We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great pizza”

Restaurante Cafe Mediterraneo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Cafe Mediterraneo, Restaurant & Pizzeria, is a familiar place, but also very romantic, very cozy with the best view of our Majestic Arenal Volcano, here you can try a Great Cappuccino, an excellent Italian pizza, Pasta, Salad, accompanied with a glass of wine, or just enjoy a sangria or a mojito. This restaurant has been made with all our heart thinking of you!
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great pizza”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I was a little skeptical about Italian food in Costa Rica but we went based on the recommendations on TA. We were not disappointed! We started with the Caprese, which is one of my favorites. The mozzarella was fresh and delicious but the tomatoes were not ripe, so the app was nothing to rave about. The pizza, however, was incredible. They had a great selection and the ingredients were fresh. Our server was fantastic, and even met us in town after we left the restaurant to guide us to a great little late night ceviche spot. All in all a great meal and a great experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank killerbarbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    637
    143
    43
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“Great food, great service!”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Great italian food at very affordable prices in Costa Rica.
Costa Rica, in general, is very expensive and the food not that great. This place surprised us, so we went there a couple of times!
Geovanni and Melvin are also great! They also helped us get a white water rafting tour, which turned out to be amazing!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geovanny L, Owner at Restaurante Cafe Mediterraneo, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Google Translation
Hola Laura y Mauricio,

Gracias por el lindo comentario, de verdad fue un placer conocerlos, son una pareja muy bonita, de verdad fue un placer hablar con ustedes, espero poder tenerlos muy pronto de nuevo por Café Mediterráneo.

Espero que hayan disfrutado mucho, como nosotros disfrutamos tenerlos en nuestro restaurante dos veces. :)

Que Dios los bendiga mucho.

saludos

Geovanny Lobo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Italian in Costa Rica!”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Stopped here for a quick lunch before exploring the town and I was pleasantly surprised. The waiter was very friendly, I had the penne al vodka and it was really really good. The bowl looked small to me when it first came out but as I started eating, I realized it is a lot of food! The calzone was also HUGE. So if you're going for lunch or are just the type of person to split a meal with someone, you certainly could split either of those dishes. It wasn't cheap but it was fair. This is a tourist town after all. They gave us change in USD, which was a first.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cjolly03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geovanny L, Manager at Restaurante Cafe Mediterraneo, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hola Friends from North Caroline,

I am very glad you like your meals, thank you for your nice comment :) say hi to North Caroline for me please.
I see you in your next trip to La Fortuna.

Blessings

Geovanny Lobo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
158 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good food and reasonable prices”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We went with friends for dinner. The waiter was very good and offered us a bottle of wine on sale that was good. The appetizer plate with meats and cheeses was excellent. We all had pastas for dinner. Some were better than others but all were ok. None had the kind of thick pasta sauces we are accustomed to at great Italian restaurants. And unfortunately there were a ton of bugs - fortunately not biting, but enough to drive us inside where they weren't quite as many. This is rated one of the best restaurants in trip advisor. Given what all we tasted in La Fortuna, that's probably accurate. Just don't expect the level of quality you would find at a great Italian place in a major city.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelissaDaveSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yum! Great Italian!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I enjoyed this place.

The service was good.

The prices we're fair.

The portions were just right.

I ordered the Alfredo.

Great. No complaints.

The wife ordered the Pesto.

It was very good! Definitely the winner.

Can't comment on the pizza but it looked delicious as well.

It's on 702...About 1 km South of the main road in La Fortuna (on your way to the Waterfall).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan9999988888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geovanny L, Manager at Restaurante Cafe Mediterraneo, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Hola !!

That was a beautiful comment, thank you very much. Thank you to take your valuable time and leave us this beautiful comment :)

I hope you can enjoin us next time you come to La Fortuna.

Blessings

Geovanny Lobo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Cafe Mediterraneo also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Restaurante Cafe Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing