We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful oasis with wonderful hot springs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently spent 5 days at Silencio del Campo. The hotel is lovely and we would highly recommend it.

We were greeted with welcome cocktails on arrival which was a nice touch. Our room was a spacious, detached lodge in the hotel grounds (as are all the rooms, with the lower numbers nearer to the entrance/restaurant/reception, and the higher numbers nearer the bar and hot springs at the far end of the complex). It had its own terrace with a table, and a view of Arenal Volcano (when the weather was right!).

The grounds are absolutely beautiful with stunning flowers, plants and lots of birdlife to watch. Each time we returned to the hotel from day trips, it felt like we were re-entering our own exclusive oasis.

The restaurant is open pretty much all day (apart from a couple of hours late morning) and served delicious breakfast, lunch and dinner (the lunch menu was particularly extensive). There is also a bar which serves fantastic cocktails and is an alternative location for lunch.

The staff were all very friendly and made us feel very welcome, particularly the barman, with whom we spent a couple of our afternoons.

The real bonus of this hotel are the wonderful hot springs. With four or five pools with somewhat of a range of temperatures (hot, warm, ice cold) these were a fabulous addition to our stay. We had pre-booked a visit to Eco Termales (a few minutes walk away) and whilst we really enjoyed our visit (especially the dinner there) staying at El Silencio really removes the need to visit a separate hot springs.

The hotel location is about a 10 minute taxi ride from La Fortuna (costing about 3,000 - 4,000 colones) - whilst this wasn't ideal, it was fine for a number of reasons. Firstly, most of the nicer hotels seem to be situated outside the centre of La Fortuna anyway. On day trips, our tour guides always picked us up from the hotel. And when going out for dinner, there are a couple of hotels within walking distance anyway (we had dinner at the Royal Corin next door which was fantastic) plus the option of dinner at the hotel, which meant we only took cabs into La Fortuna a couple of times.

All in all, a fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sleepyhead999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

922 - 928 of 1,887 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

The rooms are quaint but rustic. Our cabin door (#6) couldn't be closed except with the deadbolt which was a nuisance. (It didn't have a door handle.)
Our other cabin (#7) was leaking a LOT of water from the air conditioner which traveled down the wall and under the bed. This happened on our second and last day there when we got up in the morning because the air conditioner was running throughout the night. When we reported it to the front desk woman she wasn't concerned at all. Even though the water had dripped onto a wooden desk before hitting the floor and the bed posts were also wooden. We also lost power in that cabin twice the day before and my husband had to reset the breaker (which is located conveniently right on the wall in the rooms.)
When we checked in we were told that there were water problems in our room and we wouldn't be able to use water for a couple hours. I asked for a phone call when it was all clear to use water but never received one...
The service in the restaurant was excellent. Service at the front desk was poor.
The landscaping is gorgeous - especially around the hot springs at the rear of the grounds. There are more birds at this location than any other hotel we stayed at.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rush15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The resort is a true gem! We loved it! The cute little cabins give you privacy, and with only 20 or 26 something rooms in total, you truly feel like you've found a special place. The grounds are stunning, the hot springs are exceptional, and although we didn't go to the spa, we did a quick walk around and were blown away with the private cabanas for treatments and how opulent it looked.

The multitude of umbrellas available for guests around the resort - and to take off if you wish - are much appreciated.

We found the value for room ($165night) and quiet escape to be perfect, however in the rain it can feel VERY quiet, with not too many people are around. Rain tends to do that anywhere. Just be warned, if you're looking for "big resort" with lots of activity, this is not the place.

The one opportunity for improvement would be dining area - very small, which is fine, but the breakfast menu was also quite small and didn't change. Each morning a fruit plate (lovely and fresh) would accompany the entree of your choice (pancakes, omelet, toast and fried egg, egg/salsa/onion combo, or tyipco breakfast of rice/beans, scrambled eggs, tortiall, cheese). Since the rest of the lunch/dinner menu caters to north American tourists (burger, quesadilla, pastas, as well as more traditional fish dishes), to have no real mean included in the breakfasts (no bacon as experienced elsewhere in resorts we visited) was a small let down.

Overall, completely recommend this piece of heaven!

Tip - it's about a $8 cab ride from the resort into the middle of la fortuna (chruch/ garden square). It's at least 5km from town, so you really don't want to walk it given the poor road conditions, no night lighting. You will likely take the ride often if you want to explore different dining options and see a bit of "night" life or souvenir shopping.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madeline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel had very pretty scenery and hot springs. The weather all 3 days we stayed was cloudy and rainy. Only saw volcano at 6 am each day for 15 minutes. It is very impressive when you can see it- not a fault of hotel but disappointing. Hot springs very clean, beautiful, and relaxing. Food mediocre. Never had complaint but if you are into 4-5 star dining might rethink hotel. We were pleased with all meals but are not food snobs when travelling. Staff friendly. Bar right at hot springs with food and drink and bartender soo friendly! Rooms clean and spacious. The reason we picked this hotel was natural look of hot springs which did not disappoint and view of volcano which is spectacular- choose season carefully to avoid constant clouds and rain. La Fortuna waterfall a must if in area and short cab ride from hotel.
Would recommend hotel but remember volcano now inactive so no lava shows like years ago.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank papale10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Bungalow #20. It was very romantic: the room and the bathroom were huge, the bed was bigger that a king size. Our room had candles, upon lighting them – it became a truly romantic anniversary night. The grounds of the hotel were impressive as well as the hot springs - we didn’t even bother going to Baldi.
There are 5 or 6 hot springs that are secluded from each other, there is also a bartender if you would like to get a drink while chilling.
The breakfast offers fruits, coffee/tea, freshly squeezed juice, and 5 choices: made-to-order omelet, pancakes, toast and jam, and 2 Costa Rican dishes with eggs.
Bottom line – don’t bother going to the huge resorts, you are in Costa Rica, so experience the country and its culture!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohtany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Although we never saw Arenal due to the rain, fog and mist, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The grounds are beautifully landscaped, the bungalows are spacious, very private and well equipped. We enjoyed the hot springs and my complimentary mud mask facial at the spa was so relaxing. Breakfast was delicious with different options and substantial.

Room Tip: We requested a room toward the back of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toadhollowtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Three nights in Arenal. The hot springs were very relaxing, quiet, set in a lovely garden. A great change from resort style pools! The cabins are large and very clean. There is a very calm or relaxed atmosphere. This would be a great location for a family. It is a very good base for seeing the sights and activities of Arenal. The staff were all very helpful. the spa is your typical Costa Rica experience, where the masseuse essentially pushes oil over and around your body.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CostaCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,322 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,336 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,965 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,562 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $149 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing