We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful family run hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Monte Real

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Monte Real
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful family run hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

After the miles of squat concrete slabs that characterize San Jose's skyline, the bright yellow and red buildings that make up the Monte Real were a cheerful welcome to La Fortuna. The grounds are immaculate, and internet is free at the front office (I didn't try to connect to the the wireless, but I believe it is available). We took one of the budget rooms, which was bright, spacious and clean with tile floors and two beds.

Just behind the hotel is a pretty little brook. When we arrived, we bypassed the pool (which is pretty) and walked up to the brook, and stopped short. There was a 4ft long bright orange iguana sunning itself just in front of us!

The hotel doesn't have a restaurant. Breakfast is included in the room price (or was in ours) and is served at the soda up the street (Soda Y Cabinas). There are three options for breakfast, the fruit plate is excellent, but if you're planning to hike Arenal, you'll want one of the options with eggs, the fruit won't sustain you. All are delicious and the soda was a good standby for dinner. You can book tours at the front desk, though we opted to use Arenal Backpackers. I'm not sure it matters for your experience- I suspect everybody in town works on commission for the same tour companies.

Room Tip: The better rooms face the volcano, but the budget options are well-kept and there is no distinction...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preeti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    137
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
56
159
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alajuela, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

The last weekend we stayed in this beatiful hotel, in a premium room. We recommed to anyone that looking for a good location and a very convenient price.
Our room was prepared, clean and with a perfect view to the volcano. The gardens, the pool and the facilities in general are very care of. The service was excelent, kind and so honest.
We asked for couple of cups for our wine and when we arrived to our room we found our bed with a lovely decoration, details, life is about details. Full recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryocr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed here based on the recommendation of the travel gods at Lonely Planet. We were not disappointed! We were the only guests staying at the hotel that night, so we had the best room, with the best view of Arenal, which is room #7.

The room included free Wifi, and free breakfast at a local soda shop on the corner.
We also had dinner at Restaurante Viquez, 2 blocks over.

The room was clean and updated, and the AC worked great!
the only negative was that the water in the shower went down very slowly.

We were just passing through on our travels through Costa Rica as we were exhausted from the hike down to and especially back up from the Waterfall! We were sore for days!

We swam in the pool since we had the place all to ourselves, it was lovely!

Sadly for us, it was cloudy and raining and so we dont think Arenal erupted that night, but we still had a great time. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for room #7 with a view of Arenal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geminiinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2011

This was a great place to stay in La Fortuna and very reasonably priced. The Hotel is only a couple of blocks from the town and the local supermarket. The grounds are beautiful, there is a swimming pool, a hot tub and a garden area with seating beside the river. We were told that a sloth has been see but we were not so lucky, we did however see many lizards and toads.

You get your free breakfast at a local restaurant nearby, there were around 5 choices on the menu and the quality was good. All the rooms have a balcony or a seating area outside. The rooms are fairly basic but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobbyDazla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

This was a last minute option since AOL didn't honor the reservations I had made. It ended up being a blessing that this place was able to accommodate us and we ended up staying three nights. The owner along with his wife and sons were very friendly and helpful, advising us on the various tours and even random things like figuring out how my mom's camera worked. The rooms were a nice size, cable TV and towel animals. The location was great, nearby to the town square and the local "sodas" to eat. Even so, their backyard had was next to the river so got to see birds in the trees. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcmusgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2011

All I can say is this place is wonderful. The hotel is family run, with the owner and his sons always being behind the front desk to ensure your stay is just right. The hotel is located near town, but far enough away to be quiet to ensure a great nights sleep. It is located on a large grounds that is well kept with a wonder garden and pool area. The owner is more than helpful with helping to arrange travel, taxis, and tours. The stay comes with breakfast that is served a block away at a little costa rican Soda. You just can't beat the price, quality, and authentic costa rican experience. Will stay there again the next time I am in arenal.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sprChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2011

My husband and I checked in here without reservations, and were told there were only premium rooms left (I doubt this, as the hotel seemed quite empty). After seeing the room, we decided it was worth the splurge for the amazing views the room offered. We could sit on the balcony with a direct view to the volcano, and also watch many beautiful birds. We were also lucky to see a sloth close up, right on the property.

The pool looked nice and clean, but we didn't get a chance to use it during our stay. The rooms were clean, though there was some noise that came from trucks that liked to use their engine retarder brakes right outside the hotel.

The breakfast was delicious, and very substantial, though you do have to walk a block or 2 to get it. The front desk staff was always helpful, and booked some tours and transport for us. We would definately stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarissaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
2.2 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#9 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,404 reviews
1.3 mi away
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
Casa Luna Hotel & Spa
#10 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
3.7 mi away
Volcano Lodge & Springs
Volcano Lodge & Springs
#14 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#6 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Mountain Paradise
Hotel Mountain Paradise
#20 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,238 reviews
3.3 mi away
Arenal Manoa Hotel
Arenal Manoa Hotel
#12 of 60 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Real

Property: Hotel Monte Real
Address: Este Del Parque Central La For, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park 21007, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#21 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Real 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Monte Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Real Hotel
Hotel Monte Real Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing