We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful, great views!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We cam to this hotel after staying in various budget hotels throughout Costa Rica so coming here was a real upgrade! The property is very well-kept, peaceful with plenty of interesting jungle critters running around. The hot springs were very relaxing with a natural setting. The rooms were so nice! Like your own little luxury bungalow. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. Pura Vida!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler4life2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,039 - 1,045 of 1,887 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Hotel El Silencio del Campo in late February this year for 4 nights. We were greeted by an extremely friendly and welcoming staff. Our casita (#18) was towards the bakc of the property, past the pool and a few minutes from the resort hot springs. It provided a great base for us to explore the Arenal area.

The hotel is on beautiful grounds, extremely well maintained, and very lush and tropical. The view of Arenal is beautiful as well (don't mind the Royal Corin), as the hotel next door was not really was not a big deal. The breakfast was quick and delicious, and the restaurant was good as well as we ate lunch and 2 dinners there.

What made the stay for us, was having our own private residence and the hot springs. We are in our late 20s and after spending a few quiet evenings down at the Hot Springs and getting massages at the Spa, we decided not to go to Tabacon or Ecotermales. This was the perfect way to wind down our day and not have to travel (and pay) to hang around at another property, when this was in our backyard.

For the price, this was a tremendous value and I highly recommended it for those looking for a peaceful retreat.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back of the property (near hot springs) are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dshare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I have stayed at 2 other hotels in La Fortuna - one "luxury" and one less expensive than Silencio. Silencio is my favorite. The grounds are lovely - it took me 30 minutes just to photograph all the different flowers, fruits and wildlife. Our villa was very comfortable & I appreciated the privacy. The hot spring in the rear of the property was very nice so we didn't need to pay the high prices at the crowded spas. I enjoyed the "Slushie" made by the friendly waitress at the pool bar - she added fresh fruit at my request. All of the staff were very helpful and always professional. They made such a difference. I also used the spa special getting excellent discounted massages. We took a couple of tours arranged by the staff and were very satisfied both with the tour guides and cost. It's a $7 taxi ride to town. The included restaurant breakfast was much better than the other hotels. Other meals were also good. I would recommend that ceiling fans be installed in the dining area as it was VERY hot while eating and the poor staff looked like they were melting. Wifi was good overall - occasionally spotty. I would definitely return here.

Room Tip: The higher numbers are further back from the road & are closer to the springs & spa. Howeve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doctorbubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I loved this hotel!!It is so clean, beautiful and quiet.!The hot thermal pool was just such an amazing experience!!The food and drinks were just great!! i loved it!!!I would go back again soon!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tainok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here on our first visit to Costa Rica in January 2011. While the drive to La Fortuna/Arenal was longer than we'd like, this place was worth the trek. We stayed in villa 19, which had a hot tub and the added bonus of being closest to the hot springs. We made good use of the springs, both day and night. It's a great feature to have these on site, without having to pay an additional access fee. The view from our villa to the volcano belonged on a post card. We had several clear days to enjoy the view. The villa was essentially one large room, with an equally large bathroom (the shower was awesome!). The front porch was a great touch. The room was very clean, and the breakfasts were enjoyable, though not spectacular. What we liked most about breakfast was the chance to meet other guests and enjoy the birds. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RsR24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

My daughter and I spent two nights at this hotel. We enjoyed our stay tremendously! The rooms were clean and spacious. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. The food at the restaurant was good. The hot springs and bar was great! The grounds of the hotel were well kept and beautiful. We had a great view of the volcano in cabin number 7. Our only regret was that we didn't elect to stay there longer. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edith60795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My family stayed here for two nights while we visited the Arenal area. We stayed in villa 21, which is a large villa with two queen beds and one single bed. It was perfect for us. The villas aren't luxurious, but they are clean and quiet. The only negative is that the villas are a bit dark.

The hot springs here are beautiful and relaxing, and there is an open air bar serving food and drinks adjacent to the springs. We spent lots of time there! The food is delicious and the service attentive.

The free facial at the spa is definitely worth taking advantage of- very relaxing and more of a shoulder/neck rub than a true facial. My husband had a massage and loved it, too,

Breakfast is included and it was full service and very good- omelettes, pancakes, etc.

The people working here bent over backwards to make sure everything was perfect and that we had a great time. I'm so glad we stayed here rather than paying a fortune to stay at Tabacon.

Room Tip: Villas 1-4 experience road noise. The rest are really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aramsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,322 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,336 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,965 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,562 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#6 of 64 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $149 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing