We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Certificate of Excellence
Poole
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

The rooms are basic but clean and are set in beautiful gardens. The receptionist spoke excellent English and was extremely helpful. The breakfast was good and we enjoyed watching the birds visiting the bird table. The swimming pool was also very pleasant. The location was good because it was an easy walk into town for shopping and meals. We didnt have any problems with noise.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnDP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    116
    48
    10
    3
See reviews for
72
113
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2012

The grounds are very pretty, nice swimming pool, good breakfast, but there is one big problem, the noise. And not just any noise. Could be solved with a chicken soup for a couple of Sunday dinners. That would take care of the roosters. I don't know what to suggest about the barking dogs. The sounds come from the house next door to the property and are very annoying, because the cabins are not insulated. Also the pillows are very lumpy and really uncomfortable.
However if you are a teenager and can sleep through anything the place is for you. Owner or manager is very friendly and you can watch beautiful birds from your breakfast table.

Room Tip: Closer to the road, but further away from the household next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The view was amazing, the room very clean and the staff was extremely helpful. There is a pool on the grounds among the beautiful gardens. Location is very convenient, close to downtown Fortuna. Great value for money. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Veronika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alajuela, Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

The place is really good, it is really close to the downtown in Fortuna, the people is so nice, the recepcionist was so friendly and helpfull! The bed was comfortable, gardens are pretty and the place is so nice! I suggest 100% stay there :-)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adriana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed 6 nights at this hotel and found it to be a very friendly place. The cabins are clean and have a great view of the volcano. The staff is very friendly and accommodating.
Our only complaints were the chairs at the pool....the pool is lovely but needs some decent loung chairs to really enjoy. There also needs to be some shade available.
The breakfast was the same everyday....gallo pinto, pancakes and minimal fruit. We absolutely loved the hospitality though which made up for the few little issues. Easy walk to town and close to all things in La Fortuna and area. Recommend it

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcyThornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

This was a great hotel for exploring Arenal. We had a rental car, so I'm not sure how accessible it would be if you were relying on public transportation, but with a car it was great. Close to the center of Arenal and to the hot springs. It also had a pool, which was nice. It was pretty rainy the whole time we were in Arenal, but we still went in the pool once and it was very relaxing. The staff was really nice as well and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avidtravelerDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

clean and comfortable Cabanas with A/C! Amazing Views of the Arenal Volcano and accommodating staff. Hotel is short walk from downtown Arenal. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
8.4 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#19 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
320 reviews
1.4 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#17 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
614 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Magic Mountain
Hotel Magic Mountain
#20 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
754 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#23 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arenal Montechiari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arenal Montechiari

Property: Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Address: | 400 Meters From The Central Park, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arenal Montechiari 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Montechiari Hotel is very close to the beautiful Town La Fortuna. The Arenal Volcano that is one of the most active volcano in the world. The hotel is surrounded of lush gardens and a spectacular view of the Volcano. Special for ecoturism, culture and adventure lovers. We are located 400 mts north from the Banco Nacional in La Fortuna, San Carlos, offers you access to main services as banks, souvenirs, chemistries, ATM´S, etc we do offer you the perfect combination of peace with nature and services close to us that would give you a pleasure vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Arenal Montechiari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arenal Montechiari Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing