We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel El Silencio del Campo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2011

All around great hotel: service, rooms, location, pool, hot springs and especially the grounds (amazing flowers everywhere).

Elio at the front desk was extremely helpful and friendly...he provided great assistance prior to my arrival and was eager to assist during the stay. Not sure what's up with Alberto but he's a bit of an Eyore and got a bit snippy under stress.

The hot springs on the property are fantastic, we were so blissed out at Sliencio, we didn't find it necessary to check out any of the other local hot springs spots. The pool is really nice too, awesome to lounge poolside staring up at the volcano.

Only criticism of this hotel is that they make you select a time for breakfast, which is somewhat counter-intuitive to those on vacation and wanting to get away from a schedule.

I did a spa service (massage & facial) and thought both were so-so...the spa location itself is amazing though: on a platform in the garden, open-air and looking out over a gorgeous hillside. The service itself was mediocre.

Would definitely recommend for those seeking a relaxing, tranquil environment in a very beautiful spot.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paminsiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,915)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,273 - 1,279 of 1,915 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel El Silencio del Campo. The rooms were spacious, bathrooms were very clean and the grounds are beautiful. The staff here is top notch and the made sure to do everything they could to accomodate us. The hot springs were a plus, although we did end up going to Tabacon anyways and it was fabulous.
My only two complaints, we were in room 18 and we had little/no internet connection which was disappointing. Second, there is a farm right behind the hotel and it can really get funky if the winds are heading in your direction.

Room Tip: Stay in a room closer to the front desk to get a Wi-Fi connection
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlMasri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I cannot explain in words how wonderful this hotel is. From the rooms, food, staff treatment, to the wonderful views and flora and fauna. It is spectacular. And let's not forget the views of Arenal! amazing!!! I visited with all my family and friends a couple of weeks ago, and we felt closer to heaven here. It sounds cheesy, but it is like paradise. We ate at the restaurant several times, since you have eveything you need here. The Hot Springs are fantastic, so why pay $80 for Tabacon springs? So, we spent a lot of time at the hotel. The cold pool was nice too and the gardens are to die for. Rooms are comfortable with a fridge in it in case you want to get yourself some sodas, snackies, etc. Eliomar was FANTASTIC. I communicated with him 2 months before arrival and he made sure we have a great stay and he succeeded. I highly recommend this hotel, people are kind, friendly and the place is heaven. I am Costarrican, so I am proud to say we have wonderful places like Silencio del Campo in our beautiful country. PURA VIDA! Gracias a todos por una maravillosa estadia. Definitivamente regresaremos!

Room Tip: Room #2 was great! Right in front of the volcano!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Verito831l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed one night and should have stayed longer. This is a peaceful beautiful hotel with their own clean hotspring pool. The food in their restaurant was delicious and reasonably priced. The staff was welcoming, friendly and helpful. If you like gaudy highrise hotels, then don't stay here, stay nextdoor, but if you like smaller personable hotels and beautiful casitas with great views of the volcano, then definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjeck2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights at the end of June. Beautiful grounds, nice big cabins, good pool, the best food we ate in Costa Rica. Breakfast was included and with the rain each evening we were less interested in going into town, so we ate there a lot.

Most of the nice hotels are along this road, a short cab ride outside of town. Nothing to see in town anyway, so I was happy with the location. Also just a 1 minute walk from Baldi hot springs.

Really helpful about booking tours. They work with Canoa Aventura, who were great.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwcohen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

My family of four visited the Arenal area in June 2011. We were very happy with our choice of El Silencio del Campo. The grounds are amazingly beautiful-flowers everywhere, well maintained paths between cabins and around the pool and spa areas. The cabins are so much larger than a regular hotel room and each one has a charming patio with views of the volcano-a wonderful place for a cup of morning coffee or to spend in an afternoon rain shower. Inside the furnishings were spotlessly clean, wonderfully large shower with beautiful tile, plenty of cool air for the humid days. The one thing I would add to these rooms would be better lighting but that certainly was a small thing! The restaurant was very convenient and we ate a couple of meals there when we were tired and didn't want to get out. (Taxi into town was $6 to $7 US) Breakfast is offered here each more as part of your room costs and it was nice. Loved sitting there enjoying the delicious coffee before starting out on our day. Again, the surroundings add so much-open air, lovely flowers, and Norrie the parrot on her outdoor perch. The thermal springs in the back of the property was so gorgeous. We spent an evening at a local hot springs and wished we had saved our money and just spent it at El Silencio-it was every bit as nice and not near as crowded. In fact, most often we had it to ourselves. The staff at the front desk went out of their way to be helpful. They welcomed us each day, gave advice, helped us book last minute tours, and asked about our adventures when we returned from somewhere. We really felt like we had stayed somewhere that reflected the region and the local people rather than in a large, cookie cutter hotel chain! It was a wonderful experience-glad it was our choice!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weeswap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Great location, GREAT staff service. Hot spring on hotel/resort site was very nice. Food was great and reasonably priced. Spa services were very good in a beautiful outdoor tent setting. The grounds were well manicured with lots of pretty tropical flowers. The rooms were very nice with vaulted ceilings, individual cabinas, spacious and comfortable. Only minor suggestion would be to get new shower heads for the bathrooms. This was a great resort for a great value / great price.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura54258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Spa & Resort
The Royal Corin Thermal Water Sp...
#6 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,373 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,904 reviews
1.1 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
Nayara Resort Spa & Gardens
#2 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3,419 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,611 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa
#14 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel El Silencio del Campo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Silencio del Campo

Address: 5 km west from the Catholic Church in La Fortuna | Main Street, right hand side, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 4417, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#3 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#9 Business Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $188 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel El Silencio del Campo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Silencio del Campo besides featuring a set of swimming pools, hot springs and spa, also offers its guests 23 individual villas with a small patio right outside facing the majestic Arenal Volcano, surrounded by colorful and lush gardens, that gives a natural sensation to your experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel El Silencio del Campo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Silencio Del Campo Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing