We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, with resident sloth”
Review of Hotel Monte Real

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Monte Real
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, with resident sloth”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed here as part of G Adventures "Costa Rica Quest" tour. Hotel is right in the town, very clean, and nicely-decorated. Beautiful grounds, and there was a sloth living in one of the trees! No complaints, would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    141
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
59
162
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Monte Real Hotel is absolutely ideal. It's within perfect walking distance to the small town with various restaurants, shops, chemists and bars. The rooms are mega basic having stayed in room number 3, ground floor. However the hotel is clean, has lovely gardens, helpful staff, tours on offer, wifi and hot showers!!! I would recommend this hotel / B&B as well as advise you to visit the nearby Don Rufinos restaurant! Yum

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank beckyneilson09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Enjoyed spending 3 nights here. The staff was very helpful, giving us excellent advice. The gardens are lovely and we enjoyed the pool after a day of being on a tour. Only weakness was the breakfast which was offsite and quite ordinary. We had a view of the volcano which although inactive was very visible.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtmh89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We were lucky enough to be transferred to this hotel because the original one we were booked into was full. We stayed here I think four or five nights and it was wonderful. The breakfast is at a very tastey offsite restaurant that gives you plenty of food. Location is close to everything you'd want to walk to for souvenirs, supermarket, and food. We had a lovely view of the volcanoe from our room balcony which was fun to see in the mornings. There was no street noise at all, just forest sounds. It was fun the because the property backed onto a river and forest, lots of animals liked to hang around. Sevearl birds nested in the trees, an iguana liked to hang out outside our door, and I've heard even a sloth likes to hang around the property. Super friendly staff, clean rooms, nice pool. We will recommend this place to all of our friends.

Room Tip: We had a floor on the second level right near the back of the property which was super nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I was impressed by this hotel from A to Z !!
First, it's downtown La Fortuna which is great because you're near of everything !!
Very clean rooms/pool/garden and such an amazing view on the Volcano Arenal.
Staff is more than helpful and they're all really nice people!
The gardener shows where the animals are and it is super nice !!
I stayed at this hotel only 2 days and I saw two sloths, a toucan, lot of iguanas and a blue jean frog and that is only on the hotel site!

I was really impressed by the roomy bathrooms and the suite in general.
Personal balcony. A/C works A1 !!

I definitely recommend this hotel to everyone who plan to go in La Fortuna!

Room Tip: I had a junior suite with a king size bed, room 15 in fact, and it's the farthest so probably th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

With our 3 kids (12, 11 and 10 years old) we spent 10 nights in La Fortuna, primarily to do volunteering at the La Fortuna Orphanage. We were recommended to stay at the Monte Real Hotel, and everything was great. Good breakfast and clean rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff too. The gardener (Angel?) was very nice, and showed us many sloths during our stay, and even the famous Blue Jeans Frog, close to the river.

A great place to stay in La Fortuna.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvie_de_Ste-Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

My bf and I stayed here as part of a tour group visiting Costa Rica. This hotel was a pleasant surprise. Very well maintained (I swear, I don't remember not seeing a caretaker working on the landscaping at any time! There was always somebody working on the lawns and plants).

The place was very clean, extremely convenient to town. The pool was very nice. The hotel is situated alongside a creek, which was beautiful. And, there were sloths living in the trees right outside our room!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,487 reviews
3.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
2,853 reviews
3.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#13 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
1,300 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
564 reviews
8.6 mi away
Arenal Lodge
Arenal Lodge
#21 of 57 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Real

Property: Hotel Monte Real
Address: Este Del Parque Central La For, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Real 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Monte Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Real Hotel
Hotel Monte Real Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing