We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, incredibly helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location, incredibly helpful staff”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Only spent 2 nights here, but the staff helped us plan an itinerary including ziplining and hiking around the volcano (which was amazing). We stayed in a villa, which there are around 15 or so and they look like mini lodges spread out over the property with the hot springs and spa in the back. You definitely have privacy from other villas, but with a family of 4, it was a little tight inside, even with 3 beds since it's really just one large room and a bathroom. The property was beautiful and quaint, and we took advantage of the hot springs whenever we had a break. To get into town was just an $8 cab ride or so, and there was a nice variety of restaurants in the area to check out. The park was great at night too. Oh, and the included breakfast was actually really good! The staff here really cared about making your trip awesome, and they really went out of the way to help us out. We booked a zipline trip for the 4 of us, but 2 of us chickened out at the top (600 feet above ground!) and had to come down, but they helped us get a decent refund at least. Overall, excellent place to relax, just don't try to cram too many people in the villas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ampedxc27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing with all of us your experience based on your hotel stay. Our hotel has a total of 23 villas. In the regular villas with two queen beds, we can accomodate maximum 4 people. Our separate units have one whole room with a porch facing the Arenal Volcano.

We are thrilled to learn that your had a wonderful time in our hotel and that our staff met your expectations. If you ever return to Costa Rica, we are hoping you give us another opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,472
    298
    42
    5
    4
See reviews for
666
819
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hotel Silencio was the perfect place to stay in Arenal. After seeing many of the hotels in the area, we were extremely happy with our choice. The staff was extremely professional and welcoming. The rooms were spacious and had a fantastic, large walk-in shower. Each of the private villas are spread out on the gorgeous property, and it was such a plus to have the hot springs right on site. The Tabacon springs were great (a major tourist destination), but we loved the beauty and privacy of Hotel Silencio's hot springs. The hotel is just a 5 minute ($6) taxi ride from the center of La Fortuna and is just a the base of the volcano. (A great view on a sunny day!!) Don't forget to order a fresh pina colada or nutty colada at the hotel bar (they were to die for!) If we ever have the pleasure of visiting La Fortuna again, we will definitely stay at Hotel Silencio again!

Room Tip: Villa 19 has it's own private porch with a jacuzzi! It's definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Our hotel staff is glad to tearn that you enjoyed your visit with us. Thanks very much for your words and candid review. We are looking forward to seeing you again next trip to Costa Rica.
A cab ride into town costs $8.00 approximately one way. The front desk will arrange it for you when you ask for one.
The distance to the Town of La Fortuna is 3 miles approx but not that safe to walk as there's not a sidewalk the first half way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Everything about our trip to El Silencio del Campo was great. The staff was knowledgable, helpful and very professional. The property is beautiful. The hot springs are awesome. We didn't even feel the need to pay to go to Tabacon Springs (a suggestion by many people) because our springs were so nice. The food was great. We had dinner twice there and breakfast everyday. The server staff was awesome and because its a small place you got to know everyone. We were there 5 nights so we had plenty if time to review them accurately. The rooms were like small cabins and we could see the volcano from our porch (when the clouds weren't covering). The spa was beautiful. Absolutely serene. We got a couples Swedish massage and we could hear thunder, birds and waterfalls. Very nice. I am used to a deep tissue massage so I probably should have choose that instead of Swedish because it was on the lighter side for pressure. Afterwards we were treated with a complimentary bottle of wine to drink in the private spa area with our very own hot spring pool. So relaxing! The only one thing I can suggest was the water temperature in the rooms be warmer. I like to take a warm/hot shower and it wasn't warm enough. Otherwise our stay was fantastic!!!! I would suggest this place over and over again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dew80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for the detailed review. If one day you decide to come to Costa Rica again, we will be pleased to serve you again.
We appreciate very much you let us know you had enjoyed your stay a lot. Our staff works very hard every day so you can have a pleasant stay. Besides saying thank you for choosing us, we also want to welcome your suggestions. Those are so helpful for us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Sitting at the foot of the Arenal volcano, El Silencio del Campo is a small, peaceful retreat. Rooms are actually separate cabins, each with 2 queen beds, vaulted ceilings, big windows to take in the views, and covered front porches with table and chairs offering an outdoor sitting area. The place is immaculately maintained with lush tropical landscaping. Winding walkways take you to the open air restaurant, pool, bar, and several hot springs. There's even a spa, and upon check-in we were offered a free mud mask treatment per cabin. Since we had 2 cabins, my teenage daughter was delighted she got to have her first spa treatment! There's free breakfast at the restaurant, offering the "typical" Costa Rican breakfast of eggs and rice&beans, or pancakes or omlettes. The restaurant hangs fruit from a small tree in front, so diners can enjoy the colorful birds that come to eat. We had dinner there the 1st night and it was good, too. Nothing special, but if you're too tired to go into town, it's a decent option. Loved everything about this place! It's outside of the town of La Fortuna, but if you don't have a car, the reception area will call a cab for you which was approximately $7 each way. I know a few reviewers mentioned the big hotel next door being an eyesore. Our cabin was right near it, and honestly it didn't distract us at all. There's so much landscaping, and so many beautiful flower and birds to look at you don't even know it's there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenInTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your nice comments with all of us based on your recent stay at our hotel. It's very pleasant to learn that you had a great time and that you enjoyed all the services offered by our hotel during your stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you again next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have stayed here five times and really like the rooms, breakfast and service. They have new pools to use at the bottom of the resort. Jose was a lot of fun and everybody at the hotel are so friendly and fun. On out next adventure we will stay at Silencio again for sure! Thanks for a great four days!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,
We will keep feeling honored to have you again. Thanks very much for your preference and taking a few minutes of your time to share your experience with everyone. If you have any suggestions, we will appreciate very much if you write us an email. We are looking forward to your next visit and to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Biscayne, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this wonderful hotel at the end of June. We were two adults and two teen age boys. I felt compelled to write this review now even though it is late because our stay here left such a lasting impression on us all - we still talk about El Silencio often! The property is simply lovely, the well tended grounds, the footpaths, exotic plants and of course spectacular views of the Arenal Volcano. The casitas were comfortable, spacious and felt very private. The thermal pools were a big hit - very relaxing and again set in beautiful landscaping. We enjoyed the pools several times a day. The breakfast in the morning was always delicious - the fresh fruit was amazing!! Everyone on the staff was friendly and genuinely interested in ensuring their guests had a wonderful stay. A special shout out to Jose and Johnny - they were beyond nice and we loved chatting with them, about the area, Costa Rica and soccer! There is so much to do in Arenal and El Silencio is a perfect base for your exploration and post adventure unwinding!! (Just avoid looking at the horrendous hotel next door!)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your opinion based on your recent stay at our hotel. For our team was a truly pleasure to serve you. And we are happy to know that our staff assured you had a pleasant stay. We are all looking forward to seeing you back in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We rented three units for seven nights at this peaceful, charming, beautiful hotel. The staff were so friendly and willing to answer all our questions. The restaurant staff explained our meals and remembered from day to day how we liked our coffee and our favorite sauce for our complimentary breakfast meal. The bartender Jose was so friendly and easy to talk to. The office staff was helpful in every way possible. The winding walkways lined with beautiful flowers made us feel like we were in a serene vacation setting. I was amazed at how clean everything was, even the thermal pools! The little farm next door, where they get the fresh eggs for breakfast, even had friendly farmers. They invited our one year old granddaughter over to watch them milk the cows! We ate many meals in the restaurant and found the prices very comparable to the places we ate in town and the food was fabulous! Three people in our party had the complimentary facials and one person had a massage and we were all thrilled with the services in the spa.
I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SummerfunMapleGrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuisDiegoZuniga, Propietario at Hotel El Silencio del Campo, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
We want to thank you for taking a few minutes of your time to share your hotel experience. We are so happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay in every way. Our hotel staff works hard every day to ensure our clients a pleasant stay. If your family ever returns to Costa Rica, Hotel El Silencio del Campo will be thrilled to serve you again. Thanks very much for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,822 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,233 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,801 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,364 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Property: Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing