We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place and would absolutely visit again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2011

This is a wonderful hotel. Our favorite aspects of it: incredible pool/hot springs right on site, every person working there was super friendly, helpful, warm and a pleasure. Spa services (Elena) were heavenly. When one goes for a massage here, it's in a large tent near the hot springs, but still very private. The tent is filled with candles and beautiful dark wood, a dim soothing environment. Aromatherapy, a wonderful fragrant massage oil, so soothing and then a pineapple tea with little cookies afterward. The bartender was incredible and made incredible cosmopolitans at only $5 or $6 a drink. Rooms are simple but clean and tastefully decorated, coffee pot and safe in the room, giant walk in shower. A gentleman at the front desk easily arranged an atv tour for my son and myself. Larson in the dining room was especially wonderful--always attentive, a smile and down to earth. Hummingbirds are all over the grounds as are beautiful flowering plants and trees, ducks, geese, bullfrogs, butterflies. I would happily come back here in a moment!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,903)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,200 - 1,206 of 1,903 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2011

Good location between downtown Fortuna and Volcano attractions. Friendly and helpful staff gave good advice (except for Benedictus Restaurant- see my other review). They were very helpful getting activities booked

Individual cabanas are nice, with the exceptions of having only 30 seconds of hot water (no exaggeration) and one of our queen beds having noticeable indentation -- probably just from extensive use.

The single hot spring they offer is nice enough....but haven't been to others to compare. The massage service I received -- Deep Tissue-- was above average. The free breakfasts are pretty good as well.

When we were here, weather was rainy and overcast, so not able to comment on the volcano view. Overall satisfied.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chicago-greg312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed there on our honeymoon and it was fantastic. You have your own place which gives you privacy while being in the middle of everything. We ate at the restaurant as much as possible. It was great and the waiter was very helpful. The spa was great and the hot springs weren't bad. Great city! Great place to stay!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THart005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed here last year and was lucky to have found this place. The surroundings were gorgeous, food was good and reasonably priced..would definitely stay here again. Volcano views and toucans in the trees. And the private cabins were very comfortable. Only stayed 2 nights, wish it was longer.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed here five nights in November 2011. This hotel was the perfect choice and location for our family of 2 adults and 3 kids ages 4, 6 and 8. It was close enough to all activities. We originally were going to book Arenal Observatory Lodge which was a little out of the way until I learned the volcano was not spewing lava. Decided it was not worth driving back and forth for our daily adventures which included pickup/dropoff in the tour price. The Hot Springs pool is great and was approximately 100 degrees F. Because we had it on site, we did not feel we needed to go to any of the Hot Springs tours with dinner. It is large enough for the kids to enjoy as a swimming pool and for us to sit and hang with bar close by (too bad not swim up). It was not quite 4 feet deep but had plenty of sitting area, a nice waterfall and view of the volcano. Swimming pool is a bit cold but the kids enjoyed it for a bit prior to going to the Hot springs. There is a small playground with swings, see-saw, etc. Rate included daily breakfast which made the daily cost of staying there a great bargain and convenient to eat before going on a tour/adventure. You have choice of 5 breakfasts (ranked in order of deliciousness): Typical, Banana Pancakes, Omelette with peppers, ham, mushrooms, Rancheros (fried eggs with tomato sauce) and Toast w/Jam & butter. Fresh fruit plate, juice/coffee/hot chocolate also came with breakfast. Hot chocolate was awesome. Lunch/dinner menu is good (note: we are from NJ and drank the tap water with no problem) if you stick with the typical dishes and the grilled fish (tilapia) or chicken. If there are more than 2 seated tables, restaurant service is very slow, due to inefficient staff. (Tip: leave condiments on each table; take an order, give to kitchen before taking the next table's order) Benedictu's Steak House is 2 minute walk next door however would NOT recommend going there (bad service; steaks, though tasty, took 1 hour and came only with 1 side and they wouldn't accept credit card until we said we didn't have cash on us and refused to go to La Fortuna for ATM) The cabins are comfortable, spacious and stand-alone, so very private and quiet. You do not have to worry about disturbing your neighbors! Great view of volcano. Shower w/consistent hot water also spacious. Bathroom counter sink separate from toilet/shower and large area. Shelves for putting stuff on but no storage for clothes or hanging wet clothes. Nice outdoor sitting area facing volcano. We were in Cabin #4 and wi-fi worked with no problems (we heard the service for back cabins weren't so good and had requested prior to arrival) We were lucky and saw the volcano on 3 clear days during transitional time in November. Weather here was great too. Only rained one day. No phones in room but front desk extremely helpful and would make phone calls for you as needed. They were also helpful with recommendations for kid-friendly activities. Our adventures (1 per day) were: Canos Negros tour (great, relaxing way to view wildlife but 4 hour round trip drive not our favorite); Horseback to La Fortuna Waterfall (our 4 and 6 y.o. rode w/guides and guides let them steer horses); Ecoglide zipline (kids did Tarzan swing alone but rode ziplines in tandem with guides); spelunking in Venado Caves (this was awesome; the kids were a little scared at first but after the first 10 minutes, loved it, and they crawled through every hole and climbed up the walls with our help); hiking at Hanging Bridges (no guide but saw lizards, various birds, pit viper) and Arenal Volcano National Park (went all the way up to the 1992 lava trail which was totally worth the $20 admission ($10/adult) and saw cool wildlife there too) and Jeep Boat Jeep to Monteverde.

In summary:
Pros: Hot Springs, breakfast included, stand-alone, spacious, private cabins, on-site restaurant, helpful front desk, refrigerator, working Wi-Fi, close to all activities/adventure tours, free facial (though only 15 min long, not long enough)

Cons: cold swimming pool, lack of storage for clothing so had to live out of suitcase, no place to hang wet clothes to dry, if restaurant busy, takes long time for meal, no pasteurized milk for the kids

Room Tip: For good wi-fi, choose cabins toward front. Cabins in middle are close to swim pool. Cabins toward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JKWAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This place is as advertised, if not better. The grounds are beautiful. The rooms are spacious, nice and a good distance from other cabins. I highly recommend eating here. My friend & I ate once in La Fortuna (at the recommended place) and regretted it. Food at Silencio is reasonable and delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Loved this hotel. The food was great (and inexpensive), the room was spotless, the hot spring was awesome, the drinks were strong, and every staff member was helpful and friendly. (A staff member went out of her way to point out nearby toucans to us.) Great view of the volcano from the cabins. We met a couple who was staying at the hotel next door (which is huge and it's a shame it's too close to El Silencio del Campo) and I think they were a bit bummed that they paid $300/night for their room when El Silencio del Campo was so nice. Take the bartenders recommendations on drinks, he made us something awesome he named for his girlfriend. =) We got a free facial on check-in and the girl did an amazing job. I would go back just for the spa services. We were there during the rainy season, but it was fantastic, it seemed like we had the whole hotel to ourselves. Tip: See if you can get the parrot to laugh, it's a riot.

Room Tip: We were in room 9, right in the middle of the property, but all the rooms seemed wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,342 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,394 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,584 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,527 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $187 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing