We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
168 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

loved the seclusion, breakfast and ambiance, nestled in a corner property, 15 min walk to la fortuna town. the receptionist was sooo accomodating, friendly with good customer service. breakfast was good however wish they served lunch / dinner aswell....

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pao_otr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    115
    47
    9
    3
See reviews for
70
109
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This hotel is actually a bunch of cabañas. The setting is beautiful with the Arena volcano as its backdrop. There are over 30 of the cabañas and they are building more. This is a family-run establishment and they take a lot of pride in providing a comfortable and enjoyable experience. The hotel is located on the edge of the town of La Fortuna, approximately 4 or 5 blocks from the main square. The hotel staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasant. We had a roof leak in our first cabana, so they changed us to a different one immediately. We were with a student tour group and the meals were all served at the open air restaurant. The food was of good quality and quantity. There are a lot of choices in the Arenal area and I can certainly recommend this property.

Room Tip: The rooms with higher numbers are the newer rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MexicoTraveler67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful, clean, and large cabana. We stayed in cabana #30. We could see Arenal volcano from the window. Our cabana was large and modern with all the conveniences of home. We even had a front porch. The group ate all meals at the hotel. The food was great. The hotel did a great job taking care of us. I would stay there again. The night guard was very helpful and friendly.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Arenal Montechiari. The hotel was about a ten minute walk from the center of La Fortuna, and we enjoyed staying a bit outside of the business of the city. The breakfast was delicious and the setting is serene. It's like a rainforest secret garden. I highly recommend it!

Room Tip: We enjoyed Cabin 26 near the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We were here for 3 nights in April 22nd to 24th, the hotel was picturesque, set in lovely grounds, it was very tranquil and quite. The room was basic, clean, with a fridge, the bed was comfortable, the hotel was in a great location for us to do a hiking tour to Volcano Arenal and to visit the hot springs and close to the town where the shops and restaurants were. The negative points were that there wasn't a bar to sit and have a drink in the evening and we could have done with either complimentary water or tea & coffee as there was no shop within the hotel to purchase any provisions (the nearest shop was only about a 5 min walk) it would have been nice to be able to purchase a cold drink & snack whist lounging by the pool. The breakfast was ok except they cook the toast then keep it warm they could have done with a toaster. We also felt that the sun loungers needed a mattress of some kind as they were very uncomfortable just lying on the wooden slats. We would recommend you take a torch when walking in the evening to the town/restaurants although there were street lights they weren't that bright and the pavement was uneven. That said we would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Will love each day you spend here in this cottage. We were 4 of us with two kids and they gave us 3 queen sized beds in a nice cottage which was v. comfortable at an economical price. Don't speak much English yet very friendly staff, helpful and happy people. They have a large heart and will keep serving you with fresh breakfast even if you go past their breakfast time. A cost effective and a cheerful place that will make you feel happy for sure :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chhavi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2014

The rooms are very simple but absolutely stunning. Everything is made from jungle hardwoods and I believe produced onsite. The pool was nice and they have a larger one being built. The whole property is landscaped with gorgeous flowers and fruit trees and you have an amazing view of Mount Arenal when the weather cooperates.
The included breakfast was delicious. It included fresh fruit, made to order eggs, pintos gallos, salchichos, pancakes and toast with juice and coffee.
The staff was amazing. In particular was Freddy. He did not speak very much English, but he showed us around the complex and helped me out a few times always with a smile. Overall I paid about what it costs for a super 8 and I felt as is I was staying at one of those several hundred a night hotels. I would stay here again any day.

Room Tip: I was in cabin 14 which was the furthest from the main lobby and my window looked directly at Arenal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#30 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#21 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,247 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#34 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.9 mi away
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort
#18 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenal Montechiari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Montechiari

Property: Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Address: | 400 meters from the central park, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arenal Montechiari 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Montechiari Hotel is very close to the beautiful Town La Fortuna. The Arenal Volcano that is one of the most active volcano in the world. The hotel is surrounded of lush gardens and a spectacular view of the Volcano. Special for ecoturism, culture and adventure lovers. We are located 400 mts north from the Banco Nacional in La Fortuna, San Carlos, offers you access to main services as banks, souvenirs, chemistries, ATM´S, etc we do offer you the perfect combination of peace with nature and services close to us that would give you a pleasure vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Arenal Montechiari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenal Montechiari Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing