We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oooo so wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Oooo so wonderful!”
Reviewed December 19, 2007

Based on reviews, and the location we found that Hotel Silencio del Campo was by far the "best" in La Fortuna! From the reception to the farewell. We stayed in #3, which to me had a fantastic view of the volcano (which by the way we only saw 20 minutes of). It was centrally located to basically everything we wanted to do. Some things we didn't get to do, because of driving distance, but we'll save that for another trip! This is a family run business, and they are a diamond in my opinion. They recommended trips, with shuttle service right from our hotel, to my favorite meal "Talipia On the Vapor", and Tico breakfasts.
A fantastic stay, and we will go back!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank OneSoaringSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,472
    298
    42
    5
    4
See reviews for
666
819
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2007

A group of 7 of us stayed at the Hotel Silencio del Campo Nov.17-20, 2007. I chose the hotel based on other TripAdvisor reviews and was very satisfied with the decision. Prior to arrival, I had several email correspondences with Jesica Hidalgo, the front desk host. She was very helpful in providing me with driving directions from SJO, arranging excursions, etc. and although not fluent in English, she was always able to get her point across.

Upon arrival, we were given cabins 8 & 9. One of the waiters came by as we settled in with some delicious welcome drinks on the house. It was a nice touch! We were very happy with the cabins. They were very clean and very large. The bathrooms were HUGE too. The two beds were queen size and comfortable, and the refrigerator was nice to have so we could keep a few drinks and small snacks in our room. The TV came with cable and offered many English/subtitled channels, which was nice for a little downtime before bed. The only negative point about the room would be that we encountered two or three small roaches, but given the fact we were in the rainforest, it didn't come as a big surprise. They were harmless.

Our cabins were closer to the side where the construction of the new hotel next door is going on, but right next to the restaurant, pool and reception area. The construction noise only bothered us once during our three night stay, and it happened to be on the only day we did not have a morning excursion, so we really didn't mind. We really appreciated the proximity to the restaurant & reception area when the rain was coming down. We never used the pool as the water was a bit too cold, and the smaller pool we thought was a hot tub was, in fact, just a small pool.

The rate (which was very affordable at about $120/night) included breakfast. The breakfast was outstanding! They offered a few selections, but the "tipico" was by far the best we had in Costa Rica. It was the typical Costa Rican breakfast of eggs, rice & beans (VERY good), cheese (again - VERY good), flat bread, and a fresh fruit platter. We all indulged in the hot cocoa every morning too - it was excellent. Other delicious plates included omelettes, pancakes, huveos rancheros, etc. The service was outstanding and the staff was very pleasant. Although not required, we usually left them a tip of about 3,000 colones after our meal to show our appreciation for their attentiveness.

We also dined at the restaurant for dinner one night. The prices were competitive with the restaurants in La Fortuna, and all 7 of us were satisfied with our meals. Although they offer wine and other libations, we brought our own bottle of wine and they happily served it to us without a corkage fee. In fact, they opened a couple more bottles for us before we left on a tour to see the lava flow at night, and even gave us some glasses to go. They also gave us a pack of playing cards and a sewing kit when we were in need. :)

A big plus for us was that the hotel is literally a few feet from Baldi Hot Springs. We would just walk there at night and enjoyed relaxing in the springs with a few cocktails. It was heaven - had a great, livley atmosphere but also little alcoves to hide away from it all.

All in all, it was a great stay for us at the Hotel Silencio del Campo. I would definitely stay there again if I were to return to the Arenal area. Feel free to message me if you have any questions.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank cee_in_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2007

My boyfriend & I spent 3 nights at Silencio del Campo and loved every minute of it! Each of the 15 cabins are very clean and well kept. Louis and his staff were super friendly and helped us book all of our excursions and gav us recommendations on where to eat. The food at the hotel was very tasty, despite the limited menu choices (we only had breakfast here each morning, and lunch one day). We never did see the volcano, but that gives us even more reason to return!!

  • Liked — private cabins for each guest and beautiful grounds; liked the small b&b feel
  • Disliked — the construction next door
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RTJerseyCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2007

Hotel silencio del campo takes pride in the grounds, the cleanliness of the rooms, and the great breakfasts. The location is great but the construction is still going on in the hotel next door. It is close to the town which had some of the best food we found in Costa Rica. A travel trip is ask for the bocas menu at Don Ruffino's in la fortuna for 1/4 price entrees @ $4 they call appetizers that are only given to locals and were enough food for my wife and I to split.
Most don't go to Arenal for a resort and this place isn't one but it is a great little hotel and perfectly suited for travelling around la fortuna and the volcano.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank f00die4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2007

This was the first accomodation that we stayed at when in Costa Rica and we were very pleased.

Service: This family run business was fantastic and it was great to see them working in reception, in the restaurant, helping us set up tours, and answer our questions. The younger they got the less of a language gap there was which was fortunate because of my terrible spanish.

Food: The breakfasts were very good in that there were five options every morning and were all reasonable good. Additionally, they had scrap fruits to attract the birds which although not necessarily natural - it was great to see all thse beautiful birds, even hummingbirds.

Accomodations: The bungalows were hands down the nicest we stayed at in Costa Rica. Spacious inside with great views of the volcano and the country side. The AC worked perfectly and the shower had plenty of hot water. Each cabin had a front porch from which to enjoy a view of the volcano (when it showed itself).

Activities: The arrange tours and transportation to almost anything you would want. After much indecision on our part we went with the Cerro Chata tour that they recommended and enjoyed it immensly. Even better was going to the Eco-Termales hot springs that I believe they owned also. It was a very tranquil and beautiful experience.

Negatives:
- It was a short ride from town but a bit too long for a walk.
- The onsite restaurant did a good breakfast but dinners were not memorable (service was very good though)

All in all, you really cant go wrong with Hotel Silencio de Campo.
We felt very welcome and the staff treated you like family.
I would go back there and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank werldtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 4, 2007

This place is very clean and the rooms are very nice. We stayed for two nights (11/26+11/27) and enjoyed everything. The staff is VERY nice and the breakfast is great. We brought some wine and bread in the evening and hung out on the patio, very relaxing and quiet (no construction noise at night). Great location, we walked to Baldi hot springs and enjoyed our stay there. Jessica at the front desk was amazing, took care of our every need.

I hope the gigantic place next door falls apart, silencio is the place to be! Also used Rubir for our transfer from Manual Antonio, great service and very reasonable price, his email is [--] - Tell him pig-man sent you, he will give you a good rate! Pura Vida!

  • Liked — Perfect grounds, very well kept
  • Disliked — Shower pressure is lacking, but you right next to a volcano!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pig-Man8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2007

I cannot complain about the hotel at all. The rooms were good and the place was clean. The gardens were also very well kept. The staff were accomodating and on the last day they made an extra effort to get us pancakes for breakfast even though we were leaving at 6am.
The reason I cant give this place 5 stars (and I dont know how everyone ignores this) is the new huge hotel next door. One day when it rained hard so we didnt take any trips and the building noise went from 7.30 am through until 5pm. Also the hotel is so close it even manages to block out a bit of the volcano from certain rooms. It really is something to consider.
We never stayed anywhere else in Arenal but it seems other hotels out of town are just as isolated and could be worth considering if you want "el silencio".

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Fortuna de San Carlos
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,822 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#7 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,233 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,801 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#11 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,364 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Springs Resort and Spa
The Springs Resort and Spa
#5 of 62 in Arenal Volcano National Park
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Property: Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#4 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing