We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Nearby Hotels
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$177
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Kioro Suites & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$114
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$407
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $215/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$120
$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$241
$168
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$332
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$293
$256
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$200
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,010)
Filter reviews
2,010 results
Traveler rating
1,636
318
45
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,636
318
45
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree facialhot springsrecommend elsmall farmcosta ricamilk the cowscollect eggsindividual cabinsbeautiful groundsarenal areafresh fruithot poolsthe cottagesprivate hot springspring poolsfront porchevery morning
Filter
Updating list...
913 - 918 of 2,010 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2013

For a twenty-something couple looking for relaxing lodging in a town full of places to have adventurous activities during the day, Hotel Silencio del Campo was the perfect choice! It is located too far out of the town of La Fortuna to walk, but it would be an easy drive and cabbing was fairly inexpensive. Each room is a stand-alone cabina. The outside appears rustic and charming, while the inside has all of the amenities of an upgraded and classy modern hotel room. As per others' suggestions to request a high number cabina to be further away from the street, we were placed in cabin 17. Although you cannot see the volcano from inside the room, open the front door and there she is! There was a nice table on the front "patio" to sip coffee and watch the clouds pass over the volcano. (note: when we first arrived I was certain that cabin 18 had THE BEST view. But ours was GREAT too!). The friendly staff at this resort made this trip especially memorable (special shout out to Jose at the pool bar). The included breakfast had limited options, but was very nice to look forward to. Each day started with a fruit platter, juice, coffee, and water. Then an entree of moderate portion, all while we admired the beautiful birds that have a feast on papaya and banana just outside the open air restaurant. The natural hot springs (no water treatment! = no burning eyes!) were near the back of the property (approximately 6 of varying temperatures). Very relaxing given their surroundings of lush tropical flora, with some occasional fauna! We also took advantage of the free mud facial treatment and were offered a discount on a second service, so my partner had a very lovely massage. The spa area has two additional hot springs that really added to the experience. Since we traveled during low season, we pretty much felt that we had the resort to ourselves the entire trip. We only saw people at the pool 3 times out of our many visits. The spa was empty when we had our treatments. The restaurant only ever had 2 other tables occupied while we ate. Although we heard that the downside to low season travel is that you may never see the top of the volcano, we took pictures every day thinking "this is as good as it's going to get..!" and then it just kept getting better!! PURA VIDA! (Consider discussing your travel plans with Nikki at PuraVidaEh.com to rece(ive discounts and further suggestions! - we did and she was fabulous!)

Room Tip: As per others' suggestions to request a high number cabina to be further away from the street, we were placed in cabin 17. Although you cannot see the volcano from inside the room, open the front door and there she is! There was a nice table on the front "patio" to sip coffee and watch the clouds pass over the volcano. (note: when we first arrived I was certain that cabin 18 had THE BEST view. But ours was GREAT too!).
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kristinbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for the detailed review. We appreciate your opinion very much. We are all glad to know that you enjoyed your visit and that our staff made all possible so you got a nice experience. If you ever return to Costa Rica, we are hoping you can give us another opportunity to serve you. it will be a pleasure to host you again in the future. Thanks a million for being part of El Silencio del Campo family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I loved staying at this hotel and stayed here for four nights. It was almost like having you're own house, every family or person had their own cabin to stay in. It was included with breakfast every morning which was delicious and came with yummy fresh fruit. There were also hot springs with different temperatures of the volcano. There was a bar where you could get non virgin or virgin cocktails. Lovely service everyone was very helpful and kind for our stay. It was a bit expensive but it was worth it for this lovely hotel. I went to the spa for a pedicure with my mother and we both enjoyed it, it was very relaxing and peaceful I would defiantly come back!!!!!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your input based on your recent stay at our hotel. it was a pleasure for us to have you in our hotel. Hopefully you come visit us next time you make it to Costa Rica. Our team is glad to know that you had a pleasant stay. Look forward to seeing you in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We loved our stay here! When we arrived at Hotel El Silencio Del Campo, we were welcomed by the reception with 4 frozen fruity drinks! After the hot drive in from San Jose, it was one of those times, where you just couldn’t imagine anything tasting better! I took advantage of their free facial they offer (for those who might also want to take advantage of this, know you have to have the facial done on the day of your arrival or the very next day). I chose to have it that very evening, and wow, what a welcome to paradise!

Breakfast was included in our stay and they offered about 6 options (which were constant) throughout our stay. Between the four of us, we tried everything on the menu, and found it all to be wonderfully and deliciously prepared. We couldn’t have asked for more, including our super great waiter, Junior. He was so attentive and kind. I had made up travel journals for our daughters to work on during our trip, and for my oldest daughter included a “Be a Reporter” section were she had a list of questions to ask about Costa Rica (i.e. What three colors are in the Costa Rican flag?) to someone we encountered during our day. Junior was eager each morning to answer her questions about his home. He was a true example of wonderful hospitality.

We went to the hot springs (some cold, some warm, and some hot) at the hotel every night we were there – the children love swimming, and for all of us it was a great way to relax from our full day’s adventure, and take in the night time sounds and sights (keep your eyes peeled for the fireflies).

We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, and indeed hope we get the chance to return someday! After two different stays in La Fortuna I am still waiting to see the volcano completely unobstructed, without the clouds! :)

Room Tip: We followed the advice of others and requested a high number room to be away from the road. We were in #15 if I recall, and didn't hear anything other than the nature that surrounded us.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coryandcarissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Gerente at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
We appreciate very much the time you took to share your experience based on your recent hotel stay. It was a pleasure to have you and your family in our hotel. Thank you for your detailed and great review. We are happy to know that our team took care of all your needs and that you had a pleasant stay. That's the goal we work for every day. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in a near future. Thank you for being part of El Silencio del Campo family and for choosing us!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Service, room and hot springs were just beautiful. Rooms were really clean and tastefully decorated. Each cabin is separated enough from one another to offer privacy. The great part of this hotel are the hot springs, which have a beautiful design and have separately located pool areas always allowing privacy. Since there are not too many people you can be guaranteed to have your own pool. The breakfast included was just the right amount and in the property they grow their own cows and chickens, so the cheese you get in the morning is fresh. The garden is LOVELY and there is a great variety of plants everywhere.

My boyfriend and I have stayed here one night, but we want to go every 3/4 months just to relax and recharge energies.Highly recommended hotel for the price and everything this cozy hotel offers.

Room Tip: Cabins close by the hot springs :)
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thanks very much for your beautiful, candid review and for sharing your input with everyone. We are thrilled to know that you had a wonderful time. if you ever return to Costa Rica, we are hoping you give us another opportunity to serve you. Thank you so much for your comments and for choosing us as one of your destinations in Costa RIca. We are all here lookig forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel features a beautiful garden like a paradise where 24 villas (guest rooms), a reception house, a restaurant, pools, hot springs, a thermal spa, a jacuzzi, a bar, and a lotus pond are nicely placed with a wonderful view of Arenal Volcano (if the weather is good). But their guest rooms, especially bathrooms and their plumbing, need to be upgraded or improved. We stayed at room #3 and had some issues with the bathroom. For instance, we saw a sign on the bathroom door requesting guests to put toilet paper in a trash can instead of the toilet bowl, which we didn't felt very comfortable with. Then the toilet bowl got clogged (even with no toilet paper) and the floor was flooded. Also, hot water didn't come out (only warm water came out) of the shower, etc, etc. The restaurant was like a petit family restaurant - the foods were OK but not very impressive. People were very nice and friendly and we were happy with our stay overall.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkyagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews