We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveler rating
189
161
23
5
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
161
23
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrog gardensmall poolla fortunag adventures tourbreakfast is servedbalcony overlookingpoison dartresident slothtown centreground floorcosta ricahour walkbasic hotelstayed nights herepatio doorsair conlaundry service
Filter
Updating list...
259 - 264 of 382 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2011

The last weekend we stayed in this beatiful hotel, in a premium room. We recommed to anyone that looking for a good location and a very convenient price.
Our room was prepared, clean and with a perfect view to the volcano. The gardens, the pool and the facilities in general are very care of. The service was excelent, kind and so honest.
We asked for couple of cups for our wine and when we arrived to our room we found our bed with a lovely decoration, details, life is about details. Full recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryocr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed here based on the recommendation of the travel gods at Lonely Planet. We were not disappointed! We were the only guests staying at the hotel that night, so we had the best room, with the best view of Arenal, which is room #7.

The room included free Wifi, and free breakfast at a local soda shop on the corner.
We also had dinner at Restaurante Viquez, 2 blocks over.

The room was clean and updated, and the AC worked great!
the only negative was that the water in the shower went down very slowly.

We were just passing through on our travels through Costa Rica as we were exhausted from the hike down to and especially back up from the Waterfall! We were sore for days!

We swam in the pool since we had the place all to ourselves, it was lovely!

Sadly for us, it was cloudy and raining and so we dont think Arenal erupted that night, but we still had a great time. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for room #7 with a view of Arenal!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geminiinnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

This was a great place to stay in La Fortuna and very reasonably priced. The Hotel is only a couple of blocks from the town and the local supermarket. The grounds are beautiful, there is a swimming pool, a hot tub and a garden area with seating beside the river. We were told that a sloth has been see but we were not so lucky, we did however see many lizards and toads.

You get your free breakfast at a local restaurant nearby, there were around 5 choices on the menu and the quality was good. All the rooms have a balcony or a seating area outside. The rooms are fairly basic but clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobbyDazla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2011

This was a last minute option since AOL didn't honor the reservations I had made. It ended up being a blessing that this place was able to accommodate us and we ended up staying three nights. The owner along with his wife and sons were very friendly and helpful, advising us on the various tours and even random things like figuring out how my mom's camera worked. The rooms were a nice size, cable TV and towel animals. The location was great, nearby to the town square and the local "sodas" to eat. Even so, their backyard had was next to the river so got to see birds in the trees. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcmusgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

All I can say is this place is wonderful. The hotel is family run, with the owner and his sons always being behind the front desk to ensure your stay is just right. The hotel is located near town, but far enough away to be quiet to ensure a great nights sleep. It is located on a large grounds that is well kept with a wonder garden and pool area. The owner is more than helpful with helping to arrange travel, taxis, and tours. The stay comes with breakfast that is served a block away at a little costa rican Soda. You just can't beat the price, quality, and authentic costa rican experience. Will stay there again the next time I am in arenal.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sprChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews