We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Nearby Hotels
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$152
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$158
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$292
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$114
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$240
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $214/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$241
$154
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$200
$157
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$332
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,008)
Filter reviews
2,008 results
Traveler rating
1,634
318
45
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,634
318
45
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree facialhot springsrecommend elsmall farmcosta ricamilk the cowscollect eggsindividual cabinsbeautiful groundsarenal areafresh fruithot poolsthe cottagesprivate hot springspring poolsfront porchevery morning
Filter
Updating list...
909 - 914 of 2,008 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Must admit, I felt a bit disappointed having not booked the Nayarra and having had to go there en route to our drop off to Silencio.

However, this is a great hotel! The rooms/cabins are spacious and well maintained. The bathroom was a little tired.

Breakfast was good and dinner too, with great service, however the was a lack of atmosphere, but this likely due to our "out of season" visit and some heavy showers in the evening. For our early tour, breakfast was arranged in advance which was nice. The chap at reception was also super firendly interms of arranging tours and helping us with crossing the border in Nica.

The hot springs are brilliant and were a great retreat at the end of the day. I like the way the tours were added to our bill so we could pay by card at the end of our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RSC838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
We appreciate the time you invested to make your comments. That's really helpful and necessary to keep improving our service. We are kind of sad for not having fully met your expectations as our main priority is our clients' satisfaction. We are hoping you can take us into consideration again for a future visit to Costa Rica. Again, thank you a lot for your comments as we will take those into consideration.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I found the privately owned Hotel El Silencio del Campo on Trip Advisor, read the reviews and booked a four night stay having never been to Costa Rica, La Fortuna or the Arenal Volcano area. After a week and a half of surfing on the Guanacaste coast, arriving at Hotel El Silencio del Campo was like stepping into an oasis of comfort and relaxation. The individual cabins had wonderful beds and quality linens. The restaurant area was lovely and the amazing food and staff treated each and every guest like they are in a private home. The first morning at breakfast I noticed the gardeners working under the very detailed direction from someone who cares deeply about the native plants and the gardens that surround the hotel, volcanic pools and surrounding property ... the gardens are a wonderland and you can see and feel the the pride and care that the owners (who live onsite) provide to their guests. The spa and massage I had was out of this world and the impeccably kept hotspring pools are other worldly. Do not stay at one of the larger hotels ,,, this one is authentic and a must visit!!! We loved it and will be back.

Room Tip: Any of the cabins in the middle or in the back of the property by the spa are lovely! All are positioned to be very private and quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thanks very much for having chosen our property as one of your destinations for vacationing and for having shared your opinion with all of us based on your recent stay. We are glad to know that we fully met your hotel expectations. We loved the way you described your experience and everything our hotel has to offer to the clients. Look forward to welcoming you again in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

For a twenty-something couple looking for relaxing lodging in a town full of places to have adventurous activities during the day, Hotel Silencio del Campo was the perfect choice! It is located too far out of the town of La Fortuna to walk, but it would be an easy drive and cabbing was fairly inexpensive. Each room is a stand-alone cabina. The outside appears rustic and charming, while the inside has all of the amenities of an upgraded and classy modern hotel room. As per others' suggestions to request a high number cabina to be further away from the street, we were placed in cabin 17. Although you cannot see the volcano from inside the room, open the front door and there she is! There was a nice table on the front "patio" to sip coffee and watch the clouds pass over the volcano. (note: when we first arrived I was certain that cabin 18 had THE BEST view. But ours was GREAT too!). The friendly staff at this resort made this trip especially memorable (special shout out to Jose at the pool bar). The included breakfast had limited options, but was very nice to look forward to. Each day started with a fruit platter, juice, coffee, and water. Then an entree of moderate portion, all while we admired the beautiful birds that have a feast on papaya and banana just outside the open air restaurant. The natural hot springs (no water treatment! = no burning eyes!) were near the back of the property (approximately 6 of varying temperatures). Very relaxing given their surroundings of lush tropical flora, with some occasional fauna! We also took advantage of the free mud facial treatment and were offered a discount on a second service, so my partner had a very lovely massage. The spa area has two additional hot springs that really added to the experience. Since we traveled during low season, we pretty much felt that we had the resort to ourselves the entire trip. We only saw people at the pool 3 times out of our many visits. The spa was empty when we had our treatments. The restaurant only ever had 2 other tables occupied while we ate. Although we heard that the downside to low season travel is that you may never see the top of the volcano, we took pictures every day thinking "this is as good as it's going to get..!" and then it just kept getting better!! PURA VIDA! (Consider discussing your travel plans with Nikki at PuraVidaEh.com to rece(ive discounts and further suggestions! - we did and she was fabulous!)

Room Tip: As per others' suggestions to request a high number cabina to be further away from the street, we were placed in cabin 17. Although you cannot see the volcano from inside the room, open the front door and there she is! There was a nice table on the front "patio" to sip coffee and watch the clouds pass over the volcano. (note: when we first arrived I was certain that cabin 18 had THE BEST view. But ours was GREAT too!).
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kristinbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for the detailed review. We appreciate your opinion very much. We are all glad to know that you enjoyed your visit and that our staff made all possible so you got a nice experience. If you ever return to Costa Rica, we are hoping you can give us another opportunity to serve you. it will be a pleasure to host you again in the future. Thanks a million for being part of El Silencio del Campo family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I loved staying at this hotel and stayed here for four nights. It was almost like having you're own house, every family or person had their own cabin to stay in. It was included with breakfast every morning which was delicious and came with yummy fresh fruit. There were also hot springs with different temperatures of the volcano. There was a bar where you could get non virgin or virgin cocktails. Lovely service everyone was very helpful and kind for our stay. It was a bit expensive but it was worth it for this lovely hotel. I went to the spa for a pedicure with my mother and we both enjoyed it, it was very relaxing and peaceful I would defiantly come back!!!!!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your input based on your recent stay at our hotel. it was a pleasure for us to have you in our hotel. Hopefully you come visit us next time you make it to Costa Rica. Our team is glad to know that you had a pleasant stay. Look forward to seeing you in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We loved our stay here! When we arrived at Hotel El Silencio Del Campo, we were welcomed by the reception with 4 frozen fruity drinks! After the hot drive in from San Jose, it was one of those times, where you just couldn’t imagine anything tasting better! I took advantage of their free facial they offer (for those who might also want to take advantage of this, know you have to have the facial done on the day of your arrival or the very next day). I chose to have it that very evening, and wow, what a welcome to paradise!

Breakfast was included in our stay and they offered about 6 options (which were constant) throughout our stay. Between the four of us, we tried everything on the menu, and found it all to be wonderfully and deliciously prepared. We couldn’t have asked for more, including our super great waiter, Junior. He was so attentive and kind. I had made up travel journals for our daughters to work on during our trip, and for my oldest daughter included a “Be a Reporter” section were she had a list of questions to ask about Costa Rica (i.e. What three colors are in the Costa Rican flag?) to someone we encountered during our day. Junior was eager each morning to answer her questions about his home. He was a true example of wonderful hospitality.

We went to the hot springs (some cold, some warm, and some hot) at the hotel every night we were there – the children love swimming, and for all of us it was a great way to relax from our full day’s adventure, and take in the night time sounds and sights (keep your eyes peeled for the fireflies).

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, and indeed hope we get the chance to return someday! After two different stays in La Fortuna I am still waiting to see the volcano completely unobstructed, without the clouds! :)

Room Tip: We followed the advice of others and requested a high number room to be away from the road. We were in #15 if I recall, and didn't hear anything other than the nature that surrounded us.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coryandcarissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Gerente at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate very much the time you took to share your experience based on your recent hotel stay. It was a pleasure to have you and your family in our hotel. Thank you for your detailed and great review. We are happy to know that our team took care of all your needs and that you had a pleasant stay. That's the goal we work for every day. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future. Thank you for being part of El Silencio del Campo family and for choosing us!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews