We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nature lover's paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A nature lover's paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

My friend and I stayed at El Silencio in late August. We had high expectations given the numerous positive reviews and beautiful photos...and those expectations were exceeded! Everyone on staff was extremely friendly. Vanessa at the front desk seems to know absolutely everything about the hotel, tours, etc and was extremely helpful with suggesting tours that met our interests. Larsen in the bar was very friendly,was fun to talk with and provided great service.

The grounds are absolutely beautiful and the wonderful smells from the guava trees are intoxicating. You'll be amazed at how close the volcano is - amazing view! The beds are extremely comfortable and the villas are cozy and welcoming. We liked reading on our front porch while enjoying the views of Arenal volcano. Try out the hot springs at night, you won't be disappointed. I highly recommend El Silencio, we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waitingtoretire12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,441
    294
    40
    5
    4
See reviews for
649
802
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

My family (1 child - 13) and two other couples stayed here for two nights. I am in love with this hotel. The grounds are amazing, the view of the volcano is perfection. The staff is helpful and accommodating and the rooms are wonderful, clean, hot water with all the amenities. They also have their own hotsprings, lounge, bar area and an amazing spa right on site. Extra great was that each room had one complimentary facial in the spa which I took advantage of and soon booked an amazing coffee, orange body scrub. The food in the restaurant was great too. I highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in La Fortuna. Amazing value for the price.

Room Tip: They are all individual and everyone seems good. The closer to the spa area takes you away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank labbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Visited this hotel in July and loved every minute of my stay.

The rooms are separate cabins placed all over the most beautiful of grounds. Each room has its own patio with table and air conditioning. Although the menu is somewhat limited, the food at the restaurant is very good. There is nothing comparable to candlelight dining amidst the serenity of the Costa Rican rainforest. There is a gorgeous hot spring located onsite with perfect water temperature, a little bar, and absolutely soothing to relax in while the rain falls.
The staff were very pleasant. The front desk clerk spoke English very well and answered my questions even before I arrived in Costa Rica.

Overall, was in awe from the moment I arrived. Hotel greatly exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhucDong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed in this hotel, and the grounds were beautiful and very well kept. The view of the Volcano was spectacular. The location was great, it was about equidistant to the town of La Fortuna and a lot of the activities we did near the Arenal Observatory Lodge. We found the food and drinks were excellent and less expensive than many of the area restaurants. The rooms were very large, clean and had very tastefully decorated, what more could you ask for.

We would stay here again, especially for the price. We had friends stay in a hotel a few miles down the road, and their hotel wasn't nearly as nice and cost a lot more.

Room Tip: Request a lodge in the back of the property away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

The grounds are beautiful with paved paths meandering through the gardens and the ever present volcano looming overhead. The villas are modern, spacious and cleaned well every day. Wi-fi didn't quite reach our villa but it worked fine near the front of the resort. We definitely appreciated the mini-refrigerator. The entire staff was friendly and everyone seemed genuinely happy that we were guests. Eliomar was fantastic - he took the time to book our tours before we even left home and made it a point to get to know each and every guest. The natural hot spring was the high-point for us as it's gorgeous, almost always empty and only steps from the bar. We highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Request an unobstructed view of the volcano.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grotheur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

When arriving at Silencio Del Campo we were greated with cold cocktails and great service. Everything from the great cottages, food, service and hot springs exceeded all of our expectations. We will definatly stay here again and longer!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

This was a perfect choice for accomadations in Arenal.Good location with a wonderful view of the volcano,gorgeous grounds,nice friendly and helpful staff, wonderfully appointed cabins and terrific hot spring right on the premises as well as spa services. We enjoyed our 3 night stay here very much.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shayna0821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,696 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,265 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Property: Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing