We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I'm very delinquent in writing this post but my husband and I stayed here for several nights in February 2012. The grounds BEAUTIFUL! The Hot Springs AMAZING! The staff WONDERFUL-- from the front desk to the night security. We had a very early transfer from this hotel to go white water rafting and the night security staff (who didn't speak great English - about as good as my Spanish) made sure everything was OK, offered to get us something for breakfast and just sat with us - in the dark - to make sure all was good. We appreciated that so much! You cannot go wrong - it was perfect!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,518
    300
    42
    5
    4
See reviews for
698
831
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leitrim, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

What an amazing experience. The website and photos on any sites Do not do this place justice, really you have to come here to experience the ambience. Welcome drink on arrival, extremely helpful and friendly in all aspects. Casita much more beautiful than we expected. Immaculate and great facility beds very comfortable. The on site springs were amazing, so peaceful it was like being in our own 5 star resort. Breakfast was lovely, and together with the service what more can you ask for. Weather a little wet so didn't get a full view of the volcano, so more reason to go back again. We only stayed two nights and wish we had stayed longer. Even a free 30 min facial in the spa, this was so good. Unfortunately we were leaving the next day in the morning, so could not have more treatments. Thank you to Larson and Alberto the bar and waiting staff, you made our stay so enjoyable we will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siberianpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilaran, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent part of our honeymoon here in La Fortuna. El Silencio del campo is absolutely BEAUTIFUL. We were assigned to room #18 which is farther from the road (more quiet). All rooms have the volcano view, which is awesome. We had a super large king bed (which probably fits another 2 of us in it and I cannot even describe how comfortable the bed was!) a flat screen tv, and the maid had decorated our bed with candles, flowers and two hearts made with towels.

If they still have the promotion for a free facial, do NOT miss it. They're very professional and I assure you that you would fall asleep with the smell of aroma and the relaxing atmosphere.

The ground was well kept by the staff. While we were there, we always saw them working so hard keeping everywhere clean.

It was about 3000 colones ($6-7) to go down to the town. We had our dinner at Soda Viquez. Owner Mario was very gracious. The mashed potato was kind of funny tasting but the rest was amazing. I ordered fish cooked with garlic and hubby got beef with pepper sauce. Both were good and price was good too. The restaurant is just a block east of central park.

Can’t remember who told us that it wasn’t safe in town at night. Not true. Stores mostly opened till 8, 9pm. Young people and backpackers were everywhere, shopping for souvenirs, partying, etc. It was quite a lively town. And of course you need to use your common sense wherever you go. Just keep your valuable out of sight and you’ll be fine. The town is not big at all. It took us less than an hour to walk through the main areas. And if you need to get a taxi back up the hill, all the taxis were park along central park. Most of the drivers could speak English.

ATM machines were everywhere. Banco Nacional was right across the park. Banco Nacional’s machines only distribute colones. The ATM machines distribute both dollars and colones. We wanted to get more colones because doing the math between both currencies was just too confusing. However, husband didn’t call his bank before we left Canada so after taking money out from ATM machine twice, his account was frozen. So make sure you call both your bank and credit card company prior to your vacation.

Back to Silencio to enjoy the hot spring. I had been thinking of booking Eco Termales next door but then the cheap side of me thought, why not take advantage of what was there at Silencio? I made a good decision. The hot spring was very nice, maybe not as nice as the ones with swim-up bar, but all we needed was clean pool, hot water, and nice view. We got them all here at the hotel. There are 4 pools - the main one is the largest and hottest (so hot that the water burned my badly scratched bug bites on my legs), then the water flows down to another pool which is the second hottest, then to another. I specially enjoyed soaking in the pool smelling the fragrance of flowers flowing in the breeze. When you check in at the front desk, they’ll give you 2 towel cards. You can get the blue towels either at front desk, or the bar beside the hot spring. Make sure you don’t lose your towels because the penalty is $20 per towel. You’ll also find bath robe in your room. Very handy for hot spring or massage at the spa.

If you do not wish to spend the money to go down to the town, the restaurant in El Silencio provides EXCELLENT food. First of all, breakfast is included. You get to pick pancakes, or omlettes, toasts with jam, etc. We had our lunch there before we returned to Alajuela. Food was absolutely awesome. Price was reasonable. If I could choose again, I'd rather stay in the hotel for meals than to pay $14 taxi to go to town.

We had a wonderful experience at El Silencio del Campo and will not hesitate to recommend to anyone.

Thank you to all the staff who had made part of our honeymoon so perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We spent a few nights here in October and had an absolutely wonderful experience! Aileen greeted us, we ere given a welcome drink of tropical punch and then shown to our spacious casita. The casitas are lovely, the gardens are incredible, the on-site hot spring pools are enchantingly tranquil, and even the food and drinks are delicious! It was cloudy upon our arrival, as we looked all around for the volcano and couldn't find it anywhere. Then about 15 minutes later, we looked out and there it was in all its grandeur! We spent a lot of time in the hot springs, even during light rain, and we truly felt ourselves relaxing and unwinding. We ate a delicious lunch under the arbor near the springs, staying dry during a downpour, watching the colors of the gardens become even more brilliant in the rain. When we decided to change our excursion plans for the next leg of our trip, Eliomar was there to help us contact our travel agency and confirm and print the new itinerary. He even arranged a "to-go" breakfast (a nice surprise) when we left very early on the Interbus. If you are going to visit the Arenal area, this is the hands-down place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Casita #6, which was toward the front of the resort with a wonderful view of the volcan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zareh Sharan, Paktika, Afghanistan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed here as our second stop on our Costa Rican second honeymoon. The location, right across the street from the Volcano, was amazing! The view from our doorstep was perfect! Very cozy villa, with comfort and privacy in mind. Fresh fruit and omlettes for breakfast. Hot spring right on the grounds towards the back with very attentive and professional staff. Had the couples massage with my wife, had to be woken up cuzz it was so relaxing! Just down the highway, couple minute drive, is the town of La Fortuna. Plenty of shopping and restaurants, locals were very nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I spent the majority of our honeymoon at El Silencio. After a miss with our first hotel choice and location (Puerto Viejo), we selected the Arenal region and El Silencio was highly recommended by a local acquaintance.

This hotel does everything right- from the overall layout to the smallest details. The rooms are individual "cabins"- private and warm. The room was spacious, well appointed, very clean and well lit. The rooms are air conditioned, and have a TV, fridge, coffee maker, safe and large bathroom with seated walk-in shower.

One of the best features of El Silencio is the hot springs. The hotel has a large hot spring pool with a waterfall, plus two smaller hot pools, a jacuzzi, and a cool pool. These are surrounded by gardens and comfortable, private spaces to sit with a drink from the bar by the springs or lay out with a book. The hotel also has a traditional pool in a separate location, perfect for kids or people that do not enjoy thermal waters.

There is a truly magical spa onsite. If you book two or more nights you get a free volcanic mud facial at the spa. It's a very relaxing, full spa treatment- about a $40 facial free! I was so impressed that we later booked a couples massage and was not disappointed. After the massage we were treated to a bottle of wine in a private hot spring pool. It was paradise!

The food at the restaurant was delicious- plus the room comes with a full hot breakfast. We ate there for many meals. Food can also be ordered to the room. Full bar on property served pretty much any drink you can think of until 10.

The staff were all so friendly! We stayed long enough to get to know a few people and felt so welcomed. They went out of there way to ensure our satisfaction.

We had a perfect honeymoon at El Silencio. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliLovesVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We read all the reviews but this resort passed all of my expectations, From the owner Juan diego to Elyn at the front desk and Larson our excellent waiter I would not go anywhere else, The casitas are clean and private very beautiful, and the gardens and wild birds are like a little piece of paradise. All our tours we booked seamlessly through the front desk. The natural hot springs are beautiful and private with a little bar on the edge. The resaturant food was so good we ate once in la Fortuna but preferred the Hotel Silencio, Our daughter got a fever and they offered to take us to town for medicine. We went with our 3 children 9, 7, and 5 and my mother, The poolwas clean and refreshing. It is the low season so it was not at all crowded, The Eco Glide was lots of fun and you must see the la Fortuna waterfall, If you are not in good shape do not attempt to see the bottom as it was an ehausting climb. It was 500 treacherous steps like notjing you would see in the US,
We will return to Hotel Silencio pura vida!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,290 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,276 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,432 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,839 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Property: Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing