We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monte Real

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Monte Real
Certificate of Excellence
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed in this lovely hotel for 4 night andcompletely enjoyed it. Located in town but right at the edge of nature. 2min by foot to center, and at the same time we could observe wild animals at the back garden. Great view of vocanal from our window. Staff are very friendly and helpful, we booked some tours with them very nice. I would go back there if i have a chance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Springbreeze-de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    123
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
51
142
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

I was greeted by the classy and five star clerk of the hotel Daniel is the guy of the hotel, he acknowledges everything in the town, recommend where to eat and what to do, he is a local, this place is ran by locals and is what gives a different taste, very quick you fell like your home, has a refreshing pool, after the drive is right what you need, the river on the side plays a very relaxing melody while you dive in the pool, thought was a dirt river but no, seems clean and doest smell, thanks to all the sustainable practices of the hotels and business, I had the first night an standard room and upgraded the second night, really worth, they rent first the first building which has the best view of the volcano, just opening the glass wall and there you have the stunning view of the volcano, when these rooms are busy they give you the second building, rooms here could be better but not better view because of the branches of the trees in the middle, so you better request a reservation and ask the first building, it’s strategically located in the town, not noise and 3 blocks from the park, they include hot and delicious breakfast in the corner in the same block, you can choose from 3 different breakfast service and coffee is good here. If you are looking for a convenient, clean, nice and great value you can make this you base camp in the town, definitely you won’t be disappointed with this place.

Room Tip: reserved in advance for a room in the first building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antione2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This place came as a pleasant surprise. We had a large comfortable room right next to a creek with a balcony over looking lush vegetation. The hotel is located in La Fortuna, but is set off in a quite secluded area on the edge of town. The landscaping is beautiful and has a charming pool. Breakfast is included by a great little soda just down the street. They also had special ticket prices to get into the Bali hot springs. This is a great place for the price.

Room Tip: Our room was probably one of the nicest rooms, located upstairs right next to the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

A friendly family owned hotel. Close enough to downtown but still quite. Nice hot showers, clean rooms and a clean pool. Lime and coconut trees surround the area. Breakfast is included at soda down the street. One morning we had to leave early and the soda was nice enough to prepare our meal to go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnRaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a good option in La Fortuna. The hotels on the main strip are pretty dingy for the most part and really over priced so we were happy to come across this little place. Its tucked away from the main street, is very well maintained and is a great spot for kids. They have a really nice little pool, a beautiful setting next to a river and a beautiful little balcony to relax on at night. There are two things about this place though that really made it stand out from the rest. 1. Daniel,the owners son. He went over and beyond to help people get the most out of their trip. 2. The complimentary breakfasts. They offered free breakfast a restaurant down the street (owned by their extended family). The breakfast was ready within 5 minutes, and offered not only a choice of food but great choices including ham, bacon, eggs, friut, cheese etc....

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bria20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed at the Monte Real in late May. This was a nice find on a quiet street an easy stroll from downtown La Fortuna. My room was on the ground floor so I was glad to have AC. The room was clean and comfortable. Had a big bathroom, plenty of places to hang clothes as I needed to wash out a few things. I didn't try the pool but it looked good. The grounds were nicely landscaped, giving the complex a feeling of quiet serenity. Overall, this place is an excellent value. La Fortuna is a small town with a lot of tourists passing through, but still manages to be interesting and genuine. The restaurant where you got breakfast was down the street. They had delicious fruit smoothies. The blackberry was fabulous!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LNinWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We enjoyed the comfortable room in a beautifully maintained garden setting, complete with a resident (two or three) toed sloth. A very welcoming, quiet place but handy to the interesting town. Breakfast was excellent a short walk down the street to the restaurant.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CanSeniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,476 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#4 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#9 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#25 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#20 of 61 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Real

Property: Hotel Monte Real
Address: Este Del Parque Central La For, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Real 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Monte Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Real Hotel
Hotel Monte Real Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing