We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Nearby Hotels
Los Lagos Hotel Spa & Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel El Silencio del Campo(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lomas del Volcan(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Baldi Hot Springs Hotel Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$211
$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Springs Resort and Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$240
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Arenal Lodge(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$114
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Manoa Hotel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$241
$154
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$200
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
$332
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveler rating
119
132
60
10
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
132
60
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot waterbird tablewithin short walking distanceten minute walkrice and beansfront desk staff were very friendlycosta ricagrounds were beautifully landscapedsmall poolair concharming hotelreception buildingwalk into townstayed here for nightsrooms are clean and comfortableseparate cabinsthe perfect place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 324 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

After 3 nights with my wife here, we can comfortably say that we deeply recommend this place.
Perfect location, 500 meters from downtown and all the restaurants.
Rooms are big. Shower is good.
Has aircon and refrigerator.
Breakfast is good and contains fresh fruits, eggs pancakes, toasts, rice and beans and an unlimited amount of coffee.
The pool is very nice and clean and has a very nice chilling area around it.

The host, Sergio, was amazing and sat with us for at least 2 hours in total during our stay to help us choose the attractions and plan our stay.
He even guided us for the rest of our trip in Costa Rica and he's very knowledgable and kind.

Summary: totally recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Effie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had 3 rooms. We really enjoyed our stay and liked this authentic family run inn very much. It wasn't perfect, but was quiet and charming with very clean rooms and grounds and excellent view of the volcano which is close by. We had sunny weather so that helped a lot :) The manager at the front desk was incredibly helpful organizing anything we needed or wanted to do. He was really great! Breakfast was basic but filling and delicious and many happy faces. Gallo Pinto, toast, eggs, pancakes and the standard costa rican fruit combo, papaya, watermelon and pineapple. they serve breakfast at 7, but if you're like me and get up early (well worth experiencing sunrise) you can swing by the kitchen for early coffee. We were there the week of Santa Semana so the place was bustling with both foreign and local tourists. The pool is small and calm, even with the hotel bustling, never more than a 2-3 families there at a time, seemed like. The small grounds and garden are very pretty.

Things we didn't like...My room didn't have anywhere to hang anything, no hooks or bar for towels or clothes. Another room we had did have a closet-type hanging bar in the bathroom. There were some shelves though. Even though it is very close to town, about a ten minute walk, we soon grew tired of the trip. If you have a car, it's of no issue. We ended up getting a taxi a few times for 2 dollars, but seemed a bit foolish. very safe in town, we walked back from dinner in the dark a couple times, no worries at all, just helps to have a flashlight. Hot water is supplied by solar, so best hot water is when the sun is shining on the heaters, late morning through afternoon and into evening on sunny days. early morning equaled cool water for my room. it was so hot out most of the time that it really didn't matter that much. But the thing i missed the most and it would be a simple improvement is any type of chair that has a cushion. All the chairs are hardwood and really nicely made, but after a couple days, could use some padding, especially the wooden chaises by the pool.

Room Tip: room 15 has a great unobstructed view of the volcano and being one of the 3 rooms furthest from the office, has the least foot traffic going by.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Lovely grounds, cute bungalows, air-conditioned office area with wi-fi access (wi-fi access also available in the breakfast area), nice pool, great view of Arenal volcano (if you are lucky enough to see it – lucky us; we were!), wonderful bird-watching (they leave fruit out in the mornings, which attracts the birds) within easy walking-distance of the center of town, but it feels far from being in the center. Only a few small disappointments – the breakfast was very good and hearty – fruit, coffee, gallo pinto (seasoned beans and rice), eggs, toast, as well as pancakes (nice for our 5-year old), but their orange juice was “fake” – flavored and sugary – the only time at a hotel in Costa Rica that we experienced that; also, the hot water for the shower was spotty; and, finally, the staff was pleasant-enough, but not really friendly like we seemed to experience at all of the other places we stayed. Overall, though, this hotel is a good value. In La Fortuna, we especially appreciated the “Macrobiotica” store – a vitamin/health-food store of sorts where we could get some packaged foods (granola bars, cookies, and nuts) without the preservatives in most packaged foods. (The big “natural” brand in Costa Rica, btw, seems to be “Bio-land.”) We also liked La Cascada restaurant in town, an easy walk. We didn’t have a car and could easily walk to everything.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBandToofey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during a 2 week tour of Costa Rica and fell in love with this place.

The views of the Arenal Volcano are fantastic and you are just far enough out of the small town for peace and quiet. it is only a few minutes walk to all the bars and restaurants etc and we felt perfectly safe walking around the area.
The lodges are very rustic / basic but are perfectly adequate for a few days stay. We are well travelled from 3 - 5 star accommodation all over the world and i am very fussy were i sleep but the rooms were clean and comfortable. We dont use tv's while we are away or room telephones etc as we dont feel the need. In any case you were seconds away from the reception area if you needed anything. The lighting is a little dim at night inside the cabins as there aren't any bedside lamps etc but we had head torches as we are avid readers so managed fine. The bathrooms are large and there is a fridge in the room.
The breakfasts are served opposite the garden under a little open sided cabana with choice of fruit, toast, eggs, omelette etc not large but again sufficient.

The highlight for us was the owner Daisy who was like a friend rather than an owner and while we were there took a personal interest in us and other guests showing us around her beautiful gardens and explaining about the different birds and iguanas etc. This may have been because we showed an avid interest in both the wildlife and her garden, but nothing seemed to much trouble for her. On one day our tour collection was late and she even went off on her own accord and rang the tour people up to chase them up without us asking her to. We are also aware that she helped other guests with similar problems and also seemed to us to go the extra mile.

The place has a nice pool and there are some cabins still being built to one side but this does not detract from the established areas.

Yes small improvements could be made but for us the pros certainly out way the cons and Daisy is clearly trying to establish a good and efficient holiday location from which to tour this beautiful country.

Best bits - the garden and birdlife, seeing large and i mean large iguanas hanging from the trees , views of the volcano and the relaxed and quiet atmosphere.


Would we go back again - yes without doubt.
Many thanks Daisy for a wonderful stay!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jordan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

+
Daisy was like a mom(Thank you)
Good location
Nice garden
A pool
Cute cabin
Hot water
Clean
Private cabin
A lots of birds
Wifi
Safe area
Ac
-
No safe in the room
No tv,fridge, coffe maker in the room
Terribel bed(feels like it was broken)
No wifi in the room
No new towels and sheets for the 4 days we was staying
Bad lightning in the room
Nobody but daisy spoke english

I would stay here again:-)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews