We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great personal cabins! Perfect pool and super friendly service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We only spent one night here as we were moving to Arenal Manoa the next day but I was so excited after being here for 5 minutes. Room 15 has a window view of Arenal volcano! They have a pool! We were set. Our cabin came with chairs on our lil patio, table and work area in the room, modern fridge, flat screen tv, comfy bed, HUGE shower, one of those bowl sinks and of course a/c. I wish we stayed longer but thus is Costa Rica in 12 days. The couple that made us breakfast were incredibly sweet and gave me a chance to test out my spanish (which is very bad) I would recommend and even stay here again if in the area. It's nice not being directly in La Fortuna but still very close.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hexaroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 295 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2013

We enjoyed our 2 night visit, mostly because of the gracious manner of and excellent suggestions from Sergio, the owner/manager. Simple accommodations.
We had a problem with the tour buses. They rolled in and the feel of the place changed immediately. Since the buses contained a high school group, it suddenly felt like a youth hostel. Kids everywhere.
Sergio was apologetic and tried to manage the situation but couldn't. Wen making a reservation, ask about tour buses.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I must admit that we didn’t like what we found when we arrived – two parties of teenagers from the US. However, we needn’t have worried, as their behaviour was excellent & they left the following morning … leaving the superb gardens, the pool & the incredible view of the volcano to us. I think the best views are from Chalets No. 14, 15 & 30 – at the top of the complex, furthest away from reception, etc – max. of 2 minutes walk. A few more adults arrived during our three night stay. The cabins are spotlessly clean, very comfortable, with air-con. – one couple complained that their A/C was noisy & so they changed rooms. We, too, changed rooms – not because there was a problem with our original one, but because we thought the view from the second would be better. It was. We enjoyed simply wondering around the gardens, spotting humming birds, fly-catchers & other assorted birds. All of the staff were very helpful & friendly, esp. the manager.

Food was freshly prepared & we were given far more than we could eat.

The hotel is about 10 minutes walk, along a flat road, from the centre of La Foruna, where all the services you need are available.

Room Tip: I'd go for one of the chalets at the top of the camp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joys59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

After 3 nights with my wife here, we can comfortably say that we deeply recommend this place.
Perfect location, 500 meters from downtown and all the restaurants.
Rooms are big. Shower is good.
Has aircon and refrigerator.
Breakfast is good and contains fresh fruits, eggs pancakes, toasts, rice and beans and an unlimited amount of coffee.
The pool is very nice and clean and has a very nice chilling area around it.

The host, Sergio, was amazing and sat with us for at least 2 hours in total during our stay to help us choose the attractions and plan our stay.
He even guided us for the rest of our trip in Costa Rica and he's very knowledgable and kind.

Summary: totally recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Effie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had 3 rooms. We really enjoyed our stay and liked this authentic family run inn very much. It wasn't perfect, but was quiet and charming with very clean rooms and grounds and excellent view of the volcano which is close by. We had sunny weather so that helped a lot :) The manager at the front desk was incredibly helpful organizing anything we needed or wanted to do. He was really great! Breakfast was basic but filling and delicious and many happy faces. Gallo Pinto, toast, eggs, pancakes and the standard costa rican fruit combo, papaya, watermelon and pineapple. they serve breakfast at 7, but if you're like me and get up early (well worth experiencing sunrise) you can swing by the kitchen for early coffee. We were there the week of Santa Semana so the place was bustling with both foreign and local tourists. The pool is small and calm, even with the hotel bustling, never more than a 2-3 families there at a time, seemed like. The small grounds and garden are very pretty.

Things we didn't like...My room didn't have anywhere to hang anything, no hooks or bar for towels or clothes. Another room we had did have a closet-type hanging bar in the bathroom. There were some shelves though. Even though it is very close to town, about a ten minute walk, we soon grew tired of the trip. If you have a car, it's of no issue. We ended up getting a taxi a few times for 2 dollars, but seemed a bit foolish. very safe in town, we walked back from dinner in the dark a couple times, no worries at all, just helps to have a flashlight. Hot water is supplied by solar, so best hot water is when the sun is shining on the heaters, late morning through afternoon and into evening on sunny days. early morning equaled cool water for my room. it was so hot out most of the time that it really didn't matter that much. But the thing i missed the most and it would be a simple improvement is any type of chair that has a cushion. All the chairs are hardwood and really nicely made, but after a couple days, could use some padding, especially the wooden chaises by the pool.

Room Tip: room 15 has a great unobstructed view of the volcano and being one of the 3 rooms furthest from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Lovely grounds, cute bungalows, air-conditioned office area with wi-fi access (wi-fi access also available in the breakfast area), nice pool, great view of Arenal volcano (if you are lucky enough to see it – lucky us; we were!), wonderful bird-watching (they leave fruit out in the mornings, which attracts the birds) within easy walking-distance of the center of town, but it feels far from being in the center. Only a few small disappointments – the breakfast was very good and hearty – fruit, coffee, gallo pinto (seasoned beans and rice), eggs, toast, as well as pancakes (nice for our 5-year old), but their orange juice was “fake” – flavored and sugary – the only time at a hotel in Costa Rica that we experienced that; also, the hot water for the shower was spotty; and, finally, the staff was pleasant-enough, but not really friendly like we seemed to experience at all of the other places we stayed. Overall, though, this hotel is a good value. In La Fortuna, we especially appreciated the “Macrobiotica” store – a vitamin/health-food store of sorts where we could get some packaged foods (granola bars, cookies, and nuts) without the preservatives in most packaged foods. (The big “natural” brand in Costa Rica, btw, seems to be “Bio-land.”) We also liked La Cascada restaurant in town, an easy walk. We didn’t have a car and could easily walk to everything.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBandToofey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during a 2 week tour of Costa Rica and fell in love with this place.

The views of the Arenal Volcano are fantastic and you are just far enough out of the small town for peace and quiet. it is only a few minutes walk to all the bars and restaurants etc and we felt perfectly safe walking around the area.
The lodges are very rustic / basic but are perfectly adequate for a few days stay. We are well travelled from 3 - 5 star accommodation all over the world and i am very fussy were i sleep but the rooms were clean and comfortable. We dont use tv's while we are away or room telephones etc as we dont feel the need. In any case you were seconds away from the reception area if you needed anything. The lighting is a little dim at night inside the cabins as there aren't any bedside lamps etc but we had head torches as we are avid readers so managed fine. The bathrooms are large and there is a fridge in the room.
The breakfasts are served opposite the garden under a little open sided cabana with choice of fruit, toast, eggs, omelette etc not large but again sufficient.

The highlight for us was the owner Daisy who was like a friend rather than an owner and while we were there took a personal interest in us and other guests showing us around her beautiful gardens and explaining about the different birds and iguanas etc. This may have been because we showed an avid interest in both the wildlife and her garden, but nothing seemed to much trouble for her. On one day our tour collection was late and she even went off on her own accord and rang the tour people up to chase them up without us asking her to. We are also aware that she helped other guests with similar problems and also seemed to us to go the extra mile.

The place has a nice pool and there are some cabins still being built to one side but this does not detract from the established areas.

Yes small improvements could be made but for us the pros certainly out way the cons and Daisy is clearly trying to establish a good and efficient holiday location from which to tour this beautiful country.

Best bits - the garden and birdlife, seeing large and i mean large iguanas hanging from the trees , views of the volcano and the relaxed and quiet atmosphere.


Would we go back again - yes without doubt.
Many thanks Daisy for a wonderful stay!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
8.4 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#23 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
839 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,584 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
Arenal Rabfer Hotel
#41 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
87 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#20 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,337 reviews
3.2 mi away
Arenal Volcano Inn
Arenal Volcano Inn
#9 of 59 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenal Montechiari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Montechiari

Address: | 400 Meters From The Central Park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $87 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arenal Montechiari 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Montechiari Hotel is very close to the beautiful Town La Fortuna. The Arenal Volcano that is one of the most active volcano in the world. The hotel is surrounded of lush gardens and a spectacular view of the Volcano. Special for ecoturism, culture and adventure lovers. We are located 400 mts north from the Banco Nacional in La Fortuna, San Carlos, offers you access to main services as banks, souvenirs, chemistries, ATM´S, etc we do offer you the perfect combination of peace with nature and services close to us that would give you a pleasure vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Arenal Montechiari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenal Montechiari Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing