We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most Comfortable and Relaxing part of our Vacation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most Comfortable and Relaxing part of our Vacation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

This is a High Quality, extraordinarily well managed property. The owner was present and involved, and clearly has very high standards. Staff was super friendly. Standards are different in Costa Rica, and it is important for Americans to find places that have good A/C and amenities. This was the most comfortable place that we stayed! The cabins were meticulously constructed, beautiful craftsmanship, good A/C, and very clean. Grounds were immaculate. Fantastic breakfast served each morning, with no waiting. Just walk right into the uncrowded open air restaurant, with get served right away. BIG PLUS is that the Hotel sits on top of Hot Springs, and they have their own Natural Hot Springs Pool on the property. This is most relaxing at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Every cabin has a great view and private feel. You can't go wrong anywhere on this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,439
    293
    40
    5
    4
See reviews for
647
802
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

What can I say...Silencio Del Campo delivered exceptional service...sorry for the delayed review we have been busy since we got back....We were a family of 6 from June 26-28th

1st the grounds are gorgeous..very colorful and a great view of the volcano. The hot srpings are wonderful very relaxing and inviting..

When we got there we were treated with 5 star service and always given the best advice and courtesy...If we ever went back to COsta rica we would definatley make a stop here.

The staff was very accomadating to all of our needs...from making reservations for daily excursions or having a drink by the hot springs to the relaxing massage by the river we felt like we were at a top notch resort...

I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone visiting La fortuna...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BoyGirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

Stayed 3 nights here and loved it. The rooms(?) were very spacious and the view really is as described on their website! We used the hot springs once and the bar, also the free facial at the spa! . The people at the reception are very friendly. One suggestion is to stay away from the main road. We were in room 4 and could hear the vehicles going by during the afternoon. But it did not bother us much. Also did not have any issues with the heat. Order the gallo pinto for breakfast!

Room Tip: The views are nicer from the rooms in the front, but you might hear traffic in the afternoons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meg g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

This was my favorite hotel out of 4! Rooms were clean and spacious. Bathroom large, water warm and pressure average. Beds and pillows very comfortable. Grounds were beautiful! The pool area was nice, but we preferred the hot spring on property after a long day. Staff was great at helping arrange our tour and we got a discount by booking this way. Breakfast confused us at first, but everything on the menu is included with the hotel price and was delicious. We didn't try any other meals here though.

The flaw: the cabins are built like a sauna and the little AC unit just doesn't help much on a warm sunny day. We had some rain the last night that cooled the place, but otherwise it was quite warm. Even with this flaw, I hope to return here one day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathi316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

First, the room was elegant. Just well constructed and classy. Second, the staff was universally very helpful and knowledgeable. Third, they have a pool and a tiled hot springs spa area that is lovely. We felt pampered there - and it was the start of our trip, so a lovely launching point for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

We did not stay here, but wish we did! We traveled to Costa Rica in March for 10 days by 4WD vehicle. This hotel was my first choice of lodging, but due to a wedding taking place at the hotel, they did not have room availability for 1 of the nights we were there, so we chose the Arenal Lodge (you can see my review...it wasn't good!). We drove by the Hotel El Silencio and it was very cute!! We did not see the inside of the rooms, so that's way I could only give it 4 stars, but the grounds are lovely. My email correspondence with the owners when we were trying to make reservations was very prompt and courteous. While we did not actually stay at this property, I would recommend it based on our drive by, it's location and our interaction with it's owners. We would stay here if we ever return to the area!!!

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank emngsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

What a little gem the Hotel El Silencio turned out to be!

This resort has gorgeous grounds that are meticulously kept and are chock-full of vibrant species of plants and animals. When you stay at Hotel El Silencio, you feel as if you are a part of a small, intimate neighborhood. The resort is as quiet as can be. The view from the cabins is AMAZING. I read on the porch quite often as the property sets directly below the Arenal volcano and makes for a killer view. The patios are also covered so you can enjoy the property whether it is raining, lightening, or sunny outside. The resort has a small, clean swimming pool, kiddie pool, AND a natural volcano hot spring that was a delight. Most people staying in Arenal/La Fortuna go and spend $30-$50 to take a dip in the numerous hot springs in the area and the Hotel El Silencio has one on-grounds! The resort also has an open-air restaurant with a fairly-priced menu that offers anything from typical Costa Rican food to "fast food". Take my word for it.....the food is AMAZING!!! You will never need/want to eat anywhere else. I nearly ate everything on the menu and found everything to be delicious! The free breakfast offered by the hotel is great as well! Such a good way to start off a long day of excursions/tours! Also, the staff are SO friendly and helpful. Their English/Spanish is terrific and you feel like you've made genuine friends by the time you leave!

As far as the rooms are concerned.....the cabins are GREAT. Tall ceilings, nice wood interior/exterior, comfortable beds, mini fridge, TV, lots of storage space, etc. Also, none of the cabins are joined together and share no walls accordingly. This made for an extremely quiet stay as well. You feel like you are staying in a private condo. The only thing that dinged this place was the cabin A/C. The A/C works......just not well. The room gets cool enough during the day to be barely comfortable.....the air comes out cool but with EXTREMELY low pressure which makes for poor cooling/circulation. The room only became truly comfortable after the sun went down. I asked other people at the resort about their A/C and they all reported the same experience. If they fix the A/C in the cabins, this place would get a 10/10!

Oh and did I mention that this place is only $129/night ?!? This is an absolute STEAL. Bottomline = book here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarsonRSX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,684 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,138 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,720 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,258 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Property: Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing