We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A very comfortable and peaceful home base for our stay in Fortuna” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very comfortable and peaceful home base for our stay in Fortuna”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

My family and I stayed here over the busy Christmas week and found it to be a great base for our stay near Lake Areanl. Calling it a hotel is misleading. There are separate buildings for each room or cabina scattered throughout the well maintained and beautifully landscaped campo. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They went out of there way to find a local restaurant that was still serving tamales on Christmas day. The hidden gem here is their own restaurant which serves both interesting local dishes as well as more international fare.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCampezzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,379
    285
    39
    5
    4
See reviews for
623
765
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

My wife and me stayed here for 3 nights and we absolutely love every minute we spent staying at this lovely property. Before I booked the hotel I spent signifficant amount of time reading Tripadvisor and Booking reviews, so I was kind of ready for a good place, but after spending 3 nights there we are almost feel that this was one of the best places we ever stayed in our world travels. Eliomar Marcia at the front desk was very big initial decision on my part to stay at this hotel. I sent quite a few e-mail with various travel questions regarding Arenal sites and activities. Eliomar perfectly responded on every question I had. While we stayed at this hotel we absolutely loved breakfast, watching birds while eating breakfast, Arenal volcano views from the property and absolutely lovely hot springs. We used hot springs every single day as it gave us that special nature feeling. Room itself also was great and besides breakfast we ate excellent dinner one night. I just can't think of one single item at this hotel that I could say "it could be better". Everything was GREAT at this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yk387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Family of 4 spent 2 nights here. Liked the location, grounds were tidy and clean and staff were friendly and helpful. We ate at restaurant both nights and food was better than expected. Tasted great and prices reasonable. Nice to see different menus for both nights. Didn't like the space ship looking hotel next door but at least it is hidden best as possible!! Can't believe something like that can be built there.
Got a free mini facial with our 2 night stay -nice touch. Great hot springs - seemed to be hardly used.
Overall, yes we would return.

Room Tip: Noisy rooms are close to restaurant/reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lwbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Mu husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. The grounds were lush and beautiful and the staff were friendly. Elio helped us book our tours (ziplining and white water rafting) and they were terrific--lots of fun and the companies had good regard for safety. We enjoyed the hot springs (and loved that they were never crowded) and the many birds that visit the property. Food at the hotel (including the free breakfast) was quite good. The villas were spacious and comfortable but we always felt that they were very dimly lit and a bit damp-feeling (just because of the overall humidity in the area). We were glad for the free Wifi. There were a few issues with bugs (ants on the front door and a dead bug trapped the melted wax on a candle) but nothing major. Overall, a really lovely experience and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank transcience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Lovely place to stay. It was nice having your own "cabin". Very roomy and the hot springs were a surprising bonus although the last night we were there it was way too hot to get in to. Not sure why.
Complimentary breakfast was wonderful. You had a choice of five items off a menu plus juice, fruit and coffee. As other reviewers mentioned, the staff would put out fruit for the birds and you could just sit there and watch all the different species have at it.
Lunch and dinner were great too.
Front desk was very helpful in planning excursions.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the main road (lower numbered rooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahBethius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here for 3 nights during our trip to Costa Rica. We found this hotel to be very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The staff at the front desk were very helpful in arranging for tours and spa treatments. The included breakfast was very good, and included a plate of fresh fruit before the entree. The staff put fruit on a tree outside of the restaurant, so you were able to see lots of birds while dining. The hot springs were nice to have on site, and we did not even bother to visit any of the other hot springs in the area. Our villa was very spacious and clean, although the water in the shower did not seem to get quite as hot as I usually prefer. During our stay the volcano was covered by clouds, until our last morning, where we finally got to see it. Really great view from outside our villa.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hokiedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

A lovely little resort in the shadow of one of the big monstronsity hotels. The cabinas were lovely, the grounds beautiful and the hot pools were delightfully semi-private. The food was good and the staff put out fruit outside the dining room which attracted lots of beautifully colourful birds. We even saw 2 or 3 toucans on the property during our stay.

The staff was great as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 24Sand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,475 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
Nayara Hotel, Spa & Gardens
#2 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,007 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 66 in Arenal Volcano National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,150 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Property: Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing