretty drive though...and thankfully not too long..about 3-4 hours, depending on how lost you get.
Arenal Volcano was covered in clouds when we arrived, but the hotel and its grounds made up for that. Next door is a monstrous hotel, which I was hoping was not what I had booked into. Thankfully El silencio was more our style.
Cute little cabins...very clean, spacious...and extremely well maintained. Beautiful grounds and gardens, which attracted lots of birds, lizards, and even a roosting bat under a banana leaf etc. And the perk of the hot springs pools at the back of the hotel...which were lovely...some pools were hotter than others...and it was nice to try them all.
Our cabanas were not ready, as we had arrived early...so we wandered the grounds...then the bar tender opened the hot pool bar...and we relaxed with our feet in a pool.
We had a wonderful lunch...marvelous service...great tasty food...nice to be able to put that all on our room bill.
Rooms were ready...so we settled in...then spent some serious time in the hot pools.
We had prearranged with El Silencio to go with Canoa Aventura on an Arenal hike, then to Tabacon hot springs for an evening in hot water...and a buffet...I will do that review next. That was all arranged for us, and we were given a sale price as a bonus!! Know that it was a great experience...the guide was terrific and Tabacon was amazing. Was nice that the hotel could arrange that for us.
Breakfast at El Silencio was just as good as lunch...very professional people.
Someone had kindly placed banana sections out on a dead bush in front of the open air restaurant...so we dined as we watch all the birds feed. Great fun.
Arenal Volcano showed itself in fine form this am...and we watched until the hairnet of clouds concealed the peak...wonderful.
Would so encourage people to visit this fine hotel...staff was terrfic and helpful. Stay was lovely.

Room Tip: away from the road...but all cabanas are quiet as this place is out of the town
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mokinator10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your beautiful comments. Our staff is glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Our main priority is always the clients' satisfaction. That's the goal we work for every day.Thanks a million for having chosen our property as your destination to come stay and relax. it was a pleasure to serve you. Look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews