We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great volcano view”
Review of Hotel Monte Real

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Monte Real
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We had a nice stay at the Monte Real. We arrived on a rainy, cloudy day, so we didn't know until the next day that our room had a beautiful view of the volcano. The hotel is right in town and easily within walking distance of everything in the nice little town of La Fortuna.

The hotel appears to be family run and the front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The grounds were very well-kept and the pool area was a nice addition. There was a small river running right by the hotel, which provided a nice, constant, relaxing sound.

We opted for an upgrade on the room to get A/C and we were glad we did. The room was simple, but clean and functional. It even had a small refrigerator, which we found a nice thing to have. We had a small deck with a direct view of the volcano. We did have a small problem with teeny-tiny ants, which we later found was very common in Costa Rica and not unique to this hotel.

Breakfast is included in the rate, but you have to walk about a block to the restaurant. There is a choice of 3 breakfasts - various combinations of rice & beans, eggs, toast, and fruit with coffee and juice. All were quite tasty.

This hotel is a great find for a good price and I would definitely suggest it for others wanting to stay in La Fortuna.

Room Tip: Rooms #7, 8, and 9 all have great views of the volcano and have A/C.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCL_JO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Monte Real
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 326 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2011

After the miles of squat concrete slabs that characterize San Jose's skyline, the bright yellow and red buildings that make up the Monte Real were a cheerful welcome to La Fortuna. The grounds are immaculate, and internet is free at the front office (I didn't try to connect to the the wireless, but I believe it is available). We took one of the budget rooms, which was bright, spacious and clean with tile floors and two beds.

Just behind the hotel is a pretty little brook. When we arrived, we bypassed the pool (which is pretty) and walked up to the brook, and stopped short. There was a 4ft long bright orange iguana sunning itself just in front of us!

The hotel doesn't have a restaurant. Breakfast is included in the room price (or was in ours) and is served at the soda up the street (Soda Y Cabinas). There are three options for breakfast, the fruit plate is excellent, but if you're planning to hike Arenal, you'll want one of the options with eggs, the fruit won't sustain you. All are delicious and the soda was a good standby for dinner. You can book tours at the front desk, though we opted to use Arenal Backpackers. I'm not sure it matters for your experience- I suspect everybody in town works on commission for the same tour companies.

Room Tip: The better rooms face the volcano, but the budget options are well-kept and there is no distinction...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Preeti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

The last weekend we stayed in this beatiful hotel, in a premium room. We recommed to anyone that looking for a good location and a very convenient price.
Our room was prepared, clean and with a perfect view to the volcano. The gardens, the pool and the facilities in general are very care of. The service was excelent, kind and so honest.
We asked for couple of cups for our wine and when we arrived to our room we found our bed with a lovely decoration, details, life is about details. Full recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryocr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed here based on the recommendation of the travel gods at Lonely Planet. We were not disappointed! We were the only guests staying at the hotel that night, so we had the best room, with the best view of Arenal, which is room #7.

The room included free Wifi, and free breakfast at a local soda shop on the corner.
We also had dinner at Restaurante Viquez, 2 blocks over.

The room was clean and updated, and the AC worked great!
the only negative was that the water in the shower went down very slowly.

We were just passing through on our travels through Costa Rica as we were exhausted from the hike down to and especially back up from the Waterfall! We were sore for days!

We swam in the pool since we had the place all to ourselves, it was lovely!

Sadly for us, it was cloudy and raining and so we dont think Arenal erupted that night, but we still had a great time. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for room #7 with a view of Arenal!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geminiinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

This was a great place to stay in La Fortuna and very reasonably priced. The Hotel is only a couple of blocks from the town and the local supermarket. The grounds are beautiful, there is a swimming pool, a hot tub and a garden area with seating beside the river. We were told that a sloth has been see but we were not so lucky, we did however see many lizards and toads.

You get your free breakfast at a local restaurant nearby, there were around 5 choices on the menu and the quality was good. All the rooms have a balcony or a seating area outside. The rooms are fairly basic but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyDazla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

This was a last minute option since AOL didn't honor the reservations I had made. It ended up being a blessing that this place was able to accommodate us and we ended up staying three nights. The owner along with his wife and sons were very friendly and helpful, advising us on the various tours and even random things like figuring out how my mom's camera worked. The rooms were a nice size, cable TV and towel animals. The location was great, nearby to the town square and the local "sodas" to eat. Even so, their backyard had was next to the river so got to see birds in the trees. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcmusgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

All I can say is this place is wonderful. The hotel is family run, with the owner and his sons always being behind the front desk to ensure your stay is just right. The hotel is located near town, but far enough away to be quiet to ensure a great nights sleep. It is located on a large grounds that is well kept with a wonder garden and pool area. The owner is more than helpful with helping to arrange travel, taxis, and tours. The stay comes with breakfast that is served a block away at a little costa rican Soda. You just can't beat the price, quality, and authentic costa rican experience. Will stay there again the next time I am in arenal.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sprChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#7 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#26 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#16 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Regina Hotel
Regina Hotel
#29 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Fortuna
Hotel La Fortuna
#31 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
521 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Magic Mountain
Hotel Magic Mountain
#20 of 58 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Real

Address: Este Del Parque Central La For, Arenal Volcano National Park, La Fortuna de San Carlos 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range: $63 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Real 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Monte Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Real Hotel
Hotel Monte Real Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing