We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We felt like being home. The service was outstanding and so was the food (very tasty). It is managed by its owner and she takes time to seat and chat with every guest. She guided us to the best local tours. We like to travel a lot and we had never receive this great attention that's why we took a moment to write this. It has a panoramic view to the volcano and a very pretty landscaping. El mejor servicio que he recibido en años, nos dieron la mejor información de Los sitios para visitar. La dueña ,quièn opera el hotel,se preocupa por el huèsped. Tiene una asombrosa vista al volcàn. Le deseamos todo el èxito del mundo. Cariños de parte de la pareja de Puerto Rico.

Stayed: August 2012
Thank Msdread C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Arenal Montechiari
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 291 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2012

Arenal Montechiari is a GREAT little hotel so close to the center of La Fortuna. It's an easy 400 meter walk from the hotel to the town, so there's no need to pay for a long taxi ride like with many of the other hotels in the area. If you do choose to take taxis back and forth, they only cost $2 or 1000 colones, very cheap! The cabin that we stayed in was perfect; very basic, but very clean and meets all necessities, including very nice hot water. Bring an alarm clock though!

The property was beautiful. Although very close to the center of La Fortuna, the way the property and cabins were arranged with the garden made it seem very secluded in a peaceful way. The garden is gorgeous, maintained with love every day by the gardeners, who are all so friendly. The breakfast every morning is very good, served at whatever time you need for the activities you have planned.

The seating area for breakfast (and the garden) has a FANTASTIC view of Arenal Volcano. Be sure to sit at a table where you are facing the Volcano!!

The staff is so helpful; the manager, Mayid, personally helped us continue planning the rest of our trip, which we had left somewhat open ended. He recommended a great tour for us, arranged it, and even helped set up through the tour service a transportation of ourselves and our luggage to the next hotel we had in Arenal region. Even once we left La Fortuna and travelled all the way to Monteverde and Jáco beach, he continued to make sure things worked out smoothly. Also, as we were walking into town one evening for dinner, two of the staff were about to leave for the evening and they offered us a ride into town! So friendly.

Stay here if you have the chance! Best location, services, and experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AggieGirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Not your typical hotel! Loved the individual cabanas and the grounds. Amazing view. Convenient location next to downtown. The owner was amazing, so helpful in helping us plan excursions and the rest of the trip.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelinGnat7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

The rooms are basic but clean and are set in beautiful gardens. The receptionist spoke excellent English and was extremely helpful. The breakfast was good and we enjoyed watching the birds visiting the bird table. The swimming pool was also very pleasant. The location was good because it was an easy walk into town for shopping and meals. We didnt have any problems with noise.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

The grounds are very pretty, nice swimming pool, good breakfast, but there is one big problem, the noise. And not just any noise. Could be solved with a chicken soup for a couple of Sunday dinners. That would take care of the roosters. I don't know what to suggest about the barking dogs. The sounds come from the house next door to the property and are very annoying, because the cabins are not insulated. Also the pillows are very lumpy and really uncomfortable.
However if you are a teenager and can sleep through anything the place is for you. Owner or manager is very friendly and you can watch beautiful birds from your breakfast table.

Room Tip: Closer to the road, but further away from the household next door.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The view was amazing, the room very clean and the staff was extremely helpful. There is a pool on the grounds among the beautiful gardens. Location is very convenient, close to downtown Fortuna. Great value for money. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Veronika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

The place is really good, it is really close to the downtown in Fortuna, the people is so nice, the recepcionist was so friendly and helpfull! The bed was comfortable, gardens are pretty and the place is so nice! I suggest 100% stay there :-)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adriana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
8.4 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#22 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
828 reviews
1.5 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#11 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,344 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#21 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Magic Mountain
Hotel Magic Mountain
#20 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
770 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
573 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenal Montechiari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Montechiari

Address: | 400 Meters From The Central Park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $86 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arenal Montechiari 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Montechiari Hotel is very close to the beautiful Town La Fortuna. The Arenal Volcano that is one of the most active volcano in the world. The hotel is surrounded of lush gardens and a spectacular view of the Volcano. Special for ecoturism, culture and adventure lovers. We are located 400 mts north from the Banco Nacional in La Fortuna, San Carlos, offers you access to main services as banks, souvenirs, chemistries, ATM´S, etc we do offer you the perfect combination of peace with nature and services close to us that would give you a pleasure vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Arenal Montechiari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenal Montechiari Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing