We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful rooms with volcano views and such friendly owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arenal Green Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arenal Green Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful rooms with volcano views and such friendly owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2011

This was our favorite place we stayed in all of Costa Rica. Herman and his daughter Monica who run the place are so friendly and helpful and want to make your stay excellent. The "villa" we stayed in the first night was perfect for our family of 6 (my wife and I, our 3 kids and grandmother). It had a huge outdoor kitchen under a cover that made it easy to make a nice dinner complete with hammocks for lazing around after. The rooms were clean and spacious and you could hear a little stream outside our door. Breakfast was amazing with choices of fruit or typical costarican food. Great location with near waterfalls and quick drive to town. We would highly recommend Arenal Green, especially to travelers with kids. Very safe location.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank troysellshomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    108
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
93
211
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

I booked a stay at Arenal Green for my husband and I, partly based on the great Trip Advisor reviews. We really enjoyed our stay and want to give a shout out to Monica, who was so helpful to us when we were there. Arenal Green is not in the heart of La Fortuna, so get used to a 15-20 minute walk or going via taxi (taxis were cheap). Nevertheless, the restaurant at Arenal Green was great (and usually better than the fare in La Fortuna), the cabins are clean and comfortable, and the staff was overall quite accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

what a fab place Arenal Green is. The owner German and hais lovely famiylu including Monica, made us feel so welcome and were always on hand to help us. The rooms were lovely, very clean with a gorgeous garden.
It was my birthday when we were there and the family were so very kind to me and gave me a cake and flowers, very touching. I would highly recommend this fantastic place !!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

This is a true Latin American experience. Genuine hospitality, everybody from the owner to his daughter Monica, was so warm, hospitable and responsive to our needs. Our cabin was humbly decorated but perfectly clean with a wonderfully designed outdoor kitchen/bar area with 2 hammocks. It was right next to a small stream which we'd listen to in the evenings while enjoying few drinks at our outdoor mini bar. I recommend Arenal Green to everybody and plan to visit it again myself! P.S. we stayed in cabin # 4 (if I remember correctly)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank secretname4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

We had an absolutely delightful experience staying at Arenal Green. The entire process from reservation to airport pickup till the end of our stay had run smoothly. This is our first experience staying at a family-owned lodge instead of a chain hotel. We didn't regret a bit. The owner German stays on site and made every effort to take care of us. One of our friends forgot her bird book. He went to La Fortuna downtown to get one for her. We cannot list every little instance but we could state that German and his family extended warmest hospitality that we didn't feel anywhere else during our trip. We feel like visiting some old relatives. We were also delighted by the villa we chose to stay. It has a full bar and a large deck with two hammocks overlooking the Volcano Arenal. German also showed us his future spa tucked away in primary rain forests. It is supposed to be open now. Arenal Green also teams up with the best outfitters in town and got us deals to Tabacon Hot Springs, canyon repelling and a boat tour to Cano Negro. The lodge is about 2 miles away from the town center so it does take taxi to get to dinners or get liquor. But since it is away from busy streets, all you can hear is the sound of nature. Arenal Green is on the way to the Cerro Chato, a distinct volcano that offers a great challenging hike through primary rain forests. We are hesitant about sharing our experience here because we want to keep the memory of this place to ourselves.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pphd1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights. The staff was very welcoming -- How? Well, we got in about 7pm and their chef was about the leave, but accommodated our arrival and still provided us dinner. The view was amazing -- all green... literally! Cabin was beautiful. The bed was a little hard to sleep on, but we managed. Food was good. I don't know how to speak Spanish very well, and it was our first time in Costa Rica so was a little adjustment... Arenal Green was definitely a good starter to transitioning to being in Costa Rica. Another sort of downfall would be being charged for the breakfast -- I didn't realize this until after we left. The nightly rates included breakfast, but the gentleman at the front desk (someone we never met while we were there) had included the cost of our breakfast... I kind of just brushed it off because it was a family owned place and was pretty amazing to just be there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peace510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

I stayed at Arenal Green in November 2010 for two nights. What a wonderful place to stay! The grounds were meticulously maintained, and the rooms were immaculate. The family which ran the hotel was very helpful and kind, and the atmosphere they created was contagious. The rooms had a fridge, sink, A/C and shower, with plenty of space to store anything you want. Not fancy, but well constructed and super comfy.

It is not centerally located in La Fortuna like many of the other hotels people choose to stay at, but it isn't that long of a walk into town. It was nice and peaceful, though, and beautifully constructed.

I had to wake up early on my departure morning (5:00 am) to catch a bus, and while I waited, the owner got up and chatted with me like I was a good friend. Even though his English wasn't very good, it was incredible that he took such a genuine interest in me and how I ended up in Costa Rica. I don't know why, but it made a lasting impression on me.

Very welcoming to solo travelers.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Fortuna de San Carlos hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Real
Hotel Monte Real
#20 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
Hotel Arenal Montechiari
#30 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
1.2 mi away
San Bosco Inn
San Bosco Inn
#16 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
Hotel Lomas del Volcan
#11 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.5 of 5 stars 1,187 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arenal Country Inn
Arenal Country Inn
#26 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
4.0 of 5 stars 198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
Hotel Rancho Cerro Azul
#5 of 62 in La Fortuna de San Carlos
5.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arenal Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arenal Green Hotel

Property: Arenal Green Hotel
Address: | 1 km west of the entrance to Rio Fortuna Waterfall, La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Alajuela > Arenal Volcano National Park > La Fortuna de San Carlos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#14 Romantic Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
#17 Family Hotel in La Fortuna de San Carlos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arenal Green Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arenal Green Hotel offers a unique experience and a personal touch to your individual needs as our guest. There are six modern, air conditioned cabins and one villa which are constructed from native wood. Even with the individual cabins, there is a feeling of family and a bed and breakfast environment. We offer a peaceful, friendly and intimate atmosphere for our guests from afar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Arenal Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arenal Green Hotel Costa Rica/Arenal Volcano National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing