We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay in La Fortuna” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monte Real

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Monte Real
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Bc
Level Contributor
147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A great place to stay in La Fortuna”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was a good place to stay in La Fortuna. Daniel was very helpful and the hotel itself is well-located - on a main road but there is a river at the back of the property so it is very quiet at night. The gardener was very helpful in finding the sloth near the river, along with frogs and other wildlife. The soda where we went for breakfast was good too. I had read a comment about the bedding - and it is okay but the top sheets don't seem to be quite wide enough for the bed so we spent a night fighting over the bed covers. But a minor quibble compared to the magnificent view of Arenal that we enjoyed every morning of our stay. Thanks Daniel, you promised us sunshine and you delivered!

Room Tip: A room facing the volcano will give you an amazing morning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buttners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcán, Gerente at Hotel Monte Real, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Buttners,

We are very glad you enjoyed being with us here in the beautiful town of La Fortuna. I want to let you know that I talked with the maids about your issue with the bed sheets and they explained it was an isolated event due to a problem the day before with the washing machine, so they had to use a different sheet for your bed. I apologize for any unconfortable situation you may had suffered. It wont happen again. Furthermore, we are investing in our bedding lines to increase even more the sleep quality of our guests.

I am also very glad you got to see the sloths!! they are indeed beautiful animals!!

We hope we can have you back with us any time in the future!

Best wishes,

Daniel Gamboa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    135
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
56
156
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Great value for money. Very clean hotel with great comfortable, spacey rooms . The whole staff of the hotel was very helpful with the attractions and the must see places around La furtuna area. The breakfast was great and was served in near by restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Altshuler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcán, Gerente at Hotel Monte Real, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Altshuler,

So wonderful to hear you enjoyed the time with us, make us feel so proud of doing what we do. Just for you to know, we are working hard developing new projects to amaze our guests and to keep providing an outstanding service. Hopefully we can have back in the future to make you feel as good as you deserve.

Best regards,

Daniel Gamboa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at Monte Real in La Fortuna for 3 nights after arriving by local bus from San Jose. The hotel is located in a quieter part of La Fortuna, but given the town is small this is no problem for being accessible to restaurants, bars, supermarkets, bus station, etc.

The room we were initially given had a problem with the bathroom which could not be sorted out immediately, so we were moved without fuss into another room. The room was basic, but standard for Costa Rica based on our experience - bed/s, bathroom, tv (with cable), wifi & a fridge.

Daniel at reception and his brother (we didn't get his name) were helpful at talking us through various tour options available in La Fortuna & booking those we decided on. In hindsight we would have explored these options further with hostels in La Fortuna, as you are likely to get a cheaper price booking through a hostel. They also offer a laundry service for $4 per kilo and we made the most of this which had a quick turnaround.

Breakfast is included in the room price and is taken at a local cafe down the road with 3 options available from 6am each day. The early opening was good as we did have a couple of early morning starts.

There is a pool located in a garden area, with a view of Volcan Arenal (if it is clear). Chat to the gardener if he is around and he may be able to show you wildlife around the property (we met guests during our stay who had been shown a sloth & various iguanas).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FushNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcán, Gerente at Hotel Monte Real, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear FushNZ,

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, we will continue doing our best so our guests have the best time here in La Fortuna. Just for you to know we are about to considerably improving our standard rooms to reach similar quality levels as our premium rooms. Our goal will always be the continuous improvement to make our guests as happy as possible.

In regards of the tours, we are proud to say that our rates are one of the best in the whole town when it comes to taking tours with CERTIFIED and the most professional companies (we sacrifice our earnings to provide great discounts). We will not put in danger the safety of any of our guests as it is our main concern. Second main concern will always be that you enjoy as much as possible the tours :)

Hopefully you were able to see the sloths and the iguanas as well! they are beautiful!

Have a nice day and we will look forward to having you staying with us again!

Best Regards,

Daniel Gamboa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Hotel Monte Real was exactly what we were hoping for. We didn't have a car, so we wanted a place where we could walk to restraunts and shops. It was clean, comfortable, and the sound of the little river rushing by made it feel like we weren't in the middle of everything. Our son loved the small pool and we got to watch the iguanas from our balcony. There were also very helpful in making bookings and recommendations for dining. The only thing I think could use a facelift is the bedding. I know this isn't a four star place, but for what you pay per night, it could be a little better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcán, Gerente at Hotel Monte Real, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Christine R,

We are glad to hear you had a nice time while staying with us... We absolutely care about your rest and to make sure you feel great. We also appreciate your opinions and want to let you know that we will keep improving to make our guest's stay even more pleasant. We are developing new projects to make sure Hotel Monte Real will continue to be the best option in La Fortuna downtown! Hopefully we can have you back any time in the future to serve you as you deserve!

Best Regards,

Daniel Gamboa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Hotel Monte Real was very nice for our stay. It was very close to the center of town which has the restaurants and also all your adventure places. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Other than our room not being ready by 2 ( people checking out late) we had a good time here. The king bed was comfortable, flat screen tv, and a nice patio to wake up to and have coffee. Great deal we thought for the money we paid.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmaakpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcán, Gerente at Hotel Monte Real, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear mmaakpp,

So good to hear one of our guests had a nice time while staying with us... We want to make sure delays as the one you had dont happen again even when the issue itself wasnt cause by our cleaning staff, that is why with are strengthening our policies in the most kindly manner. We absolutely care about your rest and to make sure you feel great. We want to let you know that we will keep improving to make our guests' stay even more pleasant. We are developing new projects to make sure Hotel Monte Real will continue to be the best option in La Fortuna downtown! We hope we can have you back any time in the future to serve you as you deserve!

Best Regards,

Daniel Gamboa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Amazing staff. Very helpful to make sure we get the best out of our time.
Family run hotels who really care about their customers. Very nice Gardner as well. Big room.
Breakfast round the corner very good.
Would 100 per Cent recommend . We went on tours orgAised by the hotel and these were all amazing . Great place. If you are reading this book this hotel to make your stay great!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PhilipB396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcán, Gerente at Hotel Monte Real, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear PhilipB396

When we read opinions like yours we really know this is what we love doing, we love taking care of our guests and to make sure they feel great as well with us! We will continue to make our best to provide an oustanding service, we have new projects developing to make sure Hotel Monte Real continues providing the best in La Fortuna downtown. We just hope to have back any time in the future to serve you as you deserve!

Kindly regards,

Daniel Gamboa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel is more than you can ask for for the price. It is very clean, nice big shower, and comfy beds. The owner was more than accomodating when booking excursions. The grounds keeper who was cleaning the pool one morning took me on a little nature walk (10 feet from the pool) to the river and pointed out sloths and all sorts of wildlife.
Any place in town of la fortuna is the same location wise. This was our first hotel on the trip and it gave us a great start to the vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcán, Gerente at Hotel Monte Real, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Brian E,

We truly feel great when we acknowledge by one of our guests we did a great job serving them as they deserve! it was great having you with us! When we received such a positive feedback, we know we love doing our job! We are working hard developing new projects to amaze our guests and to keep providing an outstanding service. Hopefully we can have back in the future to make you feel as good as you deserve.

Best regards,

Daniel Gamboa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#5 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,696 reviews
3.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,721 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#21 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Real

Property: Hotel Monte Real
Address: Este Del Parque Central La For, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Real 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Monte Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Real Hotel
Hotel Monte Real Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing