We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely garden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Real

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monte Real to your Saves list
Hotel Monte Real
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Este Del Parque Central La For, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We enjoyed the comfortable room in a beautifully maintained garden setting, complete with a resident (two or three) toed sloth. A very welcoming, quiet place but handy to the interesting town. Breakfast was excellent a short walk down the street to the restaurant.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CanSeniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    111
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
44
133
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Nicely designed modern rooms with swimming pool and gardens and river and great view of the volcano on a clear day. Run by a very nice and helpful Costa Rican family and the gardener helped us spot wildlife in the trees. You get a ticket to have breakfast in a lovely soda a few meters left of the hotel.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Breakfast served in soda El Rio and we had dinner in Soda Visquez just around the corner served by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wallymcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We arrived in Fortuna and pulled in here because it looked so clean and quiet, and there was parking for our car. We couldn't have been happier. It is run by a very charming family andthey speak English. Everything about the room was perfect, a view of the volcanoe, a strong, hot shower, comfortable beds, a security safe in the room,even a guide for the TV channels was provided so we didn't have to surf thru dozens to find what we wanted. That was a first for anywhere we've been! Most importantly the A/C was new and quiet and worked great!
They provide vouchers for a full breakfast at the small cafe down the street, which was also excellent. There is a small pool and beautifully landscaped grounds with a creek running right behind the property. We will stop there again when we pass thru La Fortuna. Also liked the little town a lot, and is convenient for touring the area.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have A/C, worth the extra cost if it's hot. downstairs they have ceiling fans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel was very clean and neat, asking if you wanted a view of Volcan Arenal at a higher price. Either way you can receive a ticket for free breakfast just up the street. Centrally located and quiet. I stayed in the older rooms being budget conscious, but they were more than adequate for my needs with ceiling fan. The pool and grounds were beautiful.

Room Tip: You can choose from a room in the newer buildings with a view of the volcano or in the older few roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oh-Gina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our hotel room had an excellent view of the Arenal Volcano. Since it's light so early in the morning, we were up and noticed an excellent view of the volcano. But back to the hotel...this hotel was great. Our Superior room had a balcony, air conditioning, a refrigerator, TV with English channels, 2 beds and nicely done bathroom. We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and the value was great as well. In the reception area, there are 2 computers for public use so that was nice. The hotel is located one street over from the main street of La Fortuna. Breakfast was included and was at a soda just up the street. Not more than a 3 minute walk. The food was great there too. This hotel was just the perfect place for us to stay. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor facing the volcano offer spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julies326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at Monte Real and loved it. The room itself had a nice view of the surrounding area (even from the ground floor), was clean, and was very well maintained. The owners were extremely helpful on helping guide us toward the best activities in the area. They even helped to direct us around a roadblock that would have held us up on a particular drive. Above and beyond what was expected! Great place, would highly recommend!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed here for two nights towards the end of May 2012. I wanted to stay outside of town, he wanted to be in town and while this was not originally my first choice, it turned out great. It's only a couple blocks off the main streets in town so things are very walkable (we didn't have a car, but there is a parking lot). We stayed in a room towards the back of the property, next to the stream so all I heard at night was the a/c and the stream that runs along the backside of the property. We paid $77/night for a room with a/c (yes, we used it), tv (didn't use it), and two double beds. This includes breakfast which you walk about a block down the street to a local soda to eat (three breakfast options). Bathroom was nice and big with a huge shower and everything was clean. For an 'in town' property the grounds were really pretty and well-maintained and with the help of a very friendly groundskeeper we saw a sloth, iguanas and all kinds of birds without even leaving the property. The pool is smallish but we had it to ourselves both nights and it was great after hiking. Front desk staff were all helpful with varying levels of English but we speak pretty bad Spanish so between the two all was ok. Without a car we asked about getting to the Natl Park at Arenal and the hotel has a twice-daily shuttle (am and pm) you can book that was cheaper than a taxi for us - $11 and they drop you off at the front gates and come pick you up three hours later. Note - that you still have to pay the entrance fee into the park so a tour with transportation and park fees included might be cheaper we just didn't really look into tours for the short time we had. (Separate review on the Natl Park) The front desk did recommend the Cerro Chatto hike as well which is not something I would jump into lightly again. They were good for restaurant recommendations and sent us to El Jardin which is right across the street from Don Rufino's which is in all the guidebooks. El Jardin had great food and was much cheaper than Don Rufino's.

Room Tip: I think the 2nd floor rooms may have better views. I liked being on the ground floor at the very bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyGirl5781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
3.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#15 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 2,265 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#10 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,133 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#4 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Arenal Green Hotel
Arenal Green Hotel
#24 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#8 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,040 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Real

Property: Hotel Monte Real
Address: Este Del Parque Central La For, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#22 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Real 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Monte Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Real Hotel
Hotel Monte Real Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing