We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveler rating
190
162
23
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
162
23
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrog gardensmall poolla fortunag adventures tourbreakfast is servedbalcony overlookingpoison dartresident slothtown centreground floorcosta ricahour walkbasic hotelstayed nights herepatio doorsair conlaundry service
Filter
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 384 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We stayed there with our son, 3 1/2. The place was super clean, and very well maintained. It is a simple place, not a 5 star resort. The pool was great for my son, it had a little shallow area perfect for him. The rooms were spotless and well kept. The beds were soft and worn, but OK. We got what we expected.

The staff (looks like family owned and run) were great, very helpful. Fortuna is a wonderful place, and the hotel was great; allowing us to get out and see the sites and cool off in the pool after. Cheers!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMcElhone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

Rooms and showers were spacious and spotless. Balconies overlook peaceful gardens and river. Quiet and safe location within 2 minute walking distance from restaurants and downtown La Fortuna. We would love to stay here again when we make it back to Costa Rica!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaweymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights from 11th September and we were gutted to have to leave.
We turned up without reservation and had a look at both rooms on offer- the cheaper ones with a fan and the ones with a/c and patio doors with a view of the volcano. The more expensive ones were so much nicer (although the cheaper ones were still great) and it was the fantastic balcony with a view of the volcano that did it for us.

I had been advised by a friend that in the rainy season with it being quieter, you can negotiate the price; so we offered cash and with some polite haggling managed to get the price of the expensive room down to 84,500 colones (£108) for the 3 nights which was around the price that we had been offered for the cheaper fan room.

One thing I would say is that for us, 3 nights was really the minimun you should stay here- and although we're sporty, we're not huge hiking fans, so if you are then you could easily spend a week here.

We walked to the waterfall (La Catarata de la Fortuna) and swam in it- an amazing experience. Another day we went to the Baldi hot springs (we got tickets including dinner for US $22 each from an agents on the main strip) which was fantastic. We also walked to the Ecocentro Danaus which is a tiny little reserve (about US $8 each) that has sloth, coati, crocs and poison frogs.
One tip I would give is that if you're visiting in the rainy season and you want to do one of the organised hikes at Arenal- dont book your trip until that day as the weather is unpredictable.

We LOVED our stay at this hotel. Everything about it: the staff, the room, the breakfast, the great location (3 min walk to lovely restaurants and the main street) all made our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doublechoc-chip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Monte Real for one night and were really pleased with our choice!
The hotel in set in really pretty grounds, with a nice pool and small nature walk to explore. The owner told us you can sometimes see sloths by the stream at the back of the grounds, but unfortunately we did not see any that morning.
Our room was excellent value! It was very spacious and very comfortable and clean. The bathroom was nice and clean with cool running water for our shower which was fine as it was so hot! We opted for a fan instead of AC to keep the costs down and whilst it was very hot the fan was fine.
The hotel has free WIFI in the rooms which was nice to help us plan our trip.
The hotel has excellent views of the volcano which is what we went to Arenal to see.
There is not a restaurant in the hotel, however they give you a ticket for breakfast at the local soda del rio 2 minutes up the road. We went there and had a choice of typical breakfast or toast with lots of fruit and the most delicious fresh juices!
Service is excellent at this family run hotel and the owner was really friendly and helpful. We had a really enjoyable nights stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kit-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Convenient to everything and yet very quiet. The grounds and pool area of this hotel were much more extensive and beautiful than we had expected. The river was also fun to explore and, yes, we did see the sloth that lives there. Several family members work at the front desk and they are all very friendly and helpful. Our premium room was excellent with an amazing view of the volcano. If it erupts while you are there try to avoid running into the spotlessly clean glass patio doors. :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews