We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
145 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a beautiful and very well maintained resort with gorgeous volcano views. The hot spring pools are super clean, and the restaurant is very decent. The bar has its weaknesses. The rooms are all separate bungalows, nicely done, and perfectly clean. The ones closer to the room may be a bit loud. The staff at the front desk is helpful and friendly. Even though we typically do not stay in resort-like places, we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank german_in_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,438
    293
    40
    5
    4
See reviews for
647
801
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed there last march with my husband. Great place to stay, nice view, amazing staff. Room was perfect, pool, small hot springs, really recommand it. Too bad for the big hotel, the "neighbour", obstruction of the view a little bit, but all the rest was perfect! Not downtown, but that exactly what we wanted. Near, but not in the centre of the crowd.

Room Tip: Had no. 18, perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissSt-Jean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic. Great accommodations, beautiful hot springs, delicious restaurant, staff. Special memories for our family. TripAdvisor reviews were perfect on this special gem. Loved every minute! Highly recommend.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank CinJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed here over New Year's 2012/13, Despite this being high, high season, everything appeared calm at this hotel. I'm sure the staff were working incredibly hard, but each guest was treated as individuals. Amazing how the front desk staff knew everyone's name within a few hours. Jose at the bar and Eliomar at the front desk stand out for even higher standards of service.

Grounds are beautiful and well kept. Lots of birdlife to see. (Saw more on the property than people we met from a bird-watching trip!) The hotel's private hot springs were a delight, offering different temps and layouts surrounded by lovely vegetation. Being limited to hotel guests, the pools were never crowded -- unlike alternatives in the area.

Despite back problems, found the beds to be comfortable. Hot water was plentiful. Room had a bar fridge where we kept our water cold.

Food in the restaurant was tasty, although we would have liked the option of more fruit at breakfast - perhaps increasing the quantity in multiples of 2 guests, rather than the same for 2 and 4 people.

Did not need a car. Found it more relaxing and cheaper to book a driver from Liberia, and then take taxis as necessary. Most tours include the cost of pickup. The front desk provided excellent advice both before our arrival and during our stay. One day we opted for a hike to the lava fields from the 1960s eruption. A taxi dropped us and picked us up as arranged. Lovely views, quiet, saw more birds and animals, few visitors.

Highly recommend volunteering at or visiting Proyecto Asis.- an animal sanctuary with a fascinating tour and opportunity to feed the animals afterwards. All entry fees go to looking after the animals. Without a car, opted to pay for pickup and dropoff. This was a bit expensive, but still worth every penny.
www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g309226-d1231711-Reviews-Proyecto_Asis-La_Fortuna_de_San_Carlos_Arenal_Volcano_National_Park_Province_of_A.html

One of the advantages of this area is that there are activities for all ages and levels of interest/ability. Hope to return later this year.

Room Tip: Farther back is more private. Some villas appear to be bigger than others. If you have balance pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wannatravelnow_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in March 2013 on an independent tour of Costa Rica. The cabins are attractive, modern and spacious with a TV, fridge and large comfortable bed. The grounds are lovely and spacious. The staff was helpful and friendly. There is excellent birding on the lower property early. There is a pool and 4 hots springs/Jacuzzis-no extra charge - quite delightful with a full service bar. The floor going down to the hot springs is very slippery and my wife fell and hurt her leg..beware! Tours booked at the front desk cost nearly twice as much than if you call direct. Ask for a quite unit is the back away from the road and the towering ugly multi-story noisy hotel right next door that looks like it belongs in La Vagas.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite unit is the back away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peterylinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We loved our stay at El Silencio. The cabins are extremely comfortable, the hot springs are so relaxing, the grounds are quiet and beautiful and there are great views of the volcano from every cabin. We are bird watchers and we spend many hours watching birds on site. The complimentary mud facial was heavenly.

The real stand-out at El Silensio was the staff. They were friendly and extremely helpful, arranging tours and activities and recommending the best spots for birding. But they truly went above and beyond when we found ourselves stranded after a reservation at another hotel fell through. The wonderful staff spent more than one hour on the phone calling hotels in Monte Verde and Santa Elena to find us an alternative and ensure that we were taken care of. Amazing! Thank you El Silencio.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank get_out_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The grounds were beautiful with flowers and paths. I loved the hot springs, there were several setup up and were more private. Water was nice an warm. Great views of Arenal. Close enough to La Fortuna. Rooms were comfortable. Beds were a little on the stiff side
Breakfast was basic and good. Omlet, pancakes, rice dish was available for choices.

I think we paid a little over $200 per night for four people.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DontwaitMn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,684 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,138 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Property: Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing