We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“This is a Best Buy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“This is a Best Buy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Before our visit to Costa Rica I eagerly read every TripAdvisor review as it appeared, trying to determine what Silencio del Campo was really like. And now I know. We stayed at Silencio del Campo March 9th through the 12th. You can look at the other reviews to hear what people thought. I will review the reviews. I agree with those who said: the grounds were more beautiful than pictured, the rooms are large and clean, the food was delicious and reasonably priced, the hot springs were amazing, the hotel staff was friendly, and the Royal Corin nearby did not obstruct the view. I don’t agree with anyone who reported a poor Internet connection. I facetimed a friend in the states, walking all around the grounds from the restaurant back to the hot springs, and retained the connection throughout. I agree with those who said the lighting in the rooms is poor, water pressure in shower weak, and water temperature in lukewarm. We got a couples massage’ and are split on the review. My husband liked his, mine was just okay. However, the complementary facial was terrific. The reviewer who recommended bringing a clock is correct. You can get a wake-up call, but we would have liked a clock in the room. One bit of advice, Silencio del Campo is in a rainforest so it is very damp, even when it is not raining. Bathing suits did not dry regardless of where we hung them, so bring more than one if you want a dry suit each day. My husband said Silencio del Campo is like a Consumer Reports best buy. I agree. You get a wonderful product, at a fair price, with the added bonus of the hot springs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveldaze247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,421
    290
    40
    5
    4
See reviews for
639
791
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a beautiful, well cared for resort complete with manicured lawns, concrete walkways and hot springs. The cabins are well appointed and the beds are comfortable. A short walk from the cabin will take you to the hot springs, pool, spa or dining area. The rooms include wifi, television, in-room coffee maker, small fridge and safe. The staff are courteous and very nice.

If your vacation dream trip includes all the comforts of home, this is the place.

We did find the cost to be a bit pricey, but soon realized that accommodations in resorts are generally costlier than otherwise. Access to the hot springs from 7 am to 11 pm certainly made things better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtlanticCanadaFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We are a family of 4(2 adults & kids ages 10, 16). We drove from Monteverde to La Fortuna. We stayed at El Silencio for 2 nights since we were unable to get reservations at Nayara Hotel for 4 nights. So we split our stay between El Silencio & Nayara. The check in here was smooth and the staff at the front desk was great. We had our welcome drinks and I was offered a free facial and I made an appointment right away. The free facial was great & very relaxing!
Grounds are beautiful and very clean but I was a little disappointed in the cabin that we stayed in. We stayed in cabin#24 which had a good volcano view but I think the room needs to be updated and the bathroom had some weird smell. I was slightly disappointed in their complimentary breakfast which now I might be comparing to Nayara which was phenomenal. It wasn't a buffet style but you can order one item from the menu which was omlette, rice, pancakes or toast. It is served with fruit platter and juice. I am a vegetarian so I ended up getting toast & butter and their coffee was just terrible. We chose to eat out for lunch & dinner since we wanted to explore the town. We had burritos & drinks one night by the thermal hot springs and that was great!

We really enjoyed their thermal hot springs and didn't feel the need to go to Tabacon Hot springs. If you just want the experience of hot springs the one on the property is pretty good. We went to see the Tabacon hot springs the next day to see if we wanted to buy tickets but we didn't think it was worth the money. But it's just an opinion since we took a glance at it and didn't actually experience it.
Eliomar at the front desk helped us in planning "Must Do's" and booked our ziplining and a couple other tours. He was just awesome! My kids loved the property and spent some time at the pool which wasn't too big but a decent size. There is a hotel built right in front which blocks some of the volcano view. Overall, its a great property for what you pay for and definitely great service.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhattgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was our first trip to Costa Rica. We spent our first three nights at the El Silencio del Campo. The hotel was great. Rooms were large and quiet individual free standing villas. The grounds were well kept and very pretty and had a quiet hot springs. The staff was very courteous. Breakfast was good. We ate one dinner and the food was excellent. It is close enough for a cheap cab to La Fortuna for other dinners. We enjoyed the area. The staff helped us book white water rafting & sky ziplines. We highly recommend both. My wife is a princess and she was a-ok with the hotel. We noticed a few large and crowded hotels in the area. We liked this one for its laid back feel .If we came back to the rain forest we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 445MarkR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a beautiful and very well maintained resort with gorgeous volcano views. The hot spring pools are super clean, and the restaurant is very decent. The bar has its weaknesses. The rooms are all separate bungalows, nicely done, and perfectly clean. The ones closer to the room may be a bit loud. The staff at the front desk is helpful and friendly. Even though we typically do not stay in resort-like places, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank german_in_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed there last march with my husband. Great place to stay, nice view, amazing staff. Room was perfect, pool, small hot springs, really recommand it. Too bad for the big hotel, the "neighbour", obstruction of the view a little bit, but all the rest was perfect! Not downtown, but that exactly what we wanted. Near, but not in the centre of the crowd.

Room Tip: Had no. 18, perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissSt-Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic. Great accommodations, beautiful hot springs, delicious restaurant, staff. Special memories for our family. TripAdvisor reviews were perfect on this special gem. Loved every minute! Highly recommend.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CinJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,629 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,100 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,682 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Property: Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing