We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great experience, amazing host.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Arenal Montechiari

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience, amazing host.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

After 3 nights with my wife here, we can comfortably say that we deeply recommend this place.
Perfect location, 500 meters from downtown and all the restaurants.
Rooms are big. Shower is good.
Has aircon and refrigerator.
Breakfast is good and contains fresh fruits, eggs pancakes, toasts, rice and beans and an unlimited amount of coffee.
The pool is very nice and clean and has a very nice chilling area around it.

The host, Sergio, was amazing and sat with us for at least 2 hours in total during our stay to help us choose the attractions and plan our stay.
He even guided us for the rest of our trip in Costa Rica and he's very knowledgable and kind.

Summary: totally recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Effie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    97
    41
    9
    3
See reviews for
65
91
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had 3 rooms. We really enjoyed our stay and liked this authentic family run inn very much. It wasn't perfect, but was quiet and charming with very clean rooms and grounds and excellent view of the volcano which is close by. We had sunny weather so that helped a lot :) The manager at the front desk was incredibly helpful organizing anything we needed or wanted to do. He was really great! Breakfast was basic but filling and delicious and many happy faces. Gallo Pinto, toast, eggs, pancakes and the standard costa rican fruit combo, papaya, watermelon and pineapple. they serve breakfast at 7, but if you're like me and get up early (well worth experiencing sunrise) you can swing by the kitchen for early coffee. We were there the week of Santa Semana so the place was bustling with both foreign and local tourists. The pool is small and calm, even with the hotel bustling, never more than a 2-3 families there at a time, seemed like. The small grounds and garden are very pretty.

Things we didn't like...My room didn't have anywhere to hang anything, no hooks or bar for towels or clothes. Another room we had did have a closet-type hanging bar in the bathroom. There were some shelves though. Even though it is very close to town, about a ten minute walk, we soon grew tired of the trip. If you have a car, it's of no issue. We ended up getting a taxi a few times for 2 dollars, but seemed a bit foolish. very safe in town, we walked back from dinner in the dark a couple times, no worries at all, just helps to have a flashlight. Hot water is supplied by solar, so best hot water is when the sun is shining on the heaters, late morning through afternoon and into evening on sunny days. early morning equaled cool water for my room. it was so hot out most of the time that it really didn't matter that much. But the thing i missed the most and it would be a simple improvement is any type of chair that has a cushion. All the chairs are hardwood and really nicely made, but after a couple days, could use some padding, especially the wooden chaises by the pool.

Room Tip: room 15 has a great unobstructed view of the volcano and being one of the 3 rooms furthest from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eric m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Lovely grounds, cute bungalows, air-conditioned office area with wi-fi access (wi-fi access also available in the breakfast area), nice pool, great view of Arenal volcano (if you are lucky enough to see it – lucky us; we were!), wonderful bird-watching (they leave fruit out in the mornings, which attracts the birds) within easy walking-distance of the center of town, but it feels far from being in the center. Only a few small disappointments – the breakfast was very good and hearty – fruit, coffee, gallo pinto (seasoned beans and rice), eggs, toast, as well as pancakes (nice for our 5-year old), but their orange juice was “fake” – flavored and sugary – the only time at a hotel in Costa Rica that we experienced that; also, the hot water for the shower was spotty; and, finally, the staff was pleasant-enough, but not really friendly like we seemed to experience at all of the other places we stayed. Overall, though, this hotel is a good value. In La Fortuna, we especially appreciated the “Macrobiotica” store – a vitamin/health-food store of sorts where we could get some packaged foods (granola bars, cookies, and nuts) without the preservatives in most packaged foods. (The big “natural” brand in Costa Rica, btw, seems to be “Bio-land.”) We also liked La Cascada restaurant in town, an easy walk. We didn’t have a car and could easily walk to everything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBandToofey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights during a 2 week tour of Costa Rica and fell in love with this place.

The views of the Arenal Volcano are fantastic and you are just far enough out of the small town for peace and quiet. it is only a few minutes walk to all the bars and restaurants etc and we felt perfectly safe walking around the area.
The lodges are very rustic / basic but are perfectly adequate for a few days stay. We are well travelled from 3 - 5 star accommodation all over the world and i am very fussy were i sleep but the rooms were clean and comfortable. We dont use tv's while we are away or room telephones etc as we dont feel the need. In any case you were seconds away from the reception area if you needed anything. The lighting is a little dim at night inside the cabins as there aren't any bedside lamps etc but we had head torches as we are avid readers so managed fine. The bathrooms are large and there is a fridge in the room.
The breakfasts are served opposite the garden under a little open sided cabana with choice of fruit, toast, eggs, omelette etc not large but again sufficient.

The highlight for us was the owner Daisy who was like a friend rather than an owner and while we were there took a personal interest in us and other guests showing us around her beautiful gardens and explaining about the different birds and iguanas etc. This may have been because we showed an avid interest in both the wildlife and her garden, but nothing seemed to much trouble for her. On one day our tour collection was late and she even went off on her own accord and rang the tour people up to chase them up without us asking her to. We are also aware that she helped other guests with similar problems and also seemed to us to go the extra mile.

The place has a nice pool and there are some cabins still being built to one side but this does not detract from the established areas.

Yes small improvements could be made but for us the pros certainly out way the cons and Daisy is clearly trying to establish a good and efficient holiday location from which to tour this beautiful country.

Best bits - the garden and birdlife, seeing large and i mean large iguanas hanging from the trees , views of the volcano and the relaxed and quiet atmosphere.


Would we go back again - yes without doubt.
Many thanks Daisy for a wonderful stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
99 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

+
Daisy was like a mom(Thank you)
Good location
Nice garden
A pool
Cute cabin
Hot water
Clean
Private cabin
A lots of birds
Wifi
Safe area
Ac
-
No safe in the room
No tv,fridge, coffe maker in the room
Terribel bed(feels like it was broken)
No wifi in the room
No new towels and sheets for the 4 days we was staying
Bad lightning in the room
Nobody but daisy spoke english

I would stay here again:-)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loess Hills
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in one of the cabins situated along a paved path from the parking. The cabin itself was nicely furnished and included a fridge, AC, and TV. The bathroom had plenty of space. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and include a swimming pool. The entire compound sits within a 15-minute walk to La Fortuna’s central plaza. In short: comfortable accommodation, friendly hosts, and beautiful locale.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mentzelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Very rustic charm from outside, but that is as far as it goes, I had two rooms for family staying two nights, the cabin was cute and clean, but we had no hot water for the one cabin for both days, so cold showers. The TV remote did not work, the lighting inside was like having a 40 watt bulb for the cabin and washroom. You get two towels, no hand towel or facecloth, unless you ask, then it's a big production to get anything. The one cabin had one towel for two people. The bathroom shower is large, but hot water is an issue, and the lighting is pathetic. The toilet paper you have to ask for, nothing seems to go smoothly nor does housekeeping check to ensure everything is in place or working. The breakfast are simple and the 2nd day no meat with breakfast, as they had no bacon, ham or sausage. I bought o the attention of Daisy, all I got was sorry. No compensation for inadequate rooms and stay. If you like sleeping in a glorified garden shed with rock hard mattress this place is for you.
The gardens and landscaping is very nice, with plenty of birds to view. The pool is very nice but limited seating.
I would not recommend this facility unless you like paying for a camping adventure with the rates they charge.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.5 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#25 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#21 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.9 mi away
Eco Arenal Hotel
Eco Arenal Hotel
#36 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#29 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#20 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
3.8 mi away
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Spa
Arenal Paraiso Hotel Resort & Sp...
#30 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenal Montechiari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Montechiari

Property: Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Address: 400 mts norte del Banco Nacional | Barrio Sinai. Entrada a mano izquierda., La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 5194-1000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arenal Montechiari 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Montechiari Hotel is very close to the beautiful Town La Fortuna. The Arenal Volcano that is one of the most active volcano in the world. The hotel is surrounded of lush gardens and a spectacular view of the Volcano. Special for ecoturism, culture and adventure lovers. We are located 400 mts north from the Banco Nacional in La Fortuna, San Carlos, offers you access to main services as banks, souvenirs, chemistries, ATM´S, etc we do offer you the perfect combination of peace with nature and services close to us that would give you a pleasure vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Arenal Montechiari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenal Montechiari Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing